Guides: Innovation, Entrepreneurship and Intellectual Property: Research Resources

Research Resources

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Coverage: 1986-
Full text: Yes
Business Source Elite (WPI subscription & access ends 7-1-2024) This link opens in a new window
This premium business database from EBSCO provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
Coverage: 1922-
Full Text: Yes
Journals and Other Sources Included
EDGAR -- Search & Access This link opens in a new window
Financial reports and filings submitted by US publicly traded companies to the US Securities and Exchange Commission. Includes press releases, quarterly (10-Q) and annual (10-K) reports, insider trading reports, and more. 10-K reports give very detailed information about a company's products, businesses, operations, competitors, and markets.
Coverage: 1994-
Full Text: Yes
Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more. A subset of Business Market Research Collection.
Coverage: 1986-
Full text: Yes
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides industry research that covers more than 700 industries as well as specialized industry reports on emerging industries. Reports include the industry at a glance, performance, outlook, life cycle, competitive landscape and more.
IBISWorld provides industry research that covers more than 700 industries as well as specialized industry reports on emerging industries. Reports include the industry at a glance, performance, outlook, life cycle, competitive landscape and more.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexis Uni includes: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources (primarily newspapers, magazines and journals) in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data - including company financial information, and SEC filings and reports - on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, federal and state agency regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
statista This link opens in a new window
Access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
ThomasNet This link opens in a new window
Product search and contact information for thousands of U.S. manufacturers.
Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes

Check out BrowZine via the Gordon Library to browse accessible and relevant journals. The library recommends keyword searching Business and Economics > Entre. & Innovation.

Selected Journals

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials in any medium that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.

Entrepreneurship and Innovation Toolkit
This book provides an overview of the world of entrepreneurship. Topics covered include: an introduction to entrepreneurship, opportunity recognition and design thinking, evaluation entrepreneurial opportunities, business models, business planning, financing entrepreneurship, business set-up, start-up, and growth, strategic entrepreneurship
innovation and entrepreneurship, the entrepreneurial environment.
Media Innovation and Entrepreneurship
This is a modular open textbook designed for entrepreneurial journalism, media innovation, and related courses.
Leading Innovation
Innovation today considers the economic, environmental, and/or social sustainability of an innovative initiative from its inception or idea generation through to its commercialization or implementation. This concept applies to many types of innovation such as products, processes, services, technologies, and business models. Companies use innovation as a means to gain a competitive advantage and bring value to business stakeholders. This book introduces business innovation, from incremental innovation such as enhancing the performance of an existing product, service, or process, to radical or disruptive innovation such as one that has a significant impact on a market. The content examines how leaders foster a culture of innovation, how companies turn creativity into innovation, and how innovation transforms not only organizations but economies as well.
Introduction to Entrepreneurship
This first-year course introduces students to entrepreneurship as an approach to life and to creating their own careers. Through foundational concepts and frameworks, it examines entrepreneurship as a process, including forming an entrepreneurial identity, opportunity creation and evaluation, mobilizing resources, and growth. The course is designed around the major stages in this process, and an overview of factors that are key to entrepreneurial success is provided.
Sustainability, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
This book is suited for the Entrepreneurship or Innovation course with an emphasis on Sustainability or for a course devoted entirely to Sustainability.What are the trends and forces underlying the changing character of the business-environment relationship? How they are creating significant entrepreneurial opportunities for individuals and companies? Around the world, the movement toward ”sustainable development“ has caused many firms to adopt policies and practices that reflect what is sometimes called a ”sustainable business“ or ”triple bottom line“ approach. ”Triple bottom line“ refers to the demonstration of strong performance across economic, social, and environmental indicators.Those measures serve as indicators of fiduciary responsibility to a growing set of concerned investors and therefore can help ensure access to capital. They also enable innovators to lower costs, create strategic differentiation, reduce risk and position themselves for competitive advantage over rivals less attuned to trends.The deep roots of sustainability thinking are now evident in widespread and increasingly visible activities worldwide, and Sustainability, Innovation and Entrepreneurship explores this evolution; its necessity, its implications and its progression.
Institutional Reform For innovation and Entrepreneurship
Subjects: entrepreneurship; innovation; Horizon 2020; capital gains; taxation; income; rights; R&D policy; technology; commercialization; financing; investment
Innovative Models to Revive the Global Economy
"This conference provides an opportunity for all those interested in Economics and Social Sciences to discuss and exchange research ideas. We welcome both empirical and theoretical work that is broadly consistent with the conference’ general theme. Especially, researchers, PhD students and practitioners are invited to submit papers on the topics related to new models in entrepreneurship and innovation, sustainability and education, data science and digitalization, marketing and finance, Fintech & Insurtech etc. that will develop innovative instruments for countries, businesses and education. The innovative models for sustainable development aim to ensure simultaneous economic development, social development, and environmental protection, to achieve a higher quality of life for all people and protect all living beings and the planet."
Contextualizing Entrepreneurship Theory
As the breadth and empirical diversity of entrepreneurship research have increased rapidly during the last decade, the quest to find a "one-size-fits-all" general theory of entrepreneurship has given way to a growing appreciation for the importance of contexts. This promises to improve both the practical relevance and the theoretical rigor of research in this field. Entrepreneurship means different things to different people at different times and in different places and both its causes and its consequences likewise vary. For example, for some people entrepreneurship can be a glorious path to emancipation, while for others it can represent the yoke tethering them to the burdens of overwork and drudgery. For some communities it can drive renaissance and vibrancy while for others it allows only bare survival. In this book, we assess and attempt to push forward contemporary conceptualizations of contexts that matter for entrepreneurship, pointing in particular to opportunities generating new insights by attending to contexts in novel or underexplored ways
Digital Entrepreneurship
This open access book explores the global challenges and experiences related to digital entrepreneurial activities, using carefully selected examples from leading companies and economies that shape world business today and tomorrow. Digital entrepreneurship and the companies steering it have an enormous global impact; they promise to transform the business world and change the way we communicate with each other. These companies use digitalization and artificial intelligence to enhance the quality of decisions and augment their business and customer operations. This book demonstrates how cloud services are continuing to evolve; how cryptocurrencies are traded in the banking industry; how platforms are created to commercialize business, and how, taken together, these developments provide new opportunities in the digitalized era. Further, it discusses a wide range of digital factors changing the way businesses operate, including artificial intelligence, chatbots, voice search, augmented and virtual reality, as well as cyber threats and data privacy management.