AB 2542: Culture of Arabic Speaking Countries - Professor Mohamed Brahimi

Need Help? Ask Us!

If the chat is not available, please feel free to email us at library@wpi.edu or you can make an appointment with a librarian at http://wpi.libcal.com/appointments/ 

Peer Reviewed

Peer-Review Definition

Peer-review: "A process by which a scholarly work (such as a paper or a research proposal) is checked by a group of experts in the same field to make sure it meets the necessary standards before it is published or accepted."

  - Merriam Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/peer%20review 

What are "peer-reviewed" journals?

A peer-reviewed journal is a special type of publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication. Many journals have low acceptance rates. 

To find peer reviewed articles, type your keywords into WPI Library Search, and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter on the left.

Recommended Databases

Database Activity:

Divide into groups. In your group, explore one of the databases below. Go to the Advanced Search page. Try searching for a variety of keywords related to your research topic. Try out some of the search filters. What kinds of sources can you find in this database? What do you like about the database? What do you dislike? At the end of this activity, be prepared to give a brief demonstration of the database to the class. 

Only Finding a Citation? Get the Full Text

Within most databases, click on the FullTextFinder () link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.

  • Does WPI Library subscribe to the journal? Search our eJournals collection to find out.

  • Is the article not available through the library's subscriptions? Request delivery from another library: ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Filter & Follow Up

  • Scan results: Use subject headings, keywords, and phrases from your search results to refine your keyword searches.
  • Scrutinize article titles, number of pages, and journal title.
  • Browse promising abstract and conclusion sections of long studies.
  • Bibliographies can clue you in on the value of the article as well.
  • Find an interesting author? Search for more articles by that author.
  • Notice an agency, association or expert mentioned in an article? Follow up.