Search the Gale databases provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, including: Gale Academic OneFile,Gale Academic OneFile Select, and more.
* Gale Academic OneFile
* Gale Academic OneFile Select
* Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
* Gale eBooks
* Gale General OneFile
* Gale Health and Wellness
* Gale in Context: Biography
* Gale in Context: Global Issues
* Gale in Context: Middle School
* Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
* Gale in Context: Science
* Gale in Context: U.S. History
* Gale in Context: World History
* Gale Literature Resource Center
* Gale OneFile: Agriculture
* Gale OneFile: Business
* Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media
* Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
* Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts
* Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
* Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
* Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
* Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
* Gale OneFile: Fine Arts
* Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture
* Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
* Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
* Gale OneFile: High School Edition
* Gale OneFile: Home Improvement
* Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism
* Gale OneFile: Information Science
* Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability
* Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management
* Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
* Gale OneFile: News
* Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
* Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
* Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies
* Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines
* Gale OneFile: Psychology
* Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy
* Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers
* Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
* Gale Presents: Peterson's Career Prep
* New York Times (1985 to present)
Index and abstracts of humanities and arts literature with some full text. Use to find articles on the history of the place you choose. Try different keyword searches and approaches to finding articles. Are the impacts human, natural or impacted by a combination of both? Use of the place to build a fortification or military use that could have impacted the ar
This page, by William Cronon - University of Wisconsin-Madison, has key stages of the research process: * How to Frame a Researchable Question * What Are the Documents? * On the Search * The Pleasures of Note-Taking * Arguments and Narrative * Positioning Your Argument in a Wider Literature * Drafting, Revising, and Editing * Manuscripts and Archives * Prowling the Periodicals * Government Documents * Photographic Images * Maps * The Interview Dance * Quantitative Evidence * How to Read a Landscape
Only Finding a Citation? Get the Full Text
Within most databases, click on the FullTextFinder link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.
For example, instead of just searching Boston Back Bay AND environmental history you may find useful information in books on the history of Boston.
Follow up on subject headings within catalog records to either narrow or broaden your search.
For Boston’s Back Bay try subjects searches ranging from specific to broad: * Fills (Earthwork)--Massachusetts--Boston--History * Landscape--Massachusetts--Boston--History. * Boston (Mass.)--Historical geography * Land use--Massachusetts--Boston--History. * Boston (Mass.)--History.
What was the natural environment of your place?
Finding books on salt marsh ecology may help understand the environmental history of a place like the Back Bay of Boston.
Filter & Follow Up
Scan results: use subject headings/descriptors, keywords, phrases found to expand search
Scrutinize article titles, number of pages, and journal title
Browse promising abstract and conclusion sections of long studies
Bibliographies can clue you in on the value of the article as well
Find an interesting author? Search for more articles or for his/her web site
Notice an agency, association or expert mentioned in an article? Follow up.
Search Google Books
View snippets, or limited previews of copyrighted books, and full text of public domain books