Guides: BCB: Summer Research Experience: Background Information

Background Information

When researching a new topic, it is useful to read some background information to help you gain a basic understanding of the topic and to discover the vocabulary and keywords associated with the topic. Look at encyclopedia articles, government and association websites, and science magazines to learn some basic information about your topic. You can also look at handbooks for more technical information on a topic.

Here are some resources to help you get started:

Encyclopedias:

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works full text and searchable.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes

Government and Association Websites:

Science Magazines:

Scientific American
Scientific American is a well-respected magazine of scientific discovery and technological innovation for the general public.
Popular Science
Popular Science (also known as PopSci) is an American bi-monthly magazine carrying articles for the general reader on science and technology subjects.

Technical Handbooks:

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: Biochemistry Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response; General Engineering & Project Administration; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering ; ASM International Handbooks Online). Access provided in part by a gift from the Victor E. Kohman, ’43 Memorial Fund.
Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Individual chapters are available to download as PDFs. However, Knovel recommends limiting downloads to 10% or 25 pages of content per title.

Google Search Tips

Google Search Tips:

Limit your search by domain type (e.g. .edu, .gov, .org).
- Example:
  - mobile health apps site:.gov
Look for association websites by adding the words “Association” or "Organization" to your search terms