Guides: Fire Protection Engineering: Open Education Resources

Start Your Search

A great place to start your search for OER is an OER search tool, such as OASIS or the OER Metafinder. These tools allow you to search some of the main trusted sources of OER through their interfaces.

*Search OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 115 different sources.

*Search the OER Metafinder

This is a search engine for open access textbooks and OER from George Mason University. It searches across 22 different sources of open educational materials:

You can also search individual OER and open textbook collections, listed below, or find open access or licensed content through the WPI Library Search.

When in doubt, ask your librarian! We can help you find OER to use in your courses.

Open Education Resources - Open Textbooks

Open Textbooks

ASEE/ELD Open Textbooks for Engineering- curated list of open textbooks from the American Society for Engineering Education

B.C. Open Collection: Engineering - a curated selection of open educational resources (OER) from British Columbia

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB):Engineering (General) - scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books

InTechOpen: Engineering – peer reviewed open access books in various engineering/technology fields [open access, but not openly licensed]

LibreTexts: Engineering – “multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts
to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning”

Mavs Open Press: Engineering – from the University of Texas at Arlington Libraries

Milne Open Textbooks: Engineering - Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo provides a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff

MIT OpenCourseware: Engineering Textbooks – open textbooks from MIT

The National Academies Press: Engineering and Technology- reports and books from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

OER Commons - Engineering - Engineering textbooks from OER Commons, a public digital library of open educational resources

Open Textbook Library: Engineering - a comprehensive repertory that points to open textbooks by a variety of authors and publishers from the University of Minnesota

Teaching Commons: Engineering – open textbooks from leading colleges and universities

Open Courseware

Engineering at Alberta – open educational resources could include text, videos, interactive examples, or downloadable content such as code snippets

Learning Support Courseware for Engineering - Educational material based on work supported by the National Science Foundation; from Virginia Tech

Mechatronics Technology — NSC STEM Pathways - courses mapped to the Siemens Mechatronic Systems Level 1 certification

MERLOT Engineering Community Portal - resources on a wide variety of topics ranging from aerospace engineering to petroleum engineering to help with teaching and research

MIT Open Courseware Engineering Courses – courses, materials, & teaching resources

Open Michigan: Engineering – includes syllabi, assignments, lectures, course materials, student work, and labs

Stanford Engineering Everywhere - Access full course materials including lecture videos, syllabi, handouts, homework, and exams from Stanford

Teaching Commons: Engineering - open educational resources from leading colleges and universities, including open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more

General Engineering OER

MERLOT Materials: Engineering – discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages,
together with associated comments, and bookmark collections

National Science Digital Library: Engineering – high-quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM)

OASIS: Engineering – a search tool for open content from 115 different sources from SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library

OER Commons: Engineering – a large collection of resources, including textbooks, lesson plans, activities, assessments, & more

Lab manuals, Interactive materials & simulations

Note: many of the simulations and videos are view/use only (i.e. not adaptable)

ECE YouTube videos - Tutorial videos on signal processing and random signals from UMass Dartmouth's ECE 320 and ECE 521 courses

Engineering Computations at Github - A collection of learning modules in engineering computations for undergraduate studies, using Python and Jupyter Notebooks

Engineering Technology 3D Simulations (MERLOT) -Over 150 emeddable or downloadable 3D Simulations in the subject area of Automation,
Electro/Mechanical, Process Control, and Renewable Energy

Learn ChemE - chemical engineering education resources – including simulations, screencasts, labs & more -prepared by faculty for use by students and instructors

nanoHUB: Model and Simulate – tools and apps for education and research

Problem Sets for Aerospace Structures - a collection of interactive problems and solutions from Virginia Tech includes over
twenty-five collections of 3-5 problems each on topics relevant to undergraduate-level aerospace structures

University of Oxford Podcasts: Department of Engineering Science -educational engineering podcasts from the University of Oxford

Virtual Labs: Engineering – From the India Ministry of Education, simulation-based Labs in various disciplines of Science and Engineering

OER Collections

OER Commons
One of the most comprehensive sites for finding OER for all types and disciplines, maintained and hosted by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education.
MERLOT
One of the most comprehensive sites for finding OER for all types and disciplines, with a collection of over 40,000 OER in 19 different material type categories. Maintained and hosted by the California State University System. Also offers an ISBN search, so you can search by a textbook you're currently using to get suggestions for replacements.
BCcampus Open Ed
Collection of open textbooks curated by open education initiative in British Columbia.
AMSER (Applied Math and Science Education Repository)
Collection of STEM educational resources funded by the National Science Foundation. Target audience is community and technical colleges, but resources are free to use by all.
Bepress Teaching Commons
OER distributed by institutions that use the Bepress Digital Commons platform. Browsable by subject area or material type.
Lumen Learning Courses
Course materials curated by Lumen Learning. Materials are openly available, and faculty can request access to supplementary materials, such as answer banks. For a fee, Lumen Learning will provide course customization.
LibreTexts Library
Hosts 12 different libraries, with textbook content, exercises, case studies, labs, and other course materials. Content is created by students, professors, and experts, or comes from existing materials.
NIBLSE (Network for Integrating Bioinformatics into Life Science Education)
The NIBLSE community is coordinating an effort to collect, customize, and disseminate high quality bioinformatics learning resources appropriate for undergraduate life science courses. All learning resources have been reviewed and assigned NIBLSE Core Competencies (C1 - C9).
American Institute of Mathematics' Approved Textbooks
List of approved textbooks, ranging from pre-calculus to upper division analysis and algebra, that have been evaluated by the AIM Editorial Board. Their evaluation criteria are also posted online.
OAPEN
OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
Open Research Library
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
OpenOregon.org
Searchable repository of course materials that Oregon community college and university instructors are using to reduce textbook costs in their courses.