Guides: PSY 1404: Developmental Psychology: Research Resources

Research Resources

PsycINFO on PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of psychology provided by American Psychological Association (APA) PyscNET.
Coverage: 1887-
Full Text: No
Titles Included
PsycARTICLES on PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from American Psychological Association (APA) PyscNET and selected Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF) journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Coverage: 1966-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips | Tutorial
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Business Source Elite (WPI subscription & access ends 7-1-2024) This link opens in a new window
This premium business database from EBSCO provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
Coverage: 1922-
Full Text: Yes
Journals and Other Sources Included
CogPrints: Cognitive Sciences EPrint Archive This link opens in a new window
Archive of pre-published papers in cognitive psychology.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Search Tips
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search the Gale databases provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, including: Gale Academic OneFile,Gale Academic OneFile Select, and more. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Databases:
* Gale Academic OneFile
* Gale Academic OneFile Select
* Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
* Gale eBooks
* Gale General OneFile
* Gale Health and Wellness
* Gale in Context: Biography
* Gale in Context: Global Issues
* Gale in Context: Middle School
* Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
* Gale in Context: Science
* Gale in Context: U.S. History
* Gale in Context: World History
* Gale Literature Resource Center
* Gale OneFile: Agriculture
* Gale OneFile: Business
* Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media
* Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
* Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts
* Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
* Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
* Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
* Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
* Gale OneFile: Fine Arts
* Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture
* Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
* Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
* Gale OneFile: High School Edition
* Gale OneFile: Home Improvement
* Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism
* Gale OneFile: Information Science
* Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability
* Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management
* Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
* Gale OneFile: News
* Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
* Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
* Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies
* Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines
* Gale OneFile: Psychology
* Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy
* Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers
* Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
* Gale Presents: Peterson's Career Prep
* New York Times (1985 to present)

Coverage: 1980-
Full Text: Yes
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of scholarly science journals and eBooks published by Springer. ***Full text is available ONLY for WPI subscribed e-books and e-journals, not the full collection.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Individual chapters and subscribed books are available to download as PDFs.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Search journals published by Wiley-Blackwell. WPI subscribes to many titles in various topic areas such as chemistry, medical & life sciences, materials science and engineering.
Coverage: 1996-
Full Text: Yes

Check out BrowZine via the Gordon Library to browse accessible and relevant journals. The library recommends keyword searching Developmental Psychology and then navigating towards a chosen journal.

The following selections of highly ranked journals supported by the Gordon Library will introduce students to research related to developmental psychology.

Psychology by Elisa Peters (Editor); Hope Lourie Killcoyne (Editor); Amelie Von Zumbusch (Editor)
ISBN: 9781622755530
Publication Date: 2015-12-30
This volume is a comprehensive overview of the scientific discipline that studies psychological and biological processes and behavior in humans and other animals. It features chapters on the history of the field, the thought process, memory, theories of personality, and key figures--such as William James, Sigmund Freud, Jean Piaget, B. F. Skinner, and Daniel Kahneman--who helped shape the field. The difference between clinical psychology and the growing science of mind, brain, and social behavior is discussed, as are several subfields of psychology. A glossary offers a quick reference for definitions of key terms in the field. This comprehensive guide is the perfect introduction for students, in particular those studying the development of the field.
Psychology 2e by Rose M. Spielman; William J. Jenkins; Marilyn D. Lovett
ISBN: 9781951693237
Publication Date: 2020-04-22
Win from Within: Build Organizational Culture for Competitive Advantage by JAMES HESKETT Foreword by John Kotter
ISBN: 9780231554824
There is significant evidence that an effective organizational culture provides a major competitive edge-higher levels of employee and customer engagement and loyalty translate into higher growth and profits. Many business leaders know this, yet few are doing much to improve their organizations' cultures. They are discouraged by misguided beliefs that an executive's tenure and an organization's attention span are too short for meaningful transformation. James Heskett provides a roadmap for achievable and fast-paced culture change. He demonstrates that an effective culture supplies the trust that makes managing change of all kinds easier. It provides a foundation on which changes in strategy can be based, and it's a competitive edge that can't easily be hacked or copied. Examining leading companies around the world, Heskett details how organizational culture makes employees more loyal, more productive, and more creative. He discusses how to quantify its effects in order to sell the notion of culture change to the organization and considers how to preserve an organization's culture in the face of the trend toward remote work hastened by the COVID-19 pandemic. Showing how leadership can bring about significant changes in a surprisingly short time span, Win from Within offers a playbook for developing and deploying culture that enables outsized results. It is a groundbreaking demonstration of organizational culture's role as a foundation for strategic success-and its measurable impact on the bottom line.
On Task by David Badre
ISBN: 9780691240145
Publication Date: 2022-02-22
A look at the extraordinary ways the brain turns thoughts into actions--and how this shapes our everyday lives Why is it hard to text and drive at the same time? How do you resist eating that extra piece of cake? Why does staring at a tax form feel mentally exhausting? Why can your child expertly fix the computer and yet still forget to put on a coat? From making a cup of coffee to buying a house to changing the world around them, humans are uniquely able to execute necessary actions. How do we do it? Or in other words, how do our brains get things done? In On Task, cognitive neuroscientist David Badre presents the first authoritative introduction to the neuroscience of cognitive control--the remarkable ways that our brains devise sophisticated actions to achieve our goals. We barely notice this routine part of our lives. Yet, cognitive control, also known as executive function, is an astonishing phenomenon that has a profound impact on our well-being. Drawing on cutting-edge research, vivid clinical case studies, and examples from daily life, Badre sheds light on the evolution and inner workings of cognitive control. He examines issues from multitasking and willpower to habitual errors and bad decision making, as well as what happens as our brains develop in childhood and change as we age--and what happens when cognitive control breaks down. Ultimately, Badre shows that cognitive control affects just about everything we do. A revelatory look at how billions of neurons collectively translate abstract ideas into concrete plans, On Task offers an eye-opening investigation into the brain's critical role in human behavior.
Best Practices in School Neuropsychology by Daniel C. Miller (Editor); Denise E. Maricle (Editor); Christopher L. Bedford (Editor); Julie A. Gettman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119790532
Publication Date: 2022-04-26
The latest edition of the gold standard in school neuropsychology references In the newly revised Second Edition of Best Practices in School Neuropsychology: Guidelines for Effective Practice, Assessment, and Evidence-Based Intervention, a team of psychological experts delivers a thoroughly updated treatment of modern issues and challenges in school neuropsychology. The editors provide comprehensive discussions of current assessment and intervention models, best practices in assessing cognitive processes, and the important task of collaborating with parents, educators, and other professionals. This latest edition includes: Explorations of the unique challenges posed by working with culturally diverse student populations Clinical advice for learning specialists and neuropsychologists engaged with special populations and students with academic disabilities, processing deficits, or medical disorders New chapters on assessment and intervention with children suffering from trauma or substance abuse Perfect for psychologists, neuropsychologists, clinicians, and academics working in or studying school environments, Best Practices in School Neuropsychology is a must-read reference for practitioners working with children and students who seek a one-stop reference for evidence-informed assessment and intervention guidelines.
Neuroscience and Philosophy by Edited by Felipe De Brigard, Walter Sinnott-Armstrong
ISBN: 9780262367332
Philosophers and neuroscientists address central issues in both fields, including morality, action, mental illness, consciousness, perception, and memory. Philosophers and neuroscientists grapple with the same profound questions involving consciousness, perception, behavior, and moral judgment, but only recently have the two disciplines begun to work together. This volume offers fourteen original chapters that address these issues, each written by a team that includes at least one philosopher and one neuroscientist, who integrate disciplinary perspectives and reflect the latest research in both fields. Topics include morality, empathy, agency, the self, mental illness, neuroprediction, optogenetics, pain, vision, consciousness, memory, concepts, mind wandering, and the neural basis of psychological categories.
The Emotional Cerebellum by Editors: Michael Adamaszek, Mario Manto, Dennis J. L. G. Schutter
ISBN: 9783030995508
Emotions represent a critical aspect of daily life in humans. Our understanding of the mechanisms of regulation of emotions has increased exponentially these last two decades. This book evaluates the contribution of the cerebellum to emotion. It outlines the current clinical, imaging and neurophysiological findings on the role of the cerebellum in key aspects of emotional processing and its influence on motor and cognitive function and social behavior.

