What are "peer-reviewed" journals?
A peer-reviewed journal is a respected academic publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication.
Peer-reviewed journals are highly respected, and researchers wish to have their works published in them. Many often have low acceptance rates.
One way to find peer reviewed articles is to type your keywords into WPI LIbrary Search, and then choose the filter for Peer-Reviewed Journals. You can also search our Databases (organized by subject) for peer-reviewed articles.
To find peer reviewed articles in WPI Library Search, enter your keywords and on the search results page choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter on the left.
To find journal articles and papers related to your research, you'll likely need to use a combination of databases. Here are some databases that can help you find sources for your research on robotics and artificial intelligence:
Citations and full text from Association for Computing Machinery journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
Abstracts from the Compendex database, which includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. It contains the.full text of all IEEE and IEE journal articles, conference papers, and standards. Tutorials are available at: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplorehelp/ieee-xplore-training/video-tutorials
Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: Biochemistry Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response; General Engineering & Project Administration; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering ; ASM International Handbooks Online). Access provided in part by a gift from the Victor E. Kohman, ’43 Memorial Fund.
Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.
Search abstracts of 100+ journals from American Institute of Physics (AIP), American Physical Society (APS), American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE), and science and engineering societies. WPI subscribes to 70+ titles.
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.
Access to thousands of scholarly science journals and eBooks published by Springer. Use "access via your institution” option to get full text.
For even more database resources you can find a comprehensive list in the Databases & Electronic Resources guide.
BrowZine is a current awareness service (accessible via laptop, desktop, and mobile devices) that lets you browse, read, and monitor your favorite scholarly journals. It's available to all WPI faculty, staff, and students. You can: Create your own Bookshelf or virtual "reading room" of your favorite scholarly journals, which you can access on the web (via BrowZine.com) and mobile devices. Receive alerts on your mobile devices when new issues (AND articles in press) are published, and browse the articles for ones you want to read. You can also export the citations to EndNote, Zotero or Mendeley. Save articles (also synced across devices), and group them into collections. From your tablet or phone you can download articles to read offline and export the PDFs to other apps on your device like DropBox, EndNote, Google Drive, and more.
From your mobile device, download the BrowZine app and install it. When you open BrowZine for the first time, you will see a list of schools. Please select Worcester Polytechnic Institute; then, enter your ID and Password. Enter a search or select a subject area and start browsing!
Robotics Journal Examples
Book Examples
The books listed here are just some examples of the books you can find via Gordon Library and represent just a few of the topics you may want to research for this class. You can use WPI Library Search to find many books on a variety of topics.
Advances in Mechanisms, Robotics and Design Education and Research by
This book contains papers on a wide range of topics in the area of kinematics, mechanisms, robotics, and design, addressing new research advances and innovations in design education. The content is divided into five main categories headed 'Historical Perspectives', 'Kinematics and Mechanisms', 'Robotic Systems', 'Legged Locomotion', and 'Design Engineering Education'. Contributions take the form of survey articles, historical perspectives, commentaries on trends on education or research, original research contributions, and papers on design education. This volume celebrates the achievements of Professor Kenneth Waldron who has made innumerable and invaluable contributions to these fields in the last fifty years. His leadership and his pioneering work have influenced thousands of people in this discipline.
Artificial Intelligence for Robotics and Autonomous Systems Applications by
This book addresses many applications of artificial intelligence in robotics, namely AI using visual and motional input. Robotic technology has made significant contributions to daily living, industrial uses, and medicinal applications. Machine learning, in particular, is critical for intelligent robots or unmanned/autonomous systems such as UAVs, UGVs, UUVs, cooperative robots, and so on. Humans are distinguished from animals by capacities such as receiving visual information, adjusting to uncertain circumstances, and making decisions to take action in a complex system. Significant progress has been made in robotics toward human-like intelligence; yet, there are still numerous unresolved issues. Deep learning, reinforcement learning, real-time learning, swarm intelligence, and other developing approaches such as tiny-ML have been developed in recent decades and used in robotics. Artificial intelligence is being integrated into robots in order to develop advanced robotics capable of performing multiple tasks and learning new things with a better perception of the environment, allowing robots to perform critical tasks with human-like vision to detect or recognize various objects. Intelligent robots have been successfully constructed using machine learning and deep learning AI technology. Robotics performance is improving as higher quality, and more precise machine learning processes are used to train computer vision models to recognize different things and carry out operations correctly with the desired outcome. We believe that the increasing demands and challenges offered by real-world robotic applications encourage academic research in both artificial intelligence and robotics. The goal of this book is to bring together scientists, specialists, and engineers from around the world to present and share their most recent research findings and new ideas on artificial intelligence in robotics.
