Skip to Main Content

WR 1010: Elements of Writing - Dr. Esther Boucher-Yip: Finding Journal Articles

Peer Reviewed or Refeered

What are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" journals?

A peer-reviewed journal is a respected publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication. Many peer-reviewed journals have low acceptance rates. 

Peer-reviewed articles are typically substantial in length (often 10 pages or more) and typically have many citations. 

To find peer reviewed articles in WPI Library Search, enter your keywords and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter on the left.

screenshot of the Peer-reviewed Journals filter in the WPI Library Search

Gordon Library Databases

The WPI Gordon Library Databases help you discover a variety of electronic resources to support your research.

  • All Databases A-Z: A complete list of the library's databases.
  • Databases by Subject: Find databases for engineering, natural sciences, humanities, and more.
  • Databases by Type: Find databases for specific types of sources, such as newspapers, patents, standards, statistics, and other categories.
  • Database Trials: Check out the databases that we are testing out.               

Not sure where to start? Have a question for a librarian? Request a consultation or email us.