Skip to Main Content

FP 3080 - Introduction to Building Fire Safety System Design Systems: Search Strategies & Tips

This guide brings together resources for building fire safety design

Source Overview

Explore these pages for information on specific resource types.

All of the Gordon Library's electronic resources (WPI Library Search, databases, eJournals and eBooks) are available remotely. When searching remotely, simply enter your WPI user name and password when prompted.

Specific Search Strategies & Tips

Top 10 Search Tips

  1. Ask a librarian: Searching and researching is what we do. Let us work with you to make your searching more productive.

  2. Use search filters on the search results page. Some of the most common filters are:

    1. Date
    2. Source Format – book, journal, video
    3. Source Type – Academic Journals, Magazines, Newspapers
    4. Subject – Keywords and phrases found prominently in your search results. Add these as additional search terms.

  3. Identify your topic’s key concepts and their synonyms: Add synonyms for your keywords and concepts to increase the number of relevant search results.

  4. Use the FullTextFinder icon on the search results page. If you only have the summary/abstract of an article, click on the FullTextFinder to search all 200+ library databases for the full-text.

  5. Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Submit an ILL request to get full-text journal articles, books and book chapters.

  6. Check bibliographies for additional relevant sources.

  7. Check “cited by” links on search results page.

  8. Check “related articles” links on search results page.

  9. Use Google search features to focus on domain type (e.g. .edu, .gov, .org,) or country ( e.g. .au, .nz)

Example:
  • Community garden site:.gov
  • Fauna site:.nz
  1. Go to the second page of results!
Use these search terms, known as Boolean operators, to narrow or broaden your search:

Term
Example
Result
AND
media AND bias
Narrows the search to entries containing both terms.
OR
beer OR wine
Broadens the search to entries containing either term.
NOT
bat NOT baseball
Excludes entries containing the second term.
“ ”
“social work”
Retrieves results containing the exact phrase in quotes.
?
globali?ation
Wildcard: Retrieves both globalization and globalisation.
*
doctor*
Truncation: Retrieves doctor, doctors, doctored.

Google Search Tools

What is a keyword?
Keywords are important words/concepts found in your research question, topic, or thesis.
When you search Google, you are keyword searching. Keywords can also be called search terms.
How do you identify keywords?

  1. Conduct background research on your topic by consulting encyclopedias, dictionaries, books, websites, etc.
  2. Identify the major concepts of your topic: who, what, when, where, and why
  3. Make note of any jargon and technical terms, including scientific names for living organisms
  4. Break up your research topic/question into separate concepts
  5. For each initial keyword from your topic try to think of terms that meet any of the following in relation to your first set of keywords:
    1. Similar/synonyms
    2. Broader
    3. Narrower
    4. Related
Example topic:  The environmental consequences of fracking
Concept #1 = fracking                                      Concept #2 = “environmental consequences”
Similar =  “hydraulic fracturing”                     Similar = “environmental impact”
      Hydrofracking        
               
Broader =  “natural gas drilling”                    Broader = environment
      “fossil fuel extraction”                
                                                               Narrower = pollution
                                                               Related = “global warming” “climate change”    

Tips for using keywords effectively
  • Be persistent with keywords!
  • Start with only a couple of terms – do NOT use long phrases or sentences in the search box!
  • If your keyword is made of several words, use quotation marks ("   ") around the words to tell the database to search for the words together and in that specific order.
For example:  “natural gas drilling”
  • Mix and match terms. If one term doesn’t work, try switching to one of the synonyms or related terms you came up with or found in your background research.
  • When searching in a database, make note of the “Subject Headings” – these are terms that the database uses like tags. They link all of the articles in that database that are related to that specific concept.
  • When you find a really good source, be sure to read it carefully for new potential search terms, especially discipline specific jargon and technical terms.

Keywords: Consider some of the approaches recommended by librarians in the following video--

Developing keywords for research

Run Time: 2:44

Key Student Learning Competencies:

  • What are Keywords? (0:22)
  • Sample--Generating Keywords (0:38)
  • Effectively Using Keywords (0:53)
  • Using a Thesaurus (1:34)
  • Refining Search Results (1:48)
  • Evaluating a Library Record (2:10)

Source: Utah State University Libraries

Learn the Lingo

Every topic, discipline, and subculture has its own lingo, jargon, and key concepts.  The more you read about your topic, the more familiar you'll become with the language used in that field. By reading and learning this new language, you'll be able to improve your keyword searching by incorporating new vocabulary words into your searches. 

For example, in South Africa, a childcare center is called a creche. A search for "South Africa" AND creche will yield more relevant results than a search for "South Africa" AND "childcare center".

Run Time: 2:57

Key Student Learning Competencies:

  • Rules for Using Google Scholar (0:24)
  • Where to Find Google Scholar (1:01)
  • Sample Google Scholar Search (1:20)
  • Requesting an Article from Google Scholar Using ILL (1:44)
  • Generating Citations in Google Scholar (2:10)

Research Videos

Library Searching in 60 Seconds

Run Time: 1:03

Key Student Learning Competencies:

  • Gordon Library Homepage (0:15)
  • Search Overview (0:30)
  • Filters (0:45)

Locating relevant databases for research

Run Time: 2:27

Key Student Learning Competencies:

  • Understanding Relevance in Relation to Research Needs (0:21)
  • Understanding Databases (0:46)
  • Locating Databases (1:04)
  • Search Databases A-Z (1:04)
  • Search Databases by Subject (1:33)
  • Search Databases by Type of Resource (2:09)

Finding full-text videos

Run Time: 2:55

Key Student Learning Competencies:

  • Why Search for Full-Text Articles? (0:30)
  • Sample Full-Text Search via SCOPUS (0:52)
  • Sample Search w/ Strategies (1:18)
  • Search Tips (1:27- 2:06)
  • Filters (2:10)