Automation and Robotics in the Architecture, Engineering, and Construction Industry by
Automation and Robotics in the Architecture, Engineering, and Construction Industry provides distinct and unified insight into current and future construction robotics, offering readers a comprehensive perspective for constructing a road map and illuminating improvements for a successful transition towards construction robotization. The book covers the fundamentals and applications of robotics, autonomous vehicles, and human-perceptive machines at construction sites. Through theoretical and experimental analyses, it examines the potential of robotics and automated systems for current and future fieldwork operations and identifies the factors that determine their implementation pace, adoption scale, and ubiquity throughout the industry. The book evaluates the technical, societal, and economic aspects of adopting robots in construction, both as standalone and collaborative systems, which in return can afford the opportunity to investigate these AI-enabled machines more systematically.
Cognitive Robotics by
The current state of the art in cognitive robotics, covering the challenges of building AI-powered intelligent robots inspired by natural cognitive systems. A novel approach to building AI-powered intelligent robots takes inspiration from the way natural cognitive systems-in humans, animals, and biological systems-develop intelligence by exploiting the full power of interactions between body and brain, the physical and social environment in which they live, and phylogenetic, developmental, and learning dynamics. This volume reports on the current state of the art in cognitive robotics, offering the first comprehensive coverage of building robots inspired by natural cognitive systems. Contributors first provide a systematic definition of cognitive robotics and a history of developments in the field. They describe in detail five main approaches- developmental, neuro, evolutionary, swarm, and soft robotics. They go on to consider methodologies and concepts, treating topics that include commonly used cognitive robotics platforms and robot simulators, biomimetic skin as an example of a hardware-based approach, machine-learning methods, and cognitive architecture. Finally, they cover the behavioral and cognitive capabilities of a variety of models, experiments, and applications, looking at issues that range from intrinsic motivation and perception to robot consciousness. Cognitive Robotics is aimed at an interdisciplinary audience, balancing technical details and examples for the computational reader with theoretical and experimental findings for the empirical scientist.
Elements of Robotics by
This open access book bridges the gap between playing with robots in school and studying robotics at the upper undergraduate and graduate levels to prepare for careers in industry and research. Robotic algorithms are presented formally, but using only mathematics known by high-school and first-year college students, such as calculus, matrices and probability. Concepts and algorithms are explained through detailed diagrams and calculations. Elements of Robotics presents an overview of different types of robots and the components used to build robots, but focuses on robotic algorithms: simple algorithms like odometry and feedback control, as well as algorithms for advanced topics like localization, mapping, image processing, machine learning and swarm robotics. These algorithms are demonstrated in simplified contexts that enable detailed computations to be performed and feasible activities to be posed. Students who study these simplified demonstrations will be well prepared for advanced study of robotics. The algorithms are presented at a relatively abstract level, not tied to any specific robot. Instead a generic robot is defined that uses elements common to most educational robots: differential drive with two motors, proximity sensors and some method of displaying output to the user. The theory is supplemented with over 100 activities, most of which can be successfully implemented using inexpensive educational robots. Activities that require more computation can be programmed on a computer. Archives are available with suggested implementations for the Thymio robot and standalone programs in Python.
Humanoid Robotics and Neuroscience by
Humanoid robots are highly sophisticated machines equipped with human-like sensory and motor capabilities. Today we are on the verge of a new era of rapid transformations in both science and engineering--one that brings together technological advancements in a way that will accelerate both neuroscience and robotics. Humanoid Robotics and Neuroscience: Science, Engineering and Society presents the contributions of prominent scientists who explore key aspects of the further potential of these systems. Topics include: Neuroscientific research findings on dexterous robotic hand control Humanoid vision and how understanding the structure of the human eye can lead to improvements in artificial vision Humanoid locomotion, motor control, and the learning of motor skills Cognitive elements of humanoid robots, including the neuroscientific aspects of imitation and development The impact of robots on society and the potential for developing new systems and devices to benefit humans The use of humanoid robotics can help us develop a greater scientific understanding of humans, leading to the design of better engineered systems and machines for society. This book assembles the work of scientists on the cutting edge of robotic research who demonstrate the vast possibilities in this field of research.
An Introduction to Ethics in Robotics and AI by
This open access book introduces the reader to the foundations of AI and ethics. It discusses issues of trust, responsibility, liability, privacy and risk. It focuses on the interaction between people and the AI systems and Robotics they use. Designed to be accessible for a broad audience, reading this book does not require prerequisite technical, legal or philosophical expertise. Throughout, the authors use examples to illustrate the issues at hand and conclude the book with a discussion on the application areas of AI and Robotics, in particular autonomous vehicles, automatic weapon systems and biased algorithms. A list of questions and further readings is also included for students willing to explore the topic further.
