IQP Research Guide: Organize & Cite Your Sources

Resources for the 7th Edition (2020) formatting rules for APA citations:

• APA Formatting and Style Guide (7th Edition), Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

• APA Style (apastyle.apa.org)

• APA Style Blog

• APA Reference Style Guide (7th Edition) (Northern Michigan University)

• Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th Edition) by American Psychological Association

  Call Number: Reserve Shelf BF76.7 .P83 2020

  ISBN: 9781433832161

  Publication Date: 2019-10-01

• APA Sample Paper with Annotations

• APA Sample Paper without Annotations

For citing IQPs and MQPs, use the format for a published dissertation or master’s thesis: https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/examples/published-dissertation-references

Format:

Author, A. A. (date). Title of project [Report type, Name of Institution]. Database name. URL

Example:

Frey, J. P., Lowell Whitehouse, J. M., Rothermel, J. M., & Kendrick, R. S. (2007). Energy profiling for off-grid energization solutions in Namibia [Interactive qualifying project, Worcester Polytechnic Institute]. Digital WPI. https://digital.wpi.edu/show/bg257f381

Citing sources referenced in past IQPs

• If you are citing sources from the IQP's reference list, just cite the sources as you normally would in APA citation format.

Citing data collected by past IQP groups

• If you are citing data collected by past IQP groups, cite the IQP itself in APA citation format. 

What is a citation management system?

Citation management tools are software clients loaded on your computer or web/cloud-based applications that are used to store, organize and utilize bibliographic citations.  Essentially, these tools are a database of the researcher's selected citations.  Zotero, is a freely available, open-source citation management system.

Most provide the following functions:

• Means of adding citations to the database, either manually or be importing citations from bibliographic databases or other sources.
• Methods for saving and organizing citations and/or searching within the database.
• Integration with word processing or other document production software to incorporated properly formatted citations into scholarly writing.
• Mechanisms for sharing citations with collaborators.
• Methods to create a stand-alone bibliography