Source types make up the scope of the literature you are searching. Common source types include:
When conducting research for your IQP, it is important to consult a wide variety of resources, including peer-reviewed articles, books, newspapers, government reports, NGO reports, and association websites.
Use the tabs below to navigate search tips on the following types of sources:
Looking at past IQPs can help you find inspiration for your project. You can also use the Reference Lists in past IQPs to find helpful sources for your research. The library collects projects from 1999-present. Find them by searching in Digital WPI, or go to the Student Projects tab on the Library Homepage.
To find newspaper articles in WPI Library Search, type your keywords into the search box, click on Resource Type in the left column of the search results page, and then select the Newspaper Articles filter:
For more newspaper resources, check out the Newspapers Guide.
Search full text of The Boston Globe. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, with access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Coverage: 1980 - current. This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Search full text of the New York Times.
Nexis Uni provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexis Uni includes: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources (primarily newspapers, magazines and journals) in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data - including company financial information, and SEC filings and reports - on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, federal and state agency regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Search newspapers provided by ProQuest: the Boston Globe and the Historical New York Times, and various Newstreams
Full text searchable database of Wall Street Journal Eastern edition, offering coverage of global business, financial, and industry news and politics. Coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - present
Books and e-books can provide helpful background information on your topic and your geographic region. To find books, type your keywords into WPI Library Search, click on Resource Type in the left column of the search results page, and then select the Books filter:
A peer-reviewed journal is a highly respected scholarly publication. Before an article is published in a peer-reviewed journal, it is sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers") to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship. Reviewers comment on the quality of the research methods, as well as relevance or importance to the field. The article may be accepted, often with revisions suggested, or rejected for publication. Many researchers submit articles to peer-reviewed journals, and many of these journals have low acceptance rates.
When searching for peer-reviewed articles, a good rule of thumb is to search in at least three different databases. Results, display, and search features differ from database to database so you may miss critical articles if you use just one.
Some great places to start your research are WPI Library Search and Google Scholar, which are interdisciplinary resources. For discipline-specific research, browse our Subject Guides to find databases and other online resources that relate to your topic. If you know the name of a database you wish to search, such as JSTOR or ScienceDirect, go to our A-Z List of Databases.
To find peer reviewed articles in WPI Library Search, type your keywords into the search box, and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter in the left of the search results page.
A powerful search tool to streamline your library research. Entering terms into a single search box yields results that include: books and e-books, research and news articles, project reports, electronic theses and dissertations, archival materials, patents, open access collections and more.
There are different tools and ways to find information, such as Google Scholar, WPI Library Search, and different databases. Each way has their own strengths and weaknesses, so it is recommended that you search in at least 3 different places.
Why use article databases?
• More focused/targeted searching - by subject/discipline
• More sorting/filtering options:
- Type of source (academic journal, book chapter, magazine, newspaper, report, etc).
- Sort results by relevance or date
- Potentially limit search to specific topic areas, geographic regions, languages, etc.
• Many will auto-fill suggested search terms to help you search
• Most make identification of peer reviewed journals/articles easier
How to access databases at WPI:
|
Type of Info Needed |
Type of Information Source |
|---|---|
|
Definitions, technical terms, basic facts, timelines, protocols, instructions |
Reference - encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks |
|
Theory, methodology, case studies, research, peer-reviewed scholarly information |
Academic journal articles, scholarly monographs (aka books) |
|
Survey data, socioeconomic information, community descriptions, regional/national information |
Government/NGO/associations websites and reports |
|
Current and/or local information |
Newspapers, magazines, websites |
|
Industry and/or consumer information |
Trade literature, market reports |
Watch the short video linked below for additional guidance on effectively and efficiently finding sources: