Databases by Subject: Fire Protection Engineering

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.

Interface to Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index, plus ability to perform cross database searches (outside of ISI products) and login to your Web of Science account for cited reference alerts and customization.

Abstracts from the Compendex database, and also includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.

Electronic version of the National Fire Code from the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). No Username or Password required. Access is determined by your WPI IP Address.

Database of publications held in the former Fire Research Information Service at NIST's Building & Fire Research Laboratory (BFRL).

Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.

Search full-text articles on physical science, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.

Full text and search access to American Chemical Society journals.

A vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines.

Abstracts from the Compendex database, and also includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.

Database of publications held in the former Fire Research Information Service at NIST's Building & Fire Research Laboratory (BFRL).

Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.

From Stanford University, includes online versions of 920+ journals in biological, physical, medical, and social sciences.

Documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.

ICC's Digital Codes Library is the largest provider of model codes and standards used worldwide to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Free access to 800+ ICC resources and the largest collection of code titles.

Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: General Engineering & Project Administration section; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering section; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering section; ASM International Handbooks Online). Access provided by a gift from the Victor E. Kohman, ’43 Memorial Fund.

Electronic version of the National Fire Code from the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). No Username or Password required. Access is determined by your WPI IP Address.

This publications database includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). The database, however, is not complete. Additional publications are added on a continual basis.
Can be explored by topic, including over 3600 publications related to fire, and over 3700 related to building research. Other topics include Metrology, Information technology, Manufacturing, Biomaterials, Analytical chemistry, Chemistry, Polymers, Electromagnetics, Physics, Ceramics, Materials, Cybersecurity, and Bioscience.

Search 400+ titles covering a variety of topic areas.

Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.

Interface to Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index, plus ability to perform cross database searches (outside of ISI products) and login to your Web of Science account for cited reference alerts and customization.

Search journals published by Wiley-Blackwell. WPI subscribes to many titles in various topic areas such as chemistry, medical & life sciences, materials science and engineering.