Databases by Subject: Fire Protection Engineering

Electronic version of Engineering Index, covering literature in various engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.

Abstracts from the Compendex database, which includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.

Database of publications held in the former Fire Research Information Service at NIST's Building & Fire Research Laboratory (BFRL).

Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.

Electronic version of the National Fire Code from the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). No Username or Password required. Access is determined by your WPI IP Address.

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.

Search articles on physical science, life science, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, economics, marketing, and more.  Many are available in full text format.   This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Full text and search access to American Chemical Society journals. You must either be on campus or using the VPN if off campus to connect with this content. You can also use the "Find my institution" link on the American Chemical Society site. (Spell out Worcester).

A vast collection of industry-leading standards from ASTM and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines. More than 13,000 active ASTM technical Standards, plus historical versions dating back ~23 years, plus redlined version comparisons between any 2 versions.  Includes Manuals, Monographs, STPs, Data Series and 9 Journals, all dating back ~50 years, dealing with the development and application of standards.
****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.

Electronic version of Engineering Index, covering literature in various engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.

Abstracts from the Compendex database, which includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.

Database of publications held in the former Fire Research Information Service at NIST's Building & Fire Research Laboratory (BFRL).

Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.

From Stanford University, includes online versions of 920+ journals in biological, physical, medical, and social sciences.  Many are freely accessible to all.

Documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.

ICC's Digital Codes Library is the largest provider of model codes and standards used worldwide to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Free access to 800+ ICC resources and the largest collection of code titles.

Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: Biochemistry Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response; General Engineering & Project Administration; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering ; ASM International Materials Collection Online). 

Electronic version of the National Fire Code from the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). No Username or Password required. Access is determined by your WPI IP Address.

Search 500+ titles covering a variety of topic areas. Full text access to subscribed and open access titles only.

With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are available and cross-searchable.

Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.

Search journals published by Wiley-Blackwell. WPI subscribes to many titles in various topic areas such as chemistry, medical & life sciences, materials science and engineering.