Guides: Databases by Type: Standards: Search for Standards

Standards: Specific Organizations

ASTM Compass | ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of industry-leading standards from ASTM and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines. More than 13,000 active ASTM technical Standards, plus historical versions dating back ~23 years, plus redlined version comparisons between any 2 versions. Includes Manuals, Monographs, STPs, Data Series and 9 Journals, all dating back ~50 years, dealing with the development and application of standards.
****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. It contains the.full text of all IEEE and IEE journal articles, conference papers, and standards. Tutorials are available at: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplorehelp/ieee-xplore-training/video-tutorials
Coverage: 1888-
Full Text: Yes

ASTM Compass | ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of industry-leading standards from ASTM and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines. More than 13,000 active ASTM technical Standards, plus historical versions dating back ~23 years, plus redlined version comparisons between any 2 versions. Includes Manuals, Monographs, STPs, Data Series and 9 Journals, all dating back ~50 years, dealing with the development and application of standards.
****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.

ASTM standards
In print in the general collection.
American National Standard Institute Web Store
search and pay for standards
IHS/Global Standards Store & Engineering Documents
search and pay per view for standards
Standards Services at National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Their mission is to "promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life."
TechStreet
search and pay per view for standards

National Fire Codes (Formerly NFPA Codes Online) This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of the National Fire Code from the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). No Username or Password required. Access is determined by your WPI IP Address.
Coverage: Current year + Previous editions
Full Text: Yes
ICC Digital Codes Library This link opens in a new window
ICC's Digital Codes Library is the largest provider of model codes and standards used worldwide to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Free access to 800+ ICC resources and the largest collection of code titles.

Federal Register
official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Often, requests for comments, or standards changes/withdrawls are listed here.
EverySpec
free downloads of government and military standards, specifications, handbooks, and documents

NIST Standards.gov: List of Free Standards
The majority of standards developing organizations depend on the revenue from the sale of standards to support their programs and services. But a growing number of standards organizations make access to their standards for viewing or download available for no cost.