Guides: East Asian Studies: Sholarly Journals

Regional Journals

Asian Journal of Humanities (Jurnal ilmu kemanusiaan) Publishes theoretical and empirical writings on aspects of the humanities in Asia as well as those that are universally relevant and provide new knowledge to the broad area of the Humanities.
Asian Journal of Marketing Asian Journal of Marketing is a broad-based scholarly journal designed to bridge the gap between theory and application. Topics covered include (but are not limited to) consumer behavior, advertising and branding issues, sales management, international and export marketing, new product development and innovation, macro-marketing and social issues, promotion management, marketing communications, pricing and economic decision making in marketing and marketing models.
Asian Studies An open-access, peer-reviewed academic journal published by the Asian Center, University of the Philippines Diliman. It offers a critical, multidisciplinary platform where scholars, practitioners, and activists can publish research that draws on the theories and perspectives from the social sciences, humanities, and/or cultural studies.
East Asia East Asia examines the interplay between the politics and culture that underlies major developments in China, Japan, Korea, and the Pacific Rim. This international quarterly focuses on the complex and subtle influences these nations exert upon one another. It examines the competition, assimilation, and tensions that shape events in the region today and for years to come.
East Asian Economic Review The East Asian Economic Review is an economic journal, for the promotion of interdisciplinary research on international economics. The Journal aims to facilitate greater understanding of all issues pertinent to diverse economies of East Asia. Its primary focus lies on issues relevant to the diverse economies of East Asia. Specific areas of interest include, but are not limited to: - Trade and International Investment - Economic Integration - Regional Economic Cooperation - International Finance - International Development - International Cooperation for Korean Unification
East Asian Policy East Asian Policy (EAP) is an international journal published on a quarterly basis. It examines and evaluates recent political, economic, societal, legal, cultural and foreign-policy trends in East Asia, particularly contemporary China, including Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan. Articles covered are of significant relevance to the academia, policy makers and decision makers in the corporate world.
Journal of Contemporary East Asia Studies This is an open access journal offering in-depth studies of contemporary East Asia. It publishes research that covers political, economic, and social developments in contemporary East Asia.
Journal of East Asian Studies The Journal of East Asian Studies is devoted to publishing cutting edge social science on East and Southeast Asia. The JEAS publishes primarily in the fields of comparative politics and international relations, encompassing, as well, the fields of political economy and security studies.
Journal of Management, Economics, and Industrial Organization An open-access, peer-reviewed journal that publishes papers appropriate to contemporary business, management, economics and industrial organization challenges.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Journal Article

Check the Anatomy of a Scholarly Article to find out what a scholarly article generally looks like. Please note that this is only one example of the format of a scholarly article. Scholarly articles can also contain headings such as methodology, discussion of results etc.

Shared under the Creative Commons Attribution - Noncommercial - Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Reading A Scholarly Journal Article

Reading a scholarly journal article
Anatomy of a Scholarly Journal Article
This guide highlights the various sections of a scholarly journal article and explains their purpose.

ILLiad: Borrowing from other Libraries

Our Interlibrary Loan service allows WPI students and faculty to request items from other libraries free of charge.

Country-Specific Journals

China: An International Journal China: An International Journal focuses on contemporary China, including Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan, and covers the fields of politics, economics, society, geography, law, culture and international relations.
China Report China Report is a scholarly journal that seeks a better understanding of China and its East Asian neighbors - particularly their cultures, their development and their relations with China. It is an indispensable source of information on China, its society and culture. The journal covers inter-related subject areas - economics, history, international relations, law, politics and sociology.
Issues & Studies: A Social Science Quarterly on China, Taiwan, and East Asian Affairs Issues & Studies is an internationally peer-reviewed journal dedicated to publishing quality social science research on issues – mainly of a political nature – related to the domestic and international affairs of contemporary China, Taiwan, and East Asia, as well as other closely related topics.
China Journal of Social Work China Journal of Social Work (CJSW) focuses on social work development taking place in China. The journal provides a platform for scholars within and outside mainland China to share research, teaching and practice experiences and to facilitate critical dialogue between Chinese social workers and their international peers.
The China Quarterly The China Quarterly is a leading peer-reviewed scholarly journal, covering all aspects of contemporary China, including Taiwan. Its interdisciplinary approach covers a range of subjects including the social sciences, law, history, media, literature and the arts.
Contemporary Japan Contemporary Japan publishes original research on contemporary issues related to Japan and its recent historical development in all humanities and social science disciplines. Contemporary Japan is committed to contributing to and expanding the field of Global Japanese Studies by reaching across disciplines and regional academic communities.
Japan Forum Japan Forum, a leading European journal in the multidisciplinary field of Japanese Studies, publishes original research in subject areas ranging from archaeology, language, literature, philosophy and culture to history, economics, politics, international relations and law.
Japanese Journal of Sociology Japanese Journal of Sociology, the official English journal of the Japan Sociological Society, covers research in any field of sociology focusing on Japanese society including comparative studies to contribute to improved comprehension of all the aspects of contemporary societies as well as to promote academic communication among all the researchers who are interested in social phenomena in Japan from sociological perspectives.
Korean Studies A leading academic journal in the field, Korean Studies publishes—generally in the spirit of the humanities and social sciences—research articles, review articles, commentaries, and book reviews on Korea-related topics, to better question and understand our world.
Azalea: Journal of Korean Literature & Culture Azalea: Journal of Korean Literature & Culture promotes Korean literature among English-language readers. Each issue may include works of contemporary Korean writers and poets, as well as essays and book reviews by Korean studies professors in the United States. Azalea introduces to the world, new writers as well as promising translators, providing the academic community of Korean studies with well-translated texts for college courses.

Find Peer-Reviewed Articles

A peer-reviewed journal is a highly respected scholarly publication. Before an article is published in a peer-reviewed journal, it is sent by the editors of the journal to other scholars in the field ("peers") to get feedback on the quality of the scholarship. Peer-reviewed journals are sometime called scholarly, academic or referred.

Some great places to start your research are WPI Library Search and Google Scholar, which are interdisciplinary resources. For discipline-specific research, browse our Subject Guides to find databases and other online resources that relate to your topic. If you know the name of a database you wish to search, such as Scopus or Engineering Village, go to our A-Z List of Databases.

To find peer reviewed articles in WPI Library Search, type your keywords into the search box, and then choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter in the left of the search results page.

Peer Review Video

Peer Review Overview

Run Time: 2:52

Key Student Learning Competencies:

What is Peer-Review? (0:10)
The Impact of Peer-Review Processes (0:50)
The Peer-Review Process (1:39)
Locating Peer-Reviewed Articles via the Gordon Library (2:25)

East Asian Studies: Sholarly Journals

Southeast Asia Journals