These eBook collections & databases allow reading through your browser, and some allow downloading chapters or complete volumes for offline reading.
The ACLS Humanities Ebook Collection (ACLS HEB) presents thousands of foundational books in the humanities and social sciences from hundreds of publishers, with 150-200 new titles added annually. ACLS HEB is a collection curated by scholars for scholars; members of ACLS learned societies nominate books for inclusion.
ebook collection of over 27,000 titles from Cambridge University Press; available in html format or downloadable PDFs.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) is the definitive online collection of early printed works in English. With over 125,000 titles from before 1700, the EEBO contains virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
200,000+ full text books on many topics: Business & Economics, Computers, Technology & Engineering, Humanities, Life & Physical Sciences, Social & Behavioral Sciences. For help using Ebook Central: https://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral
You must either be on campus or using the VPN if off campus to connect with this content.
>>In case of difficulty, try clearing your browser's cache.<<
Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
For most titles users can download chapters or sections by page range to PDF. Whole book downloads available for up to 3 weeks via Adobe Digital Editions. Access the site from your tablet or phone, and download eBooks for offline reading.
Search and browse 12,000 full text eBooks.
Full Text: Yes
Two ebook collections from Elgar Publishing: Sustainable Development Goals Essentials and Climate Change Essentials, plus 111 open access titles from Elgar.
Search Gale eBook reference content such as Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Major Acts of Congress, Encyclopedia of Bioethics and 20+ other titles. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Coverage: 2000-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Content can be downloaded, typically as an HTML file. However, some are available as a PDF.
Browsable collection of e-books from JSTOR. Downloadable PDFs available at the chapter level.
Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: Biochemistry Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response; General Engineering & Project Administration; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering ; ASM International Handbooks Online). Access provided in part by a gift from the Victor E. Kohman, ’43 Memorial Fund.
Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Individual chapters are available to download as PDFs. However, Knovel recommends limiting downloads to 10% or 25 pages of content per title.
Access to 3000+ ebook titles from MIT Press. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
Searchable collection of 50- to 100-page electronic books in Engineering and Computer Science that synthesize important research or development topics, authored by a prominent contributor to the field.
Contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works full text and searchable.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
The O’Reilly digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online, saving time and quickly finding the information they need.
See https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly for further information.
***To view and download O'Reilly eBooks, WPI community members must create a personal account with their @wpi.edu email account.
Collection of over 4000 Open Access ebooks from Project Muse
Coverage from 1989 - 2017. A collection of top optics and photonics titles from SPIE. Spotlights: Concise, topically focused, peer-reviewed mini-tutorials covering a technology application or technique.Press Monographs: Authoritative reference works, texts, and handbooks.Tutorial Texts: Works covering fundamental and emerging topics at introductory and intermediate levels.Field Guides: Concise quick-reference guides to key information that students, practicing engineers, and scientists need in the lab and in the field.
e-Book collection of over 75,000 titles from Springer; most books can be downloaded in PDF format by chapter or book.
Over 3000 e-books from Taylor and Francis; items can be read online and downloaded in PDF format by chapter or full e-book.
Collection of over 3000 Open Access e-books from De Gruyter Publishing.
A powerful search tool to streamline your library research. Entering terms into a single search box yields results that include: books and e-books, research and news articles, project reports, electronic theses and dissertations, archival materials, patents, open access collections and more.
Full text: Yes
Visit the sites below for access to some free, or public domain eBooks, and some searchable eBooks that allow users to view snippets.
HathiTrust offers a collection of over 18 million titles digitized from libraries around the world - the largest digitized collection of knowledge allowable by copyright law. Not all items are available for access, due to copyright restrictions. WPI users have access to works in the public domain.
Each eBook site has its own terms of use, membership agreement, etc., which you are expected to abide by if you use that site. Please look for links to the terms of use from the beginning page of each of the eBook sites.