Scrolling through news stories today, it's easy to become overwhelmed by reports about how particular foods are either wonderful or terrible. This guide is designed to help you find reliable nutrition information, without becoming lost in sensationalized news stories or "click-bait" articles. Use the tabs on the left to find recommended sources for nutrition and health information.
Use caution when reading newspaper articles and other popular news sources about scientific studies. These reports may be sensationalized or may leave out important information about a study. When you learn about a new study in a popular news source, look up the original study to see if the news source you read was accurate. Also, consider the research methodology used in a study, and consider who funded the study.
"Nutrition" by The Noun Project is licensed under CC BY 2.0.
Video Databases:
Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more. Academic Video Online: Premium covers all disciplines and subject areas, with specific strengths in: Anthropology; Counseling & Therapy; Art, Fashion & Design; Business & Economics; Diversity Studies; Documentary Film; Feature Film; Education; History; Music & Dance; News & Current Events; Theatre & Drama. It also provides content in nursing; allied health; criminal justice; engineering; and science.
Databases that offer a variety of file types, including video:
Health and Wellness Resource Center provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to reference titles. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are available and cross-searchable.
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Provide background reference content along with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, and audio files. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.