HU 3900: Inquiry Seminar - Media Revolutions in History

Related Guides

Need Help? Ask Us!

If the chat is not available, please feel free to email us at library@wpi.edu or you can make an appointment with a librarian at http://wpi.libcal.com/appointments/ 

Primary Sources

Primary sources are materials that provide firsthand testimony to a subject under investigation. Researchers often use these firsthand accounts of specific events to understand events from the viewpoint of people living during that time period. Primary sources include letters, diaries, photographs, newspaper articles, and pamphlets. Primary sources also include writings and recordings by witnesses who experienced the events or conditions being documented. For example, oral histories, autobiographies, and memoirs are primary sources.

Primary source materials can be found in a variety of locations, including within books, newspapers, article bibliographies, and archives or manuscripts collections. For popular reaction to events/issues, try searching the Letters to the Editor in a newspaper such as the New York Times.

Newspapers

The Robert A. Foisie School of Business is sponsoring free access for everyone with a WPI email address to NYTimes.com for the 2017-18 academic year.  This exciting service will provide you with an e-subscription to The New York Times to stay connected with the events of the day.  In addition, you will have access to the extensive NYT database dating back to 1851 – a tremendous research tool.  Several faculty in the School of Business are incorporating The Times into their courses and we trust this service will add value in a variety of ways across campus.

To set up your account:

http://www.accessnyt.com/  (If on campus or otherwise within the WPI IP range)

http://ezproxy.wpi.edu/login?url=http://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir  (If off campus and outside the WPI IP range)

Once you have activated your account you can log in no matter where you are at http://www.nytimes.com/

Primary Source Examples

WPI Archives

The Gordon Library Archives are a great resource for primary sources. To learn more about the Archives' collections or to schedule a visit to the Archives, please call 508-831-6112 or e-mail archives@wpi.edu