Guides: Open Educational Resources: Find

Start Your Search

A great place to start your search for OER is an OER search tool, such as OASIS or the OER Metafinder. These tools allow you to search some of the main trusted sources of OER through their interfaces.

*Search OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 115 different sources.

*Search the OER Metafinder

This is a search engine for open access textbooks and OER from George Mason University. It searches across 22 different sources of open educational materials:

You can also search individual OER and open textbook collections, listed below, or find open access or licensed content through the WPI Library Search.

When in doubt, ask your librarian! We can help you find OER to use in your courses.

OER Collections

OER Commons
One of the most comprehensive sites for finding OER for all types and disciplines, maintained and hosted by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education.
MERLOT
One of the most comprehensive sites for finding OER for all types and disciplines, with a collection of over 40,000 OER in 19 different material type categories. Maintained and hosted by the California State University System. Also offers an ISBN search, so you can search by a textbook you're currently using to get suggestions for replacements.
BCcampus Open Ed
Collection of open textbooks curated by open education initiative in British Columbia.
AMSER (Applied Math and Science Education Repository)
Collection of STEM educational resources funded by the National Science Foundation. Target audience is community and technical colleges, but resources are free to use by all.
Bepress Teaching Commons
OER distributed by institutions that use the Bepress Digital Commons platform. Browsable by subject area or material type.
Lumen Learning Courses
Course materials curated by Lumen Learning. Materials are openly available, and faculty can request access to supplementary materials, such as answer banks. For a fee, Lumen Learning will provide course customization.
LibreTexts Library
Hosts 12 different libraries, with textbook content, exercises, case studies, labs, and other course materials. Content is created by students, professors, and experts, or comes from existing materials.
NIBLSE (Network for Integrating Bioinformatics into Life Science Education)
The NIBLSE community is coordinating an effort to collect, customize, and disseminate high quality bioinformatics learning resources appropriate for undergraduate life science courses. All learning resources have been reviewed and assigned NIBLSE Core Competencies (C1 - C9).
American Institute of Mathematics' Approved Textbooks
List of approved textbooks, ranging from pre-calculus to upper division analysis and algebra, that have been evaluated by the AIM Editorial Board. Their evaluation criteria are also posted online.
OAPEN
OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
Open Research Library
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
OpenOregon.org
Searchable repository of course materials that Oregon community college and university instructors are using to reduce textbook costs in their courses.

Open Textbooks

BC Campus - B.C. Open Textbook Collection
The B.C. Open Textbook Collection is home to a growing selection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties. Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
GALILEO Open Learning Materials-Open Textbook
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources from throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
LibreTexts
14 libraries or collections of Textbooks, Textmaps, and LibreTexts
Milne Open Textbooks (previously OpenSUNY Textbooks)
Milne Open Textbooks (formerly OpenSUNY textbooks) publishes textbooks authored by SUNY faculty in a variety of areas.
OAPEN
OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation.
OER Commons - Higher Ed Textbook Hub
Free, adaptable, openly licensed textbooks and supplemental resources from OER Commons - organized by discipline and provider
OpenBook Publishers
A leading independent Open Access publisher in the Humanities and Social Sciences in the UK: All books are available to read online and download for free, including monographs and textbooks in all areas.
Open Culture Textbook List
List of 200 free textbooks curated by the Open Culture website. No searching capabilities beyond doing a Ctl-F/Cmd-F search in your browser window.
Open Oregon State Textbooks
The Open Oregon State initiative publishes textbooks authored by Oregon State faculty; also available, a list of textbooks in production.
OpenStax Textbooks
One of the leading open textbook publishers, based at Rice University, OpenStax publishes open textbooks mainly in science, math, and social science fields.
Open Textbook Library
Collection of open textbooks, many of which have been peer-reviewed, maintained and hosted by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.
Pressbooks Directory
This directory provides an index of 3,374 openly licensed books published across 115 Pressbooks networks.
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
Open textbooks are available to use, keep, revise, and share under open licenses.
University of Minnesota Open Textbooks
The University of Minnesota publishes open textbooks authored by their faculty, mainly in the areas of business and humanities/social sciences.

Library Resources

The library provides access to licensed and open access resources that are an affordable alternative to textbooks. Use the WPI Library Search to find resources to use in your courses.

Search suggestions:

Use the "Resource Type" facet in the left-hand menu to narrow your search results by the type of resource you're looking for, such as a book, article, etc.
Open access resources are flagged with an "open access" icon.

If you find a licensed resource that you would like to use in your course, contact us first so that we can confirm we have unlimited access to it for all of your students. Then, consult our instructions on how to link to library resources within Canvas.

Use the Suggest a Purchase form to make purchase requests for additional library resources. Note: we do not purchase textbooks.