Guides: CH 3410: Structure, Bonding, and Reactivity in Inorganic Chemistry: Finding Articles

Best Chemistry Databases to Search

SciFinder (Access limited to WPI users only.) - now available as CAS SciFinder -n This link opens in a new window
ACS Journals Search This link opens in a new window
Full text and search access to American Chemical Society journals. You must either be on campus or using the VPN if off campus to connect with this content. You can also use the "Find my institution" link on the American Chemical Society site. (Spell out Worcester).
Coverage: 1879-
Some Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Reaxys (WPI access canceled as of 7-1-2023)
Access suspended as of 7/1/2023 - please contact us at gr-collectiondevelopment@wpi.edu for more information.

More Chemistry Databases

SciFinder Web

What is SciFinder Web?

CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society, developed SciFinder to offer comprehensive chemistry literature and structure searching. SciFinder includes the following:

CAplusPatent and journal references from many scientific disciplines

CAS REGISTRY
Substance information

CASREACTChemical synthesis information

CHEMLISTRegulated chemicals information

CHEMCATSCommercially available substances

You must register first with your WPI email to use this resource.

If you get an error message stating "Login Failed: Too many concurrent sessions for this login ID." or "Your allocated system resources are currently unavailable to access SciFinder. Please try again later." All seats are currently occupied and you must try again at another time.

SciFinder (Access limited to WPI users only.) - now available as CAS SciFinder -n This link opens in a new window

SciFinder Web Tutorials

SciFinder How To Guides
Quick guides to reference and structure searching
Search by Substance
15 minute tutorial
The New CAS Draw Structure Editor in SciFinder-n
10 minute tutorial

Reaxys

Reaxys (WPI access canceled as of 7-1-2023)
Access suspended as of 7/1/2023 - please contact us at gr-collectiondevelopment@wpi.edu for more information.

Reaxys Tutorials

Reaxys Search Techniques
Search a substructure reaction (free sites on specific atoms) & Find synthesis routes for a specific compound
Reaxys Quick Reference Guide
This document provides you with the basics you need to start using Reaxys:

-My settings (e.g. install other structure editors)
-Query Menu: Reaction, Substances and Properties, Authors and citations
-Generate a structure from a name
-Synthesis planner tool - History

When Searching for Articles ...

Use " " quotes around phrases: "transition metal complexes" to find only results with that phrase
Explore advanced search options, for instance, at times it's useful to limit your search by title only, especially if you are getting a lot of results
Make a list of keywords and add to this list as you find more
Follow up on relevant authors, researchers, or experts

Only Finding a Citation? Get the Full Text

Within most databases, click on the FullTextFinder link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.

Is the journal online or here in the library? Search our J ournals.
Request delivery from another library: ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.
Visit another library: Search WorldCat to find one.

CH 3410: Structure, Bonding, and Reactivity in Inorganic Chemistry: Finding Articles

WPI Library Search