Guides: Architectural Engineering Guide: Research Resources

Research Resources

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Coverage: 1971-
Full text: Yes
Academic OneFile (Gale Academic OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Search articles on physical science, life science, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, economics, marketing, and more. Many are available in full text format. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Coverage: 1980-
Some Full Text: Yes
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes all American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) publications.. WPI has full text access to the ASCE journals only (not conference proceedings).
Coverage: 1970-
Some Full Text: Yes (Journals only)
ASTM Compass | ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of industry-leading standards from ASTM and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines. More than 13,000 active ASTM technical Standards, plus historical versions dating back ~23 years, plus redlined version comparisons between any 2 versions. Includes Manuals, Monographs, STPs, Data Series and 9 Journals, all dating back ~50 years, dealing with the development and application of standards.
****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This premium business database from EBSCO provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
Coverage: 1922-
Full Text: Yes
Journals and Other Sources Included
Emerald Engineering eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains over 50,000 articles covering a range of engineering, applied science and technology journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of Engineering Index, covering literature in various engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
Coverage: 1970-
Full Text: No
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: Biochemistry Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response; General Engineering & Project Administration; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering ; ASM International Handbooks Online). Access provided in part by a gift from the Victor E. Kohman, ’43 Memorial Fund.
Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Individual chapters are available to download as PDFs. However, Knovel recommends limiting downloads to 10% or 25 pages of content per title.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexis Uni includes: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources (primarily newspapers, magazines and journals) in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data - including company financial information, and SEC filings and reports - on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, federal and state agency regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Oxford Academic | Journals This link opens in a new window
Search 500+ titles covering a variety of topic areas. Full text access to subscribed and open access titles only.
Coverage: 1996-
Full Text: Yes
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Scitation This link opens in a new window
Search abstracts of 100+ journals from American Institute of Physics (AIP), American Physical Society (APS), American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE), and science and engineering societies. WPI subscribes to 70+ titles.
Coverage: 1957-
Full Text: Some
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Search and explore the millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Dove Medical Press imprints from over 1300 peer-reviewed journals.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Search journals published by Wiley-Blackwell. WPI subscribes to many titles in various topic areas such as chemistry, medical & life sciences, materials science and engineering.
Coverage: 1996-
Full Text: Yes

Check out BrowZine via the Gordon Library to browse accessible and relevant journals. The library recommends keyword searching Architecture, and then narrowing your search (i.e., arch. history, teaching; landscape, Urban, etc.).

ACI Structural Journal

Available in Gordon Library Print Collection: Periodicals: 1996 to 2010. Available online in ProQuest: Full text coverage: Jan/Feb 2005 (Vol. 102, no. 1) - present
Architect (Washington, D.C.)

2006 to present in Freely Accessible Arts & Humanities Journals
Architects Journal (London)

12/18/1997 to 12/31/2015 in Nexis Uni.
Architectural Engineering and Design Management

2005 - present in Taylor & Francis Online.
Architectural Record

01/01/1992 to present in Nexis Uni.
ASHRAE Journal

01/01/1997 to present in Materials Science & Engineering Database
Automation in construction

01/01/1995 to present in ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
Building and Environment

01/01/1995 to present in ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
Building Design

08/13/1999 to 01/01/2016 in Gale. 12/17/1997 to 03/08/2013 in ProQuest.
Building design and construction

01/01/1989 to 03/01/2010 in Gale.
Building research and information

1997 to present in Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Cement & Concrete composites

01/01/1995 to present in ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
Computer-aided civil and infrastructure engineering

1998 to present in Wiley Online Library
Construction and building materials

01/01/1995 to present in ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
Energy and Buildings

01/01/1995 to present in ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
Engineering, Construction and Architectural Management

1994 - present in Emerald Insight
Environmental Design and Construction

09/01/2001 to present in ABI/INFORM Complete
Indoor Air

1997 to present in Wiley Online Library
Journal of architectural engineering

03/01/1995 to present in ASCE Library
Journal of construction engineering and management

02/01/1997 to present in ASCE Library

To find books at Gordon Library, type your keywords into WPI Library Search, click on Resource Type on the left, and then select the Books filter:

Screenshot of WPI Library Search with arrows pointing to "Resource Type" and "Books."

