Guides: Identifying Funding Opportunities: Finding Funding at WPI

Funding Support at WPI

Several offices at WPI support researchers seeking funding opportunities.

Office of Sponsored Programs (OSP)
OSP partners with WPI's faculty and staff throughout the life cycle to assist in proposal development and review. OSP negotiates and accept awards, provides guidance throughout the award and interprets applicable regulatory requirements to ensure that research conducted is in compliance.
Research Solutions Institute (RSI)
RSI helps faculty and collaborative teams identify and capture funding support for new research initiatives. RSI’s aim is to help all WPI faculty researchers form teams, prepare well for funding opportunities, and develop winning proposals as they pursue solutions to society’s most important and pressing challenges.
Office of Foundation Relations
Private and corporate foundations are generous supporters of higher education, and WPI's Office of Foundation Relations is your partner in accessing those funds. Foundation & Corporate Philanthropy helps WPI faculty and academic departments connect with private and corporate foundations and provides technical support to help you present your research, project or program to potential donors.

Databases and Search Tools for Finding Grants

There are a number of databases and research tools available to you through WPI and on the web for identifying funding opportunities. Create an account in Pivot to set up customized searches and email alerts across funding agencies. For assistance with creating your profile please contact us at gr-faculty_support@wpi.edu.

Introducing Pivot: Tutorial

Pivot This link opens in a new window
Pivot gives Research Administrators, Research Development Professionals, and their institutions the edge to bring together the right research opportunities, funding, and people quickly and easily. It provides global and local connections that strengthen research by exploring new avenues for funding and collaboration for faculty, staff researchers, and graduate students. Set up an account to track funding opportunities and save searches.

Other PIVOT training materials are also available including webinars, e-learning modules and PowerPoint presentations.

Foundation Directory Online

Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
Provides access to timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of the entire universe of over 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 4,000 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of over 2.4 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 700,000 recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.

ProposalCENTRAL

ProposalCENTRAL is an e-grant making website with listings of funding opportunities by many government, non-profit, and private grant-making organizations.