Guides: Education & Teaching: Research Resources

Research Resources

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials in any medium that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.

A Comprehensive Guide to Applying Universal Design for Learning
For educators to improve their practice by integrating UDL principles in their work. The three workbooks include:

Universal Design for Learning: A Practical Guide,
Universal Design for Learning: Strategies for Blended and Online Learning, and
Assessment Design: Perspectives and Examples Informed by Universal Design for Learning.
EDucation & GEnder
A study funded by the European Commission, relating to gender specific differences in learning achievements, shows among other things that whilst gender equality is a hot topic in many countries a general equality policy is not always advocated. More importantly, measures to reduce gender differences in achievement seem to focus primarily on the underachievement of boys. In this publication, historical aspects and current trends within 12 European countries, regarding gender equality in education are presented and compared. The country studies and comparative analysis will inform and inspire everybody who is interested in gender issues in education.
Brokering in Education Research-Practice Partnerships
Educational leaders, researchers, and community members have found collaborating on research supports improvement in their schools, districts, and the wider community – but how do we go about developing these partnerships? With essential tools, frameworks, and tips for brokering in research-practice partnerships (RPPs), this practical book provides guidance on cultivating and sustaining impactful relationships and supportive infrastructure with partners. Through the careful brokering of these partnerships, RPP brokers can bridge the gap between education research and practice, bringing people together to build a more equitable educational system.Written by RPP leaders, researchers, and professionals, this handbook explores how brokering can:Support the production and use of partnership researchDevelop and nurture meaningful relationships, even in the face of challenging circumstancesBuild individual competencies to manage an RPP and strengthen the partnershipDevelop partnership governanceImplement effective administrative structuresDesign processes and communications routinesAssess and continuously improve the partnershipThis is an essential read for any educational leader, higher education faculty, researcher, or other community member who wants to understand the types of activities and responsibilities required of an RPP broker and the strategies to become an effective broker of RPPs aimed at educational improvement and equitable transformation.The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license.
Handbook of Education Policy Studies
This open access handbook brings together the latest research from a wide range of internationally influential scholars to analyze educational policy research from international, historical and interdisciplinary perspectives. By effectively breaking through the boundaries between countries and disciplines, it presents new theories, techniques and methods for contemporary education policy, and illustrates the educational policies and educational reform practices that various countries have introduced to meet the challenges of continuous change. Based on an analysis of the nature of education policy and education reform, this volume focuses on education reform and the concept of education quality.
The Human Rights-Based Approach to STEM Education
This volume provides the first introduction to the right to science/STEM education, with contributions from international scholars and experts from organizations, including UNESCO, and from diverse disciplines such as human rights; science education; educational studies; anti-racist and decolonizing pedagogy; feminist and gender studies in science, technology, and engineering; and management and organizational studies. The book offers a thorough grounding in the right to education and its application in the STEM fields. It provides interdisciplinary perspectives that allow for a broad understanding of the human right to science education at all intersectional levels of STEM education and in STEM careers.
Seven Democratic Virtues of Liberal Education
This book argues that the liberal arts and sciences (LAS) model of education can inspire reform across higher education to help students acquire crucial civic virtues. Based on interviews with 59 students from LAS programmes across Europe, the book posits that LAS education can develop a range of citizenship skills that are central to the democratic process. The interviews provide insight into how studying LAS prepares students for citizenship by asking them to reflect on their education, what it taught them, and how it did so.
Connecting Mathematics and Mathematics Education
This open access book features a selection of articles written by Erich Ch. Wittmann between 1984 to 2019, which shows how the “design science conception” has been continuously developed over a number of decades. The articles not only describe this conception in general terms, but also demonstrate various substantial learning environments that serve as typical examples. In terms of teacher education, the book provides clear information on how to combine (well-understood) mathematics and methods courses to benefit of teachers. The role of mathematics in mathematics education is often explicitly and implicitly reduced to the delivery of subject matter that then has to be selected and made palpable for students using methods imported from psychology, sociology, educational research and related disciplines.

Check out BrowZine via the Gordon Library to browse accessible and relevant journals. The library recommends keyword searching Education, and then narrowing your search terms to the specific conversation within EDU that you are researching (i.e., Art & Music EDU; Early Childhood, etc.).

Below is a selection of academic journals to get researchers started:

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Abstracts on educational topics. Maintained by the Education Resources Information Center of the U.S. Department of Education. Full text non-journal documents issued 1993+ are available free.
Coverage: 1966-
Full Text: Yes
ASEE PEER This link opens in a new window
PEER: Papers on Engineering Education Repository. A repository of papers from The American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE) conference and meeting proceedings covering all topics related to engineering and computer science education. The Papers on Engineering Education Repository is a site focused on furthering Engineering Education by supporting ASEE members research and publication needs and being a good custodian of scholarly works.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
PsycARTICLES on PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from American Psychological Association (APA) PyscNET and selected Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF) journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Chronicle of Higher Education is a weekly newspaper that features academic-related news articles, information and job listings for college and university faculty and administrators.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes

National Center for Education Statistics
Online table and regression maker tools featuring 30+ federal education datasets. Contains three powerful tools for your analytical needs: QuickStats – Allows novice users to create simple tables and charts; PowerStats – Allows researchers to create complex tables and logistic and linear regressions; and TrendStats

statista This link opens in a new window
Access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.

The following organizational list briefly highlights a variety of industry, professional, and research groups related to teaching and pedagogy.

National Education Association (NEA)

National Science Teaching Association (NSTA)

Massachusetts Teaching Association (MTA)

American Federation of Teachers (AFT)

Computer Using Educators (CUE)

Association of American Teachers (AAE)