Building by Bill Addis; ert
ISBN: 0714841463
Publication Date: 2007-03-19
From Egypt and Classical Greece and Rome through the building booms of the Gothic era and the Renaissance, and from the Industrial Revolution to the present era of digital modeling, Building: 3,000 Years of Design, Engineering, and Construction, charts centuries of innovations in engineering and building construction. This comprehensive and heavily illustrated volume, aimed at students and young professionals as well as general readers, explores the materials, classic texts, instruments, and theories that have propelled modern engineering, and the famous and not-so-famous buildings designed through the ages, from the Parthenon to Chartres Cathedral and the dome of St. Peter's, from eighteenth-century silk mills in England to the Crystal Palace, and on to the first Chicago high-rises, the Sydney Opera House, and the latest "green" skyscrapers. The book concentrates on developments since the industrial and scientific revolutions of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Incorporated within the continuous narrative are sidebars with short biographies of eminent engineers, excerpts from classic texts, stories of individual projects of major importance, and brief histories of key concepts such as calculus. Also included are extensive reference materials: appendices, a glossary, bibliography, and index.
Building Systems Integration for Enhanced Environmental Performance by Shahin Vassigh; Jason R. Chandler
ISBN: 1604270152
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
As the environmental impact of buildings become increasingly recognized, the role of building designers and the initial decision making process that determines materials, systems, and construction processes becomes more critical. This timely book addresses sustainability in building design through a series of examples presented as three dimensional models of well integrated building systems. The book organizes buildings into three sections - structure, envelope, and mechanical systems - based on the integration of paired building systems. The book demonstrates the performance of each systems pair in terms of interaction and contribution of each individual system and the synergetic benefits resulting from the unique pairing. The last section of the book is devoted to buildings that have a higher degree of integration and cannot be studied as paired systems. Each building is illustrated with full graphical display, text and analytical drawing to demonstrate its performance in a particular environment.
Designing Tall Buildings by Mark Sarkisian
ISBN: 0415894808
Publication Date: 2011-09-19
The first of its kind, Designing Tall Buildings is an accessible reference that guidesnbsp;you through the fundamental principles of designing high-rises. Each chapter focuses on one theme central to tall-building design, giving you a comprehensive overview of the related architecture and structural engineering concepts. Mark P. Sarkisian provides clear definitions of technical terms and introduces important equations,nbsp;to help you gradually develop your knowledge. Later chapters allow you to explore more complex applications, such as biomimicry.nbsp;Projects drawn from Skidmore, Owingsnbsp;and Merrill's vast catalog of built high-rises, many of which Sarkisian designed,nbsp;demonstrate these concepts. This book advises you to consider the influence of a particular site's geology, wind conditions, and seismicity. Using this contextual knowledge and analysis, you can determine what types of structural solutions are best suited for a tower on that site. You can then conceptualize and devise efficient structural systems that are not only safe, but also constructible and economical. Sarkisian also addresses the influence of nature in design, urging you to integratenbsp;structure and architecture for buildings of superior performance, sustainability, and aesthetic excellence.
Integrated Buildings by Leonard R. Bachman
ISBN: 0471388270
Publication Date: 2002-12-23
An "anatomical" study of building systems integration with guidelines for practical applications Through a systems approach to buildings, Integrated Buildings: The Systems Basis of Architecture details the practice of integration to bridge the gap between the design intentions and technical demands of building projects. Analytic methods are introduced that illustrate the value, benefit, and application of systems integration, as well as guidelines for selecting technical systems in the conceptual, schematic, and design development stages of projects. Landmark structures such as Eero Saarinen's John Deere Headquarters, Renzo Piano's Kansai International Airport, Glenn Murcutt's Magney House, and Richard Rogers's Lloyd's of London headquarters are presented as part of an extensive collection of case studies organized into seven categories: Laboratories Offices Pavilions Green Architecture High Tech Architecture Airport Terminals Residential Architecture Advanced material is provided on methods of integration, including an overview of integration topics, the systems basis of architecture, and the integration potential of various building systems. An expanded case study of Ibsen Nelsen's design for the Pacific Museum of Flight is used to demonstrate case study methods for tracing integration through any work of architecture. Visually enhanced with more than 300 illustrations, diagrams, and photographs, Integrated Buildings: The Systems Basis of Architecture is a valuable reference guide for architecture and civil engineering students, as well as architects, engineers, and other professionals in the construction industry.
Composite Structures for Civil and Architectural Engineering by D. H. Kim
ISBN: 0419191704
Publication Date: 1994-12-06
A thorough and understandable guide to the properties and design of structural composites. It derives from the author's many years of experience of research, industrial development and teaching.
Timber Construction Manual by American Institute of Timber Construction Staff
ISBN: 0471309702
