It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HU 3900: Inquiry Seminar - History of Popular Science
A peer-reviewed journal is a respected academic publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication. Peer-reviewed journals are highly respected, and researchers wish to have their works published in them. Many often have low acceptance rates.
To find peer reviewed articles within Summon(the ALL tab on the library homepage), select the filters for "Peer-Review" and "Journal Article."
America History & Life combined search with Historical Abstracts (WPI access ends on 8/31/2020)
Due to budgetary constraints, access to America History & Life will end on 8/31/2020. Web of Science (Arts & Humanities Citation Index), Humanities International database, and JSTOR are recommended alternative options. Please contact our research librarians at email@example.com for further assistance.
Historical abstracts of North American and global history research journals, covering 1450 to the present.
America History & Life:
Full Text: No Titles Indexed
Full Text: No
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
The IEEE Annals of the History of Computing covers the breadth of computer history. This journal features scholarly articles by leading computer scientists and historians, as well as firsthand accounts by computer pioneers.
Perspectives on Science publishes science studies that integrate historical, philosophical, and sociological perspectives. Its interdisciplinary approach is intended to foster a more comprehensive understanding of the sciences and the contexts in which they develop.
Only Finding a Citation? Get the Full Text
Within most databases, click on the FullTextFinder link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.