Databases by Type: Encyclopedias

Contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works full text and searchable.

Biographical information on people from throughout history.    This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Topics covered include mechanics, propulsion, guidance and control, electronics and instrumentation, communications, computer science, systems engineering, material science, fabrication and manufacturing, and physics. In addition, environmental science, noise and emissions are addressed in view of their growing importance to the aviation industry.

Searchable through the Gale Virtual Reference Library, this electronic book provides industry snapshots.

Entries by scholars on all aspects of energy, from Basics of Energy; Energy Flows; Conservation and End Use; Renewable and Alternative Sources; Nuclear Energy; Sustainable Development; and more.

Contains 1200 entries written by experts on a range of environmental topics from agroecosystems to zero population growth.

Reference to a broad array of health topics worldwide

Search full text on a wide range of themes, including computer crime, information warfare, privacy, surveillance, intellectual property and more.

Online edition contains 250+ articles including latest developments in medical devices, including nanotechnology, fiber optics, and signal processing.

Search Gale eBook reference content such as Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Major Acts of Congress, Encyclopedia of Bioethics and 20+ other titles.  This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Contains over 1,000 articles on chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology.

Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: Biochemistry Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response; General Engineering & Project Administration; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering ; ASM International Materials Collection Online). 

Electronic version of the twenty-volume The Oxford English Dictionary, Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series.

Search full text of The Grove Dictionaries of Music and Musicians, Opera and Jazz.  The gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe

Contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works full text and searchable.

A state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and many more.

Includes articles on a variety of scientific topics including chemistry, chemical engineering, civil engineering, computer science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, and physics.