The value of audiovisual resources
Audiovisual resources complement textual research, similar to data and statistics. Audiovisual resources include moving images (films, newsreels, television programs, educational, and industrial and advertising material), commercial sound recordings, radio broadcasts, and voice recordings, as well as supporting documents, screenplays, manuscripts, photographs, posters, and press kits. Use these resources to gain a better understanding of African cultures, and add them to your research and findings.
Africa-specific Collections
- ArchNet
- Archnet is a globally-accessible, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to unique visual and textual material to facilitate teaching, scholarship, and professional work of high quality. Officially launched in 2002 as a partnership between the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Archnet has since evolved into the largest open, online architectural library with a focus on Muslim cultures.
- Abdul Hamid II Collection
- This monumental collection portrays the Ottoman Empire during the reign of one of its last sultans, Abdul-Hamid II. The 1,819 photographs in 51 large-format albums date from about 1880 to 1893. They highlight the modernization of numerous aspects of the Ottoman Empire.
- Arab Image Foundation
- The Arab Image Foundation is a non-profit organization established in Beirut in 1997. The Foundation’s mission is to collect, preserve and study photographs from the Middle East, North Africa and the Arab diaspora. The Foundation’s expanding collection is generated through artist and scholar-led projects. The ongoing research and acquisition of photographs include so far Lebanon, Syria, Palestine, Jordan, Egypt, Morocco, Iraq and Iran. To date, the collection holds more than 300,000 photographs.
- Egypt Architecture Online
- A web site for Egyptian Architects and planners, and everybody interested in Egyptian Art and Architecture. It represents the Egyptian's contributions to the world of Architecture; projects, contemporary and historical buildings, papers, articles, books, thesis or software.
- Islamic Art
- An online database provided by Museum With No Frontiers. Hosts database of 1235 artifacts from 40 museums, monuments and archaeological sites from 14 countries.
General Audio-Visual Resources
- Academic Video Online
- Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more. Academic Video Online: Premium covers all disciplines and subject areas, with specific strengths in: Anthropology; Counseling & Therapy; Art, Fashion & Design; Business & Economics; Diversity Studies; Documentary Film; Feature Film; Education; History; Music & Dance; News & Current Events; Theatre & Drama. It also provides content in nursing; allied health; criminal justice; engineering; and science.
- World History (Gale in Context)
- Information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History with authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