Publication Date: 1994-04-20
The definitive design and construction industry source for building with wood-both sawn lumber and structural glued laminated timber. This edition contains the latest design procedures for timber construction. Information and recommendations are based on the most reliable technical data available and reflect commercial purposes found to be most practical. Revised to cover the 1991 National Design Specification for Wood from the National Forest Products Association, it includes annual supplements which will keep subscribers current with performance data, design criteria, sample specifications and other vital material between editions.
The Civil Engineering Handbook by W. F. Chen (Editor); J. Y. Richard Liew (Editor)
ISBN: 9780849309588
Publication Date: 2002-08-29
First published in 1995, the award-winning Civil Engineering Handbook soon became known as the field's definitive reference. To retain its standing as a complete, authoritative resource, the editors have incorporated into this edition the many changes in techniques, tools, and materials that over the last seven years have found their way into civil engineering research and practice. The Civil Engineering Handbook, Second Edition is more comprehensive than ever. You'll find new, updated, and expanded coverage in every section. In fact, more than 1/3 of the handbook is new or substantially revised. In particular you'll find increased focus on computing reflecting the rapid advances in computer technology that has revolutionized many aspects of civil engineering. You'll use it as a survey of the field, you'll use it to explore a particular subject, but most of all you'll use The Civil Engineering Handbook to answer the problems, questions, and conundrums you encounter in practice.
The Green Building Revolution by Jerry Yudelson; S. Richard Fedrizzi (Foreword by)
ISBN: 1597261793
Publication Date: 2007-10-30
The "green building revolution'' is happening right now. This book is its chronicle and its manifesto. Written by industry insider Jerry Yudelson, The Green Building Revolution introduces readers to the basics of green building and to the projects and people that are advancing this movement. With interviews and case studies, it does more than simply report on the revolution; it shows readers why and how to start thinking about designing, building, and operating high performance, environmentally aware (LEED-certified) buildings on conventional budgets. Evolving quietly for more than a decade, the green building movement has found its voice. Its principles of human-centered, environmentally sensitive development have reached a critical mass of architects, engineers, builders, developers, professionals in government, and consumers. Green buildings are showing us how we can have healthier indoor environments that use far less energy and water than conventional buildings do. The federal government, eighteen states, and nearly fifty U.S. cities already require new public buildings to meet "green" standards. According to Yudelson, this is just the beginning. The Green Building Revolution describes the many "revolutions" that are taking place today: in commercial buildings, schools, universities, public buildings, health care institutions, housing, property management, and neighborhood design. In a clear, highly readable style, Yudelson outlines the broader "journey to sustainability" influenced by the green building revolution and provides a solid business case for accelerating this trend. Illustrated with more than 50 photos, tables, and charts, and filled with timely information, The Green Building Revolution is the definitive description of a major movement that's poised to transform our world.
Marketing Green Buildings by Jerry Yudelson
ISBN: 0849393817
Publication Date: 2006-04-05
Engineers, architects and contractors seeking to expand their involvement in the green buildings market need a firm grounding in the marketing strategies and tactics which are being used most successfully in this specialized and growing field. This book is intended to serve as an effective tool for professional green building enthusiasts and advocates in presenting green design features, sustainable strategies and new products to the potential green building client. The author addresses key questions such as: How is green building marketing different from other types of professional service marketing? What tools and techniques from conventional marketing can be used to greater effect in marketing green buildings? What is the size and potential of the green buildings market? And how should a firm position itself to succeed in this growing marketplace? You'll find clear descriptions of successful strategies and approaches to marketing and selling green building-related services, as well as up-to-date information on the role of LEED¿ in green building projects.
Architectural Engineering Design: Mechanical Systems by Robert Brown Butler
ISBN: 0071385460
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
This authoritative calculations handbook provides all the equations any designer needs to know, together with fully elaborated problems and applications to all building types: * Each equation - 1100 in all - illustrated with both a small and large building example; whether you are designing a small retail store or a high-rise, this book works for you * A must to avoid major errors and omissions in your work that can lead to expensive change orders and even lawsuits * Portable - take the diskette with you for on-site use * Trademarked no-math menus and shortcut recipes allow any building element to be sized quickly and efficiently * Guidance on structural systems, materials, plumbing, electricity, illumination, and acoustics replaces a whole team of consultants * Includes environmental data relative to siting and climate * 300 illustrations and 100 tables summarize essential data in each book * Elegant, user-friendly design and text complement the author's Standard Handbook of Architectural Engineering, which discusses the topics covered in the book in a more general way

