Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HU 3900: Inquiry Seminar - History of Technology: Finding Articles

Professor Constance Clark

Summon

Summon logo

Search Summon for books, articles & more

Search Summon

Research Challenge: Use SUMMON to find ONE scholarly article related to your topic. 

Databases by Subject

Suggested Databases

Research Challenge: Use one of the four databases below to find ONE scholarly article related to your topic. 

  • What did you think about the database you tried? 
  • Was the content high quality? 
  • Did the search features help you find what you needed? 
  • What search terms worked?  What didn't? 
  • Would you recommend this to a classmate who needs to find scholarly research?

Filter & Follow Up

  • Scan results: Use subject headings, keywords, and phrases from your search results to refine your keyword searches.
  • Scrutinize article titles, number of pages, and journal title.
  • Browse promising abstract and conclusion sections of long studies.
  • Bibliographies can clue you in on the value of the article as well.
  • Find an interesting author? Search for more articles by that author.
  • Notice an agency, association or expert mentioned in an article? Follow up.

Only Finding a Citation? Get the Full Text

Within most databases, click on the FullTextFinder link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.