Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HU 3900: Nationalisms in Asia

Examples: Books

General: 

Note (N):

 1. Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Place of  publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

Bibliography (B):

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

One Author:

N:

   1. William Faulkner, Absalom, Absalom! (New York: Vintage Books, 1990), 271.

B:

Faulkner, William. Absalom, Absalom!. New York: Vintage Books, 1990.

Multiple Authors:

N:

    2. Scott Lash and John Urry, Economies of Signs & Space (London: Sage Publications, 1994), 241-51.

B:

Lash, Scott, and John Urry. Economies of Signs & Space. London: Sage Publications, 1994.

Translated Work:

N:

   3. Julio Cortázar, Hopscotch, trans. Gregory Rabassa (New York: Pantheon Books, 1966), 165.

B:

Cortázar, Julio. Hopscotch. Translated by Gregory Rabassa. New York: Pantheon Books, 1966.

Author and Editor:

N:

   4. Edward B. Tylor, Researches into the Early Development of Mankind and the Development of Civilization, ed. Paul Bohannan (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1964), 194.

B:

Tylor, Edward B. Researches into the Early Development of Mankind and the Development of Civilization, Edited by Paul Bohannan. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1964.

Article, Chapter, Essay, Short Story, etc., in an Edited Collection:

N:

   5. Peter Chilson, "The Border," in The Best American Travel Writing 2008, ed. Anthony Bourdain (Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 2008), 46.

B:

Chilson, Peter. "The Border." In The Best American Travel Writing 2008, edited by Anthony Bourdain, 44-51. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 2008.

Introduction in a Book:

N:

   6. Steven Pinker, introduction to What is Your Dangerous Idea?, ed. John Brockman (New York: Harper Perennial, 2007), xxv.

B:

Pinker, Steven. Introduction to What is Your Dangerous Idea?, Edited by John Brockman. New York: Harper Perennial, 2007.

Anonymous Works-Unknown Authorship:

Sources that have no known author or editor should be cited by title. Follow the basic format for "Footnote or Endnote" and "Corresponding Bibliographical Entry" that are exemplified above omitting author and/or editor names and beginning respective entries with the title of the source.

Examples: Online

General:

Footnote/Endnote (N):

   1. Firstname Lastname, “Title of Web Page,” Publishing Organization or Name of Website in Italicspublication date and/or access date if available, URL.

Biliography (B):

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Web Page.” Publishing Organization or Name of Website in Italics. Publication date and/or access date if available. URL.

Electronic Books:

Electronic books are cited exactly as their print counterparts with the addition of a media marker at the end of the citation. Note: Stable page numbers are not always available in electronic formats; therefore, you may, instead, include the number of chapter, section, or other easily recognizable locator.

N:

  1. Grant Ian Thrall, Land Use and Urban Form (New York: Methuen, 1987), http://www.rri.wvu.edu/WebBook/Thrallbook/Land%20Use%20and%20Urban%20Form.pdf.

B:

Thrall, Grant Ian. Land Use and Urban Form. New York: Methuen, 1987. http://www.rri.wvu.edu/WebBook/Thrallbook/Land%20Use%20and%20Urban%20Form.pdf.

Online Periodicals:

N:

  1. Kirsi Peltonen, Noora Ellonen, Helmer B. Larsen, and Karin Helweg-Larsen, “Parental Violence and Adolescent Mental Health,” European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry 19, no. 11 (2010): 813-822, doi: 10.1007/s00787-010-0130-8.

B:

Peltonen, Kirsi, Noora Ellonen, Helmer B. Larsen, and Karin Helweg-Larsen. “Parental Violence and Adolescent Mental Health.” European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry 19, no. 11 (2010): 813-822. doi: 10.1007/s00787-010-0130-8.

Web Page known Author and Date:

N:

  7. Mister Jalopy, “Effulgence of the North: Storefront Arctic Panorama in Los Angeles,” Dinosaurs and Robots, last modified January 30, 2009, http://www.dinosaursandrobots.com/2009/01/effulgence-of-north-storefront-arctic.html.