In the first section, the reader is introduced to the contributions of the cerebellum to various emotion domains, from emotion perception and recognition to transmission and encoding. Subsequent chapters provide a comprehensive picture of the neurophysiology and topography of emotion in the cerebellum and illustrate the convergence of theoretical and empirical research. Additional chapters address the cerebellum's involvement in emotional learning, emotional pain, emotional aspects of body language and perception, and its relations to social cognition including morality, music, and art. Finally, neuropsychiatric aspects of the cerebellum's influence on mood disorders and the current state of therapeutic options, including noninvasive stimulation approaches, complete the overview.
This is the first book summarizing the current state of knowledge on the contribution of the cerebellum to important aspects of emotion. It is an essential reference for students, trainees, neuroscientists, researchers, and clinicians in neuroscience, neurology, neurosurgery and psychology involved in the study of emotions. The authors are renowned scientists in the field of cerebellar research.
Intraoperative Mapping of Cognitive Networks by Emmanuel Mandonnet (Editor); Guillaume Herbet (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030750701
Publication Date: 2021-07-08
This book aims to give the state-of-the-art of intraoperative brain function mapping for resection of brain tumors in awake conditions, and to become a reference for acquiring the fundamental expertise necessary to select the right intraoperative task at the right time of the surgery. The chapters, all focused on a specific brain function, are divided in 4 parts: sensori-motor and visuo-spatial functions, language functions, higher-order functions, and prospects. Each chapter follows the same outline, including a brief review of the current knowledge about the networks sustaining the function in healthy subjects, the description of the intraoperative tasks designed to monitor the function, a review of the literature describing the deficits in that function after surgery, and a critical appraisal of the benefit provided by intraoperative mapping of that function.
The Working Mind: Meaning and Mental Attention in Human Development by Pascual-Leone, Juan ; Johnson, Janice M
ISBN: 9780262363082
A general organismic-causal theory that explicates working memory and executive function developmentally, clarifying the nature of human intelligence. In The Working Mind, Juan Pascual-Leone and Janice M. Johnson propose a general organismic-causal theory that explicates working memory and executive function developmentally and by doing so clarifies the nature of human intelligence. Pascual-Leone and Johnson explain “from within” (that is, from a subject's own processing perspective) cognitive developmental stages of growth, describing key causal factors that can account for the emergence of the working mind as a functional totality. Among these factors is a maturationally growing mental attention. After reviewing meaning-driven processes and constructivist knowledge principles that underlie what Pascual-Leone and Johnson term their Theory of Constructive Operators (TCO), they propose the TCO as as a developmental and neuropsychological approach to human cognitive and affective processes and their development. They present a novel method of mental task analysis that generates from-within process models of subjects' attempts to solve specific tasks. They provide an interpretation of brain semiotic processes that deploys TCO in functionally distinct brain locations. Finally, they show how TCO explicates complex human issues including consciousness, the self, the will, motivation, and individual differences, with applications in education, psychotherapy, and cognitive neuropsychology.