Mechatronics and Robotics by
The term "mechatronics" was coined in 1969, merging "mecha" from mechanism and "tronics" from electronics, to reflect the original idea at the basis of this discipline, that is, the integration of electrical and mechanical systems into a single device. The spread of this term, and of mechatronics itself, has been growing in the years, including new aspects and disciplines, like control engineering, computer engineering and communication/information engineering. Nowadays mechatronics has a well-defined and fundamental role, in strict relation with robotics. Drawing a sharp border between mechatronics and robotics is impossible, as they share many technologies and objectives. Advanced robots could be defined as mechatronic devices equipped with a "smart brain", but there are also up-to-date mechatronic devices, used in tight interaction with humans, that are governed by smart architectures (for example, for safety purposes). Aim of this book is to offer a wide overview of new research trends and challenges for both mechatronics and robotics, through the contribution of researchers from different institutions, providing their view on specific subjects they consider as "hot topics" in both fields, with attention to new fields of application, new challenges to the research communities and new technologies available. The reader of this book will enjoy the various contributions, as they have been prepared with actual applications in mind, along a journey from advanced actuators and sensors to human-robot interaction, through robot control, navigation, planning and programming issues. The book presents several state-of-the-art solutions, like multiple-stage actuation to cope with conflicting specification of large motion-spans, ultra-high accuracy, model-based control for high-tech mechatronic systems, modern approaches of software systems engineering to robotics, aand humanoids for human assistance. The reader can also find new techniques in approaching the design of mechatronic systems in some possible industrial and service robotics scenarios, with a particular attention for the interaction between humans and mechanisms.
Medical Robotics by
Medical robotics has significant potential for treating patients rapidly and comfortably. Surgical and rehabilitation robotic systems comprise a major portion of medical robots. Both types of robots have unique advantages that are continually improved upon day after day and year after year. This book critically examines the development and historical evolution of medical robotics with a particular focus on urologic robotic surgery.
Robotics by
Every day, robots become a bigger part of our lives. From the robots vacuuming our homes to self-scanning machines at the supermarket, robots do jobs faster than humans and often with fewer mistakes. This book takes a look at the amazing developments in robotic technology, from the early days of robots to the varied landscape of robotics we see today. Readers will learn the differences between robots being developed to look just like humans and the complex thinking machines designed to play chess or build cars, and explore the potential future robots have to change the world.
Software Engineering for Robotics by
The topics covered in this book range from modeling and programming languages and environments, via approaches for design and verification, to issues of ethics and regulation. In terms of techniques, there are results on model-based engineering, product lines, mission specification, component-based development, simulation, testing, and proof. Applications range from manufacturing to service robots, to autonomous vehicles, and even robots than evolve in the real world. A final chapter summarizes issues on ethics and regulation based on discussions from a panel of experts. The origin of this book is a two-day event, entitled RoboSoft, that took place in November 2019, in London. Organized with the generous support of the Royal Academy of Engineering and the University of York, UK, RoboSoft brought together more than 100 scientists, engineers and practitioners from all over the world, representing 70 international institutions. The intended readership includes researchers and practitioners with all levels of experience interested in working in the area of robotics, and software engineering more generally. The chapters are all self-contained, include explanations of the core concepts, and finish with a discussion of directions for further work. Chapters 'Towards Autonomous Robot Evolution', 'Composition, Separation of Roles and Model-Driven Approaches as Enabler of a Robotics Software Ecosystem' and 'Verifiable Autonomy and Responsible Robotics' are available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.
Robot Ethics: The Ethical and Social Implications of Robotics by
Prominent experts from science and the humanities explore issues in robot ethics that range from sex to war. Robots today serve in many roles, from entertainer to educator to executioner. As robotics technology advances, ethical concerns become more pressing: Should robots be programmed to follow a code of ethics, if this is even possible? Are there risks in forming emotional bonds with robots? How might society--and ethics--change with robotics? This volume is the first book to bring together prominent scholars and experts from both science and the humanities to explore these and other questions in this emerging field. Starting with an overview of the issues and relevant ethical theories, the topics flow naturally from the possibility of programming robot ethics to the ethical use of military robots in war to legal and policy questions, including liability and privacy concerns. The contributors then turn to human-robot emotional relationships, examining the ethical implications of robots as sexual partners, caregivers, and servants. Finally, they explore the possibility that robots, whether biological-computational hybrids or pure machines, should be given rights or moral consideration. Ethics is often slow to catch up with technological developments. This authoritative and accessible volume fills a gap in both scholarly literature and policy discussion, offering an impressive collection of expert analyses of the most crucial topics in this increasingly important field.
To find books at the Gordon Library:
