Guides: EN 1222: Shakespeare in the Age of Elizabeth: Journal Articles

Databases

Recommended Databases:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.
Coverage: 1800s-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, essay collections and bibliographies on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
Coverage: 1926-
Full Text: No
Titles Included
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world on various humanities topics.
Coverage: 1920s-
Full Text: Yes

Additional Databases:

Shakespeare Newsletter
Provides news, reviews of books and performances, abstracts, and brief critical articles on all aspects of Shakespeare, his works, and his world.
Shakespeare Quarterly - JSTOR 1950 - 2002
Topics for essays and notes cover criticism of the plays and poems, theater history, Shakespeare pedagogy, the history of Shakespeare as an institution, and studies in editing, text, canon, and bibliography.
Shakespeare Quarterly - Project MUSE 2001
Shakespeare Studies
An annual journal that publishes scholarly research, including essays, studies, and reviews, pertaining to the dramatic works of William Shakespeare. Coverage extends to the cultural history of early modern England and the place of Shakespeare and his contemporaries within that cultural and historical context.
Shakespeare Bulletin
Covers performance criticism and scholarship, provides commentary on Shakespeare and Renaissance drama through feature articles, theatre and film reviews, and book reviews. Serves as a record of production in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and throughout the world.

Scan results: Use subject headings, keywords, and phrases from your search results to refine your keyword searches.
Scrutinize article titles, number of pages, and journal title.
Browse promising abstract and conclusion sections of long studies.
Bibliographies can clue you in on the value of the article as well.
Find an interesting author? Search for more articles by that author.
Notice an agency, association or expert mentioned in an article? Follow up.