B:

Mister Jalopy. “Effulgence of the North: Storefront Arctic Panorama in Los Angeles.” Dinosaurs and Robots. Last modified January 30, 2009. http://www.dinosaursandrobots.com/2009/01/effulgence-of-north-storefront-arctic.html.

Web Page known Date unknown Author:

N:

  8. “Illinois Governor Wants to 'Fumigate' State's Government,” CNN.com, last modified January 30, 2009, http://edition.cnn.com/2009/POLITICS/01/30/illinois.governor.quinn/.

B:

"Illinois Governor Wants to 'Fumigate' State's Government.” CNN.com. Last modified  January 30, 2009. http://edition.cnn.com/2009/POLITICS/01/30/illinois.governor.quinn/.

Web Page unknown Date and Author:

N:

  9. “Band,” Casa de Calexioaccessed January 30, 2009, http://www.casadecalexico.com/band.

B:

“Band.” Casa de Calexio. Accessed January 30, 2009. http://www.casadecalexico.com/band.

Online Multimedia:

N:

  1. Firstname Lastname of Performer, Writer or Creator, Title of Textindication of format/medium, running time, publication date, URL.

B:

Lastname, Firstname of Performer, Writer or Creator. Title of Text. Indication of Medium, Running Time. Publication Date. URL.

 

Examples: Other

Print Journals:

Notes and bibliographic entries for a journal include the following: author’s name, article title, journal title and issue information. Issue information refers to volume, issue number, month, year, and page numbers. For online works, retrieval information and the date of access are also included.

Author’s Name:
Notes include the author’s name as listed in the article. Bibliographic entries, however, invert the author’s name.

Article Title:
Both notes and bibliographies use quotation marks to set off the titles of articles within the journal.

Journal Title:
Journal titles may omit an initial “The” but should otherwise be given in full, capitalized (headline-style), and italicized.

Issue Information:
The volume number follows the journal title with no punctuation and is not italicized. The issue number (if it is given) is separated from the volume number with a comma and is preceded by “no.” The year appears in parenthesis after the volume number (or issue number if given). The year may be preceded by a specific date, month, or season if given. Page information follows the year. For notes, page number(s) refer only to the cited material; the bibliography includes the first and last pages of the article.

N:

      1. Susan Peck MacDonald, “The Erasure of Language,” College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 619.

B:

MacDonald, Susan Peck. “The Erasure of Language.” College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 585-625.

DVDs, Film, and Television:

General Model:

N:

   1. Firstname Lastname, Title of WorkFormat, directed/performed by Firstname Lastname (Original release year; City: Studio/Distributor, Video release year.), Medium.

B:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Work. Format. Directed/Performed by Firstname Lastname.      Original Release Year. City: Studio/Distributor, Video release year. Medium.

        DVDs:

                    N:

                 1. Joe Versus the Volcano, directed by John Patrick Shanley (1990; Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video,           2002), DVD.

                    B:

       Joe Versus the Volcano. Directed by John Patrick Shanley. 1990. Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2002.

                DVD.

Film and Television:

N:

   1. Group, Composer or Performer, Title, Medium, Recording Company or Publisher, Catalog Number, Year of Release.

B:

Group, Composer or Performer. Title. Medium. Recording Company

OR

Publisher, Catalog Number. Year of Release.

Lectures and Presentations:

N:

   1. Paul Hanstedt, “This is Your Brain on Writing: The Implications of James Zull’s The Art of Changing the Brain for the Writing Classroom(presentation, Annual Convention of the Conference on College Composition and Communication, San Francisco, CA, March 11-14, 2009).

B:

Hanstedt, Paul. “This is Your Brain on Writing: The Implications of James Zull’s The Art of

      Changing the Brain for the Writing Classroom.Presentation at the Annual Convention of the

        Conference on College Composition and Communication, San Francisco, CA, March 11-14,

        2009.