Guides: Women's History Month: Journals

Databases

American Men and Women of Science This link opens in a new window
Biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences.
Coverage: 2007
Some Full Text: Yes
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies) This link opens in a new window
An essential set of scholarly journals and cultural interest titles. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile: Gender Studies) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive periodical collection supporting significant aspects of gender in culture and society. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Global Issues (Gale in Context: Global Issues) This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Hot issue and world news provide sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical abstracts of global history research journals, covering 1450 to the present.
Coverage: 1886-
Full Text: No
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
LGBTQ+ Rights This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Rights charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Topics covered include the Defense of Marriage Act, the AIDS crisis, military service by gay and transgender service members, "bathroom bills," and more. A separate subcollection presents historical texts whose views some readers may find offensive today, showing the prejudicial beliefs that permeated society and helped formed the laws of their time.
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
Over 1100 titles, many published on behalf of prestigious societies, organizations and associations such as: Association of American Geographers, American Planning Association, British Educational Research Association, and the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS). Search and explore the millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Dove Medical Press imprints.
Coverage: 1997-Present
Full Text: Yes
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexis Uni includes: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources (primarily newspapers, magazines and journals) in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data - including company financial information, and SEC filings and reports - on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, federal and state agency regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes

Journals

Asian journal of women's studies.
AJWS aims to share and disseminate information and scholarly ideas about women's issues in Asia and all over the world, with the view to develop women's studies in Asia and expand the horizon of western-centered women's studies. The journal offers research articles with a theoretical focus, voices from Asian feminist activism, country reports providing valuable information on specific subjects, and book reviews containing information on recent publications on women in Asia and elsewhere.
Feminist studies
Feminist Studies, first published in 1972, is the oldest continuing scholarly journal in the field of women's studies published in the U.S. Contents of the journal reflect its commitment to publishing an interdisciplinary body of feminist knowledge, in multiple genres (research, criticism, commentaries, creative work), that views the intersection of gender with racial identity, sexual orientation, economic means, geographical location, and physical ability as the touchstone for its intellectual analysis.
Gender issues
Gender Issues is interdisciplinary and cross-national in scope focusing on gender and gender equity.
Journal of Middle East women's studies
JMEWS is the official journal of the Association for Middle East Women's Studies. It advances the fields of Middle East gender, sexuality, and women's studies by publishing research in the interpretive social sciences and humanities. JMEWS offers area-specific research informed by transnational feminist, sexuality, masculinity, and cultural theories and scholarship, particularly work that employs historical, ethnographic, literary, textual, and visual analyses and methodologies.
Journal of Women's History
The award-winning Journal of Women’s History is the first journal devoted exclusively to the international field of women’s history. It publishes cutting-edge scholarship from around the globe in all historical periods. The Journal also promotes comparative and transnational methods and approaches to historical constructions of gender as they shape and are in turn shaped by women’s experiences.
Sex roles
Sex Roles: A Journal of Research is a global, multidisciplinary, scholarly, social and behavioral science journal with a feminist perspective. It publishes original research reports as well as original theoretical papers and conceptual review articles that explore how gender organizes people’s lives and their surrounding worlds, including gender identities, belief systems, representations, interactions, relations, organizations, institutions, and statuses.
Studies in gender and sexuality
Studies in Gender and Sexuality is one of the leading journals in the transdisciplinary field of gender and sexuality studies. Situated at the interface of psychoanalysis and social/cultural theory, it aims to further our understanding of how we live, theorize and transform genders and sexualities.
Women's studies
Women’s Studies provides a forum for the presentation of scholarship and criticism about women in the fields of literature, history, art, sociology, law, political science, economics, anthropology and the sciences. It also publishes poetry, film and book reviews.
Women's history review
Women’s History Review is an international journal whose aim is to provide a forum for the publication of new scholarly articles in the field of women’s history. The time span covered by the journal includes the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries as well as earlier times.