The most frequently-used databases
Electronic version of Engineering Index, covering literature in various engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. It contains the.full text of all IEEE and IEE journal articles, conference papers, and standards. Tutorials are available at: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplorehelp/ieee-xplore-training/video-tutorials
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are available and cross-searchable.
Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.
Catalog of books (and other materials) in libraries worldwide.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
ACM e-Books are a series of scholarly research monographs and graduate-level texts, authored by computer scientists and practitioners at the forefront of computing technology and includes books across the entire spectrum of computer science, geared to researchers, educators, practitioners and students.The series focuses on four kinds of books: graduate-level textbooks, research monographs, practitioner-level professional books, and books devoted to the history and social impact of computing. ACM Books Collections I, II, and III each consists of 25 e-books published across a wide range of topics in computer science.
APA PSYCARTICLES® - offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.
APA PSYCINFO® - published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed.
Explore Artstor’s collections of high-quality images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world. Artstor’s diverse collections are rights-cleared for education and research, and include Open Access content as well as rare materials not available elsewhere. Currently there are over 851,000 images in over 300 collections. Artstor supports and enriches study across disciplines, including world events from Magnum Photos, anthropology from Harvard’s Peabody Museum, and archaeology from Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Art Archives. The images in Artstor are curated from reliable sources and have been rights-cleared for use in education and research — you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities. [Artstor is provided by the generous support of the Olive Higgins Prouty Fund, a library endowment dedicated to the humanities.]
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University. It offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains over seven hundred American and international journals including not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Domus, Dwell, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as Burlington Magazine, Journal of Green Building, Metropolitan Museum Journal, and Urban Land. [Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is provided by the generous support of the Olive Higgins Prouty Fund, a library endowment dedicated to the humanities.]
Compendex + Patents Plus on Engineering Village- trial access until March 5, 2025
*Check the
Search both Compendex and 120 million patent records across an expanded list of patent resources. The result? A unique
experience whereby engineering researchers can validate the novelty and research impact of their next bright idea.
With Patents Plus, Search across 120 million patent records on Engineering Village, including:
• United States Patent Office
(USPTO)
• World Intellectual Property
Office (WIPO)
• European Patent Office (EPO)
• Japanese Patent Office (JPO)
• China National Intellectual
Property Administration (CNIPA)
• UK Intellectual Property Office
(IPO)
• Deutsches Patent- und
Markenamt
For search help and more information, see: How can I work with patent search results? - Engineering Village: Access and Use Support Center
Office hours (free to WPI community) with Elsevier PATENTS PLUS expert: February 19th, 21st, 25th, 27 (12 PM – 1 PM)
https://elsevier.zoom.us/j/92481950688?pwd=YVGbA8r5ynjK632JMMwLFk4sGyVVMI.1
GrantForward is an extensive database of grant opportunies. GrantForward uses specialized data-crawling technology to constantly update our extensive database of sponsors and funding opportunities, allowing thousands of grant opportunities to be gathered from over 21,000 Sponsors. Every grant opportunity is thoroughly analyzed and then verified by a team of specialists to ensure accuracy. GrantForward allows you to do more than just search for grants. With a researcher profile, you can receive grant recommendations related to your field and research interests. GrantForward is provided by the generous support of the Vice President and Vice Provost for Research and Innovation. [Note: GrantForward currently does not support methods of Single Sign On that involve an authentication-step via apps, but they are aware of this limitation and are working to support different methods to log in using SSO in the future. For now, use only the standard SSO login method (using the institution account's email and password credentials) to gain access to GrantForward.]
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
IET eBooks review the current state-of-the-art in hot topics in engineering and technology research, including contributions from leading experts with a global perspective. These 60 ebooks provide a comprehensive resource for the engineering and technology community and covers reference and emerging topics in A.I., cyber security, big data, computing, semiconductors, healthcare technologies, electromagnetics, sensors, circuits, devices, systems, electrical, unmanned vehicles, robotics, mechanical, power, energy, sonar, radar, electronic warfare, computer science and other subject areas. **Note: titles are added throughout the year!
SpringerProtocols is the world's largest collection of biomedical and life sciences protocols with over 65,000 articles. Based on tried and tested resources including Methods in Molecular Biology, SpringerProtocols includes provides current and alternative versions of protocols important for use in labs that don’t have the latest equipment. SpringerProtocols offers step-by-step laboratory instructions, lists of the necessary equipment and ingredients, and notes on troubleshooting and safety precautions. SpringerProtocols cover numerous subject areas including: • Biochemistry • Bioinformatics • Biotechnology • Cancer Research • Cell Biology • Genetics /Genomics • Imaging / Radiology • Immunology • Infectious Diseases • Microbiology • Molecular Biology • Neuroscience • Pharmacology / Toxicology • Plant Sciences • Protein Science (Coverage 1980 - 2024)