Guides: HI 3312: Topics in American Social History: Finding Articles

Need Help? Ask Us!

This service is staffed by WPI librarians and staff. If the chat is not available, please feel free to email us at library@wpi.edu or you can make an appointment with a librarian at http://wpi.libcal.com/appointments/

Suggested Research Databases

Search the following for scholarly articles:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.
Coverage: 1920s-
Full Text: Yes
Historical Abstracts combined search with America History & Life This link opens in a new window
Historical abstracts of North American and global history research journals, covering 1450 to the present.
Historical Abstracts:
Coverage: 1886-
Full Text: No
America History & Life:
Coverage: 1954-
Full Text: No
Titles Indexed
href=https://serials.abc-clio.com/active/resource/page/lop/complop_A.html>Titles Indexed

About Scholarly Journals

Journal articles are written by scholars in an academic or professional field. An editorial board reviews articles to decide whether they should be published. Journal articles may cover very specific topics or narrow fields of research.

Use a journal:

when doing scholarly research
to find out what has been studied on your topic
to find bibliographies that point to other relevant research

Filter & Follow Up

Scan results: Use subject headings, keywords, and phrases from your search results to refine your keyword searches.
Scrutinize article titles, number of pages, and journal title.
Browse promising abstract and conclusion sections of long studies.
Bibliographies can clue you in on the value of the article as well.
Find an interesting author? Search for more articles by that author.
Notice an agency, association or expert mentioned in an article? Follow up.