WPI Library Search (the main search box on the library homepage) searches across most of the library's resources at once and can be used to find books, articles, and more. Enter your keywords to get started. Then use the tips below to refine your search results.
Search Tips for WPI Library Search:
Use these search terms to narrow or broaden your search:
|
Term |
Example |
Result |
|
AND |
media AND bias |
Narrows the search to entries containing both terms. |
|
OR |
cats OR kittens |
Broadens the search to entries containing either term. |
|
NOT |
bat NOT baseball |
Excludes entries containing the second term. |
|
“ ” |
“social work” |
Retrieves results containing the exact phrase in quotes. |
|
? |
globali?ation |
Wildcard: Retrieves both globalization and globalisation. |
|
* |
feminis* |
Truncation: Retrieves feminism, feminist, feminists, etc. |
What are "peer-reviewed" journals? A peer-reviewed journal is a respected academic publication. Before articles are published within these types of journals, they are sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers"), often anonymously, to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship, review research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication. Peer-reviewed journals are highly respected, and researchers wish to have their works published in them. Many often have low acceptance rates.
Print books and eBooks are vital sources of historical scholarship. To find books at the Gordon Library, type your keywords into the WPI Library Search box, and then use the Books/eBooks filter on the left to limit your search results to just books.
The following databases give students direct access to electronic versions of print and traditional resources.
200,000+ full text books on many topics: Business & Economics, Computers, Technology & Engineering, Humanities, Life & Physical Sciences, Social & Behavioral Sciences. For help using Ebook Central: https://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral
You must either be on campus or using the VPN if off campus to connect with this content.
>>In case of difficulty, try clearing your browser's cache.<<
Search and browse 12,000 full text eBooks.
Search Gale eBook reference content such as Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Major Acts of Congress, Encyclopedia of Bioethics and 20+ other titles. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Access to 3000+ ebook titles from MIT Press. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
Search and view fulltext of eBooks on a variety of engineering, science, and medical topics.
Collection of over 3000 Open Access e-books from De Gruyter Publishing.
