Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUS 590 - Strategy in Technology Based Organizations - Gonsalves

Project-Specific Search Tips

In the boxes below, I have fine tuned my recommendations to the ones that I feel are best for each specific project. That's not a guarantee that you will find everything you need, or that every source will return great results. Research is a process that takes multiple searches and takes time. If you aren't getting good results in one resource, move on to the next one.

In my instructions below, I mention using the terms AND and OR to connect keywords while searching, Look at the Advanced Search Tips box on the Getting Started page to see how to use those phrases effectively. If I list multiple synonyms, you don't necessarily have to use all of them. You can also come up with your own keywords and synonyms.

When you are searching within any of the library databases, make sure you use the filters in the left column of the search results page to quickly narrow down the number of results. Filtering by date is probably the most frequently used filter, but look at what the other filters can do for you. The Subject filter is a way to basically add additional keywords to your search.

Finally, if the journal article you want is not available full-text in that database (you don't see a link to HTML full-text or PDF full-text), we can still get that article full-text for you. First, find and click on the Full Text Finder icon. This will search all the library's databases and if the article is available full-text in another databases, it will come up for you. If not, you can order the article for free through Interlibrary Loan. That process will get you a full-text PDF version of the article in a few days. There is a link to the interlibrary loan form on the Journal Articles page of this guide.

Airplane Seats with Cell Phone/Tablet Holders

For this topic, I would recommend ABI/Inform and Business Source Elite as the best two databases for journal article. I would also recommend searching in some of the major newspapers, such as the NY Times, and Wall Street Journal.

When searching, try a combination of keywords. Airlines is the first keyword, Combine that (use AND to connect your keywords) with terms such as in-flight entertainment (IFE), entertainment, cell phones, or iPads. Another prominent keyword is seatback or seatbacks. You could combine that keyword with, displays, manufacturers or in-flight entertainment. I saw several articles about the future trend of replacing seatback displays with more complete iPad-like displays or passenger personal electronic devices.

Note the names of the companies in the field of IFE displays. You could search for company profiles in some of our statistical databases.

For statistical databases and industry surveys, I would recommend First Research, Hoover's, IBISworld and Statista. Airlines is the industry name I would use. For company profiles, use Hoover's and Statista.

Eco Friendly K-Cup

For this topic, I would recommend ABI/Inform and Business Source Elite as the best databases for journal articles. I would also recommend searching in some of the major newspapers, such as the NY Times, and Wall Street Journal.

When searching, try a combination of keywords and their synonyms (use OR between your keywords), such as:

  • k-cup OR single-serve pods OR one-cup pods
  • recyclable OR biodegradable OR compostable

I found that there already are several companies that offer recyclable or compostable single-use pods. When you come across those companies, you could search for a company profile in one of our statistical databases.  Hoover's and Statista are the best for company profiles. For industry profiles, I would recommend Statista as the best one. I wasn't having much luck finding results in the other statistical databases. I think it was a case of me not using the correct industry name. Find out what industry K-Cups would fall under, and maybe you'll find results in the other statistical databases.

Third Party Service Centers for Hybrid & Electric Vehicles

For this topic, I would recommend ABI/Inform and Business Source Elite as the best databases for journal articles. I would also recommend searching in some of the major newspapers, such as the NY Times, and Wall Street Journal.

When searching, try a combination of keywords and their synonyms (use OR between your keywords), such as:

  • auto OR automobile OR car OR vehicle
  • repair shop OR service center
  • repair OR maintenance OR service

One interesting term that I came across which represents an alternative approach to servicing electric vehicles is over-the-air software updates.

For industry profiles, I would recommend these statistical databases: First Research, Hoover's, IBISworld and Statista. You might look into different industries, Automobile Repair and whatever aspect of the automobile industry that covers hybrid and/or electric vehicles.

This is not an easy topic to research. It's a newer topic in the auto industry, so I feel there is probably less written about it at this point. Some of the industry profile may address the topic. You may need to expand your searching beyond these top sources that I've recommended. If so, look at some of the other sources in this guide. You could also search for trade organizations, such as ones for auto repair shops or auto mechanics, or the hybrid/electric vehicle industry. They might have some information for you.