A powerful search tool to streamline your library research. Entering terms into a single search box yields results that include: books and e-books, research and news articles, project reports, electronic theses and dissertations, archival materials, patents, open access collections and more.
Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: General Engineering & Project Administration section; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering section; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering section; ASM International Handbooks Online). Access provided by a gift from the Victor E. Kohman, ’43 Memorial Fund.
Full Text: Yes Titles Included | Support Center
Individual chapters are available to download as PDFs. However, Knovel recommends limiting downloads to 10% or 25 pages of content per title.
There is a growing understanding that to be competitive at an international level, civil engineers not only must build on their traditional strengths in technology and science but also must acquire greater mastery of the business of civil engineering. Project management, teamwork, ethics, leadership, and communication have been defined as essential to the successful practice of civil engineering by the ASCE. Civil Engineer's Handbook of Professional Practice focuses on the business and management aspects of a civil engineer's job, providing students and practitioners with sound business management principles. Addresses contemporary issues such as permitting, globalization, sustainability, and emerging technologies. Offers proven methods for balancing speed, quality, and price with contracting and legal issues in a client-oriented profession. Includes guidance on juggling career goals, life outside work, compensation, and growth.
The repair, renovation and replacement of highway infrastructure, along with the provision of new highways, is a core element of civil engineering, so this book covers basic theory and practice in sufficient depth to provide a solid grounding to students of civil engineering and trainee practitioners. Moves in a logical sequence from the planning and economic justification for a highway, through the geometric design and traffic analysis of highway links and intersections, to the design and maintenance of both flexible and rigid pavements Covers geometric alignment of highways, junction and pavement design, structural design and pavement maintenance Includes detailed discussions of traffic analysis and the economic appraisal of projects Makes frequent reference to the Department of Transport's Design Manual for Roads and Bridges Places the provision of roads and motorways in context by introducing the economic, political, social and administrative dimensions of the subject.
Hydrogeology: Principles and Practice provides a comprehensive introduction to the study of hydrogeology to enable the reader to appreciate the significance of groundwater in meeting current and future water resource challenges.
Measurements of natural phenomena are vital for any type of environmental monitoring, from the practical day-to-day management of rivers and agriculture, and weather forecasting, through to longer-term assessment of climate change and glacial retreat. This book looks at past, present and future measurement techniques, describing the operation of the instruments used and the quality and accuracy of the data they produce. The book will be important for all those who use or collect such data, whether for pure research or day-to-day management of the environment. It will be useful for students and professionals working in a wide range of environmental science: meteorology, climatology, hydrology, water resources, oceanography, civil engineering, agriculture, forestry, glaciology, ecology. The first edition received excellent reviews and this new edition has been expanded considerably, through the addition of six new chapters and the extension and modification of many of the existing chapters.
Urban Water Distribution Networks: Assessing Systems Vulnerabilities and Risks provides a methodology for a system-wide assessment of water distribution networks (WDN) based on component analysis, network topology and, most importantly, the effects of a network's past performance on its seismic and/or non-seismic reliability. Water distribution networks engineers and system designers face multiple operational issues in delivering safe and clean potable water to their customers.
This volume provides in-depth coverage of environmental pollution sources, waste characteristics, control technologies, management strategies, facility innovations, process alternatives, costs, case histories, effluent standards, and future trends in the process industries. It delineates methodologies, technologies, and the regional and global effects of important pollution control practices. The authors focus on new developments in innovative and alternative technologies, design criteria, effluent standards, managerial decision methodology, and regional and global environmental conservation specific to process industries.
ILLiad: Borrowing from other Libraries
Our Interlibrary Loan service allows WPI students and faculty to request items from other libraries free of charge.