Can't find a book in the Gordon Library collections? Try searching WorldCat.org: a catalog of books (and other materials) in libraries worldwide. You can always identify a book in WorldCat.org, and then place a request for materials the Gordon Library does not own through Interlibrary Loan!
Catalog of books (and other materials) in libraries worldwide.
The Arc of Crisis in the Mena Region by
The Arc of Crisis in the MENA Region volume deals with the countries of the Middle East and North Africa that are facing a particularly troubled period in their historical development. Syria, Iraq, Libya, Egypt and to a lesser extent Jordan and Tunisia have plunged into a legitimacy crisis that in some cases has turned into civil war or violent upheaval. As traditional authorities lose their legitimacy, two alternatives are emerging. The first is a more decentralized system of government, evinced by the empowerment of subnational government bodies and the growing legitimacy of local authorities; in this trend, the local authorities are able to keep the state united and more functional. The second is a growing number of political groups that act as opposition to authoritarianism, which is experiencing a revival. The analysis herein also focuses on Islamist movements; namely, their organizational and ideological development as well as how the shrinking of the political space affects them and the entire polity. This Report explores the distinctive dynamics and characteristics of these challenges in the post-Arab Spring era.
Environmental Challenges in the MENA Region: The Long Road from Conflict to Cooperation by
The Middle East and North Africa region is well-known for its abundant natural resources and important geostrategic position. This position is often overshadowed by continued sectarian violence and trans-boundary conflicts that threaten the stability of the entire region with serious global implications. This preoccupation with conflict has come at the expense of addressing the region's other challenges
The Fragility-Grievances-Conflict Triangle in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) by
Several problems related to violence, grievances, and states’ lack of legitimacy and capacity to manage economic, social, and political issues are clustered together as an interactive structure in the Middle East and Northern Africa (MENA) region.
The MENA Region by
The volume deals with competition among regional and external players for the redistribution of power and international status in the Middle East and North Africa, with a focus on Russia's renewed role and the implications for US interests. Over the last few years, a crisis of legitimacy has beset the liberal international order. In this context, the configuration of regional orders has come into question, as in the extreme case of the current collapse in the Middle East. The idea of a "Russian resurgence" in the Middle East set against a perceived American withdrawal has captured the attention of policymakers and scholars alike, warranting further examination. This volume, a joint publication by ISPI and the Atlantic Council, gathers analysis on Washington's and Moscow's policy choices in the MENA region and develops case studies of the two powers' engagament in the countries beset by major crises.
The Routledge Handbook to the Middle East and North African State and States System by
Conflict and instability are built into the very fabric of the Middle East and North African (MENA) state and states system; yet both states and states system have displayed remarkable resilience. How can we explain this? This handbook explores the main debates, theoretical approaches and accumulated empirical research by prominent scholars in the field, providing an essential context for scholars pursuing research on the MENA state and states system. Contributions are grouped into four key themes: * Historical contexts, state-building and politics in MENA * State actors, societal context and popular activism * Trans-state politics: the political economy and identity contexts * The international politics of MENA The 26 chapters examine the evolution of the state and states system, before and after independence, and take the 2011 Arab uprisings as a pivotal moment that intensified trends already embedded in the system, exposing the deep features of state and system--specifically their built-in vulnerability and their ability to survive. This handbook provides comprehensive coverage of the history and role of the state in the MENA region. It offers a key resource for all researchers and students interested in international relations and the Middle East and North Africa.
Note: You must either be on campus or using the VPN if off campus to connect with this content.
Collection of over 4000 Open Access ebooks from Project Muse
Early Modern Books covers material from the British Isles and Europe for the period 1450-1700. An integrated search across both Early English Books Online and Early European Books allows scholars to view materials from over 225 source libraries worldwide. EEBO's content draws on authoritative short-title catalogues of the period and features many text transcriptions specially created for the product. Content from Europe covers the curated Early European Books Collections from 4 national libraries and London's Wellcome Library.
200,000+ full text books on many topics: Business & Economics, Computers, Technology & Engineering, Humanities, Life & Physical Sciences, Social & Behavioral Sciences. For help using Ebook Central: https://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral
You must either be on campus or using the VPN if off campus to connect with this content.
>>In case of difficulty, try clearing your browser's cache.<<
Search and browse 12,000 full text eBooks.
In addition to the WPI library's offerings, there are open access collections available on the web. See below for some examples of these open access collection websites.
"Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more"
"The books in this collection cover a wide range of subjects, including history, music, poetry, technology, and works of fiction."
"The Library now makes it possible to download such items in the highest resolution available directly from the Digital Collections website."