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials in any medium that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.

Climate Adaptation and Resilience Across Scales
Climate Adaptation and Resilience Across Scales provides professionals with guidance on adapting the built environment to a changing climate. This edited volume brings together practitioners and researchers to discuss climate-related resilience from the building to the city scale. This book highlights North American cases that deal with issues such as climate projections, public health, adaptive capacity of vulnerable populations, and design interventions for floodplains, making the content applicable to many locations around the world. The contributors in this book discuss topics ranging from how built environment professionals respond to a changing climate, to how the building stock may need to adapt to climate change, to how resilience is currently being addressed in the design, construction, and operations communities.
Aesthetics of Gentrification
Gentrification is reshaping cities worldwide, resulting in seductive spaces and exclusive communities that aspire to innovation, creativity, sustainability, and technological sophistication. Gentrification is also contributing to growing social-spatial division and urban inequality and precarity. In a time of escalating housing crisis, unaffordable cities, and racial tension, scholars speak of eco-gentrification, techno-gentrification, super-gentrification, and planetary-gentrification to describe the different forms and scales of involuntary displacement occurring in vulnerable communities in response to current patterns of development and the hype-driven discourses of the creative city, smart city, millennial city, and sustainable city. In this context, how do contemporary creative practices in art, architecture, and related fields help to produce or resist gentrification? What does gentrification look and feel like in specific sites and communities around the globe, and how is that appearance or feeling implicated in promoting stylized renewal to a privileged public? In what ways do the aesthetics of gentrification express contested conditions of migration and mobility? Addressing these questions, this book examines the relationship between aesthetics and gentrification in contemporary cities from multiple, comparative, global, and transnational perspectives.
Architecture in the Anthropocene
Research regarding the significance and consequence of anthropogenic transformations of the earth’s land, oceans, biosphere and climate have demonstrated that, from a wide variety of perspectives, it is very likely that humans have initiated a new geological epoch, their own. First labeled the Anthropocene by the chemist Paul Crutzen, the consideration of the merits of the Anthropocene thesis by the International Commission on Stratigraphy and the International Union of Geological Sciences has also garnered the attention of philosophers, historians, and legal scholars, as well as an increasing number of researchers from a range of scientific backgrounds. Architecture in the Anthropocene: Encounters Among Design, Deep Time, Science and Philosophy intensifies the potential of this multidisciplinary discourse by bringing together essays, conversations, and design proposals that respond to the “geological imperative” for contemporary architecture scholarship and practice.
China's Architecture in a Globalizing World: Between Socialism and the Market
China is currently in the midst of an unprecedented building boom and, indeed, interest in Chinese contemporary architecture has been fuelled by this huge expansion. Through a cutting-edge theoretical discussion of Chinese architecture in relation to Chinese modernity, this book examines this phenomenon in detail. In particular, it highlights how changes in the social-political system, the residual influence of Mao and the demands of the market have each shaped and determined style and form in recent years. Using key case studies of Liu Jiakun, Cui Kai, and URBANUS, it analyses the intricate details of historical pressures and practical strategies affecting Chinese architecture. In doing so, it demonstrates that Chinese architects contribute in specific ways to the international architectural discourse, since they are actively engaging with the complex societal transition of contemporary China and managing the dynamics and conflicts arising during the process. China's Architecture in a Globalizing World: Between Socialism and the Market offers a lens into the innovation and uniqueness of architectural design in China. As such, this book will be useful for students and scholars of architecture, Chinese culture and society and urban studies.
Cities, Space and Power
The scholarly purpose of this manuscript is to provide a resource for academics and researchers looking into cities, space and power in emerging economies. It also takes into consideration the relationship between emerging economies and developing contexts, as well as the lessons that may be shared between them. This book presents a unique perspective and aims to highlight issues not addressed much in writing on the built environment. Based on substantiation and references to numerous other sources and authors, alternative theoretical frameworks for the study of the built environment are developed. This is a very relevant contribution at this time, especially as cities will most probably go through transformations in the post-COVID-19 era. Our first line of defense against this public health crisis will be in areas of poverty, with people who have generally been excluded and urban practices that have been undocumented or labelled as informal. The main thesis of the manuscript is that space and power are strongly linked in cities. The research results prevalent in the book are original, and while the authors consult widely across disciplines, the themes are firmly rooted in the built environment fields – with a focus on the architectural discipline.
Drawing and Experiencing Architecture
How were the concepts of the observer and user in architecture and urban planning transformed throughout the 20th and 21st centuries? Marianna Charitonidou explores how the mutations of the means of representation in architecture and urban planning relate to the significance of city's inhabitants. She investigates Le Corbusier and Ludwig Mies van der Rohe's fascination with perspective, Team Ten's interest in the humanisation of architecture and urbanism, Constantinos Doxiadis and Adriano Olivetti's role in reshaping the relationship between politics and urban planning during the postwar years, Giancarlo De Carlo's architecture of participation, Aldo Rossi's design methods, Denise Scott Brown's active socioplactics and Bernard Tschumi's conception praxis.
Cities Made of Boundaries
Cities Made of Boundaries presents the theoretical foundation and concepts for a new social scientific urban morphological mapping method, Boundary Line Type (BLT) Mapping. Its vantage is a plea to establish a frame of reference for radically comparative urban studies positioned between geography and archaeology. Based in multidisciplinary social and spatial theory, a critical realist understanding of the boundaries that compose built space is operationalised by a mapping practice utilising Geographical Information Systems (GIS). Benjamin N. Vis gives a precise account of how BLT Mapping can be applied to detailed historical, reconstructed, contemporary, and archaeological urban plans, exemplified by sixteenth- to twenty-first century Winchester (UK) and Classic Maya Chunchucmil (Mexico).