Guides: Business & Management: Statistical Data Sources

Need Help? Ask Us!

This service is staffed by WPI librarians and staff. If the chat is not available, please feel free to email us at library@wpi.edu or you can make an appointment with a librarian at http://wpi.libcal.com/appointments/

Business Databases - Industry & Statistical Data

statista This link opens in a new window
Access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
First Research Industry Profiles This link opens in a new window
Industry overviews with snapshots that include recent developments, business challenges, trends & opportunities, insight from executives, financial information, forecasts and ratings. Also, industry profiles for North American states and provinces.
Coverage: 2009-
Full text: Yes
Hoover's Academic (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
Hoover’s™ Academic solution is a premier source of business information. Providing comprehensive up-to-date information through a global database of over 85 million companies, and 1,000 industries. Hoover's Academic solution provides unique insight to the core database of over 40,000 company profiles.This powerful research tool brings together company histories, news stories, financials, federal filings, executive biographies and more.
Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Coverage: 1986-
Full text: Yes

Other Statistical Sources

Alpha Vantage (Open-Access Stock API)

[This is an Open-Access resource] Public (no paywall) access to US, European, and other global financial metrics & statistics (SEC company filings, stock time series prices, technical indicators, economic indicators, foreign exchange rates). Suitable for quantitative financial modeling and backtesting.