Guides: GOV 1301: United States Government: Getting Started

News Resources

LexisNexis Academic -- Now called Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text news, legal, business, and biographical information.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
New York Times (1985 to present) This link opens in a new window
Search full text of the New York Times.
Coverage: 2005-
Full Text: Yes
Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text searchable database of Wall Street Journal Eastern edition, offering coverage of global business, financial, and industry news and politics. Coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - present
Coverage: 1984-
Full Text: Yes.

Think Tanks

A "think tank," which is sometimes referred to as a "policy institute," is an organization that engages in research and advocacy in social policy, political strategy, military issues, economics, and other areas. The majority of think tanks are non-profits while others are funded by governments, business entities, or advocacy groups.

Think Tank Directory - Harvard Kennedy School of Government
A think tank, sometimes referred to as a policy institute, is an organization that conducts research and engages in advocacy in social policy, political strategy, economics, military, and technology issues and other areas. Most think tanks are non-profit organizations, which some countries such as the United States provide with tax exempt status. Other think tanks are funded by governments, advocacy groups, businesses, or derive revenue from consulting work related to their projects.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is an American think tank organization. Based in Washington, D.C. it provides information on issues, attitudes and trends shaping the United States and the world.
Brookings Institution

Selected Web Resources

FedStats
FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the U.S. Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. FedStats links to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
GovTrack.us
GovTrack helps you find the status of U.S. federal legislation, voting records for the Senate and House of Representatives, information on Members of Congress, congressional district maps, and the status of state legislation.

GPO's govinfo - Government Publications This link opens in a new window
This website provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes

Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues
ProCon.org is a non-profit public charity that has no government affiliations of any kind. Its mission is to promote "critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."
Government Information - Vanderbilt University
Bureau of Labor Statistics-U.S. Department of Labor
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making.

News websites

Encyclopedias

The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Michael Kazin (Editor); Rebecca Edwards (Editor); Adam Rothman (Editor)
Call Number: Click on link to access E-book.
ISBN: 9780691129716
Publication Date: 2009-11-09

Evaluate...

According to a study at Stanford, nearly half of all web site evaluators (46.1%) used visual cues, to assess a site's credibility. Move beyond what a site looks like...

Authority
Scope
Currency
Accuracy