Guides: Computer Science: Research Resources

Research Resources

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing:
- The Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
- A collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers.
- The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.
- A richly interlinked set of connections among authors, works, institutions, and specialized communities.
Coverage: 1968-
Some Full Text: Yes
Titles Included |
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
This collection provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text. Subject coverage: Computer Science; Information Systems; Computer Security; Database Design; Software Development; Web Commerce; LANs; WANs; Intranets; Internet.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. It contains the.full text of all IEEE and IEE journal articles, conference papers, and standards. Tutorials are available at: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplorehelp/ieee-xplore-training/video-tutorials
Coverage: 1888-
Full Text: Yes
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of Engineering Index, covering literature in various engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
Coverage: 1970-
Full Text: No
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.

CiteSeerX This link opens in a new window
CiteSeer is a digital library that aims to improve the dissemination, retrieval, and accessibility of scientific literature, mostly in the areas of computer and information science. Provides automated citation indexing and citation linking.
Full Text: No
Computing Reviews This link opens in a new window
Identify the best new articles and books in all areas of computer science.
Coverage: 1985-
Full Text: No
Quick Start Guide
Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security This link opens in a new window
Search full text on a wide range of themes, including computer crime, information warfare, privacy, surveillance, intellectual property and more.
Coverage: 2007
Full Text: Yes
HighWire Press This link opens in a new window
From Stanford University, includes online versions of 920+ journals in biological, physical, medical, and social sciences. Many are freely accessible to all.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | WPI Access | Search Tips
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. It contains the.full text of all IEEE and IEE journal articles, conference papers, and standards. Tutorials are available at: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplorehelp/ieee-xplore-training/video-tutorials
Coverage: 1888-
Full Text: Yes
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: Biochemistry Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response; General Engineering & Project Administration; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering ; ASM International Materials Collection Online).
Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Individual chapters are available to download as PDFs. However, Knovel recommends limiting downloads to 10% or 25 pages of content per title.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text access to the Springer book series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) a major publication of new developments in computer science.
Coverage: 1975-
Full Text: Yes
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of scholarly science journals and eBooks published by Springer. ***Full text is available ONLY for WPI subscribed e-books and e-journals, not the full collection.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Individual chapters and subscribed books are available to download as PDFs.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Search journals published by Wiley-Blackwell. WPI subscribes to many titles in various topic areas such as chemistry, medical & life sciences, materials science and engineering.
Coverage: 1996-
Full Text: Yes

Check out BrowZine via the Gordon Library to browse accessible and relevant journals. The library recommends starting your keyword searching with Computational Engineering & Science.

Below are a few selected journals to get your browsing started.

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials in any medium that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.

Key Concepts of Computer Studies
If you are looking for a quick study guide in Computer Studies, this book is an excellent resource. Skip the lengthy and distracting books and instead use this book to guide your studies, review your knowledge, or help with tutoring. This book quickly gets to the heart of each particular topic, helping students with a quick review before doing homework or preparing for a test.
Current & Emerging Computing Technology
This book is written for the typical computer user: someone who uses computers for day-to-day activities (browsing the web, sending/receiving email, etc.) and is interested in delving a bit deeper into some of the current technology concepts and terminology.
Cellular Internet of Things for Practitioners
This book describes the simplified architecture of an IoT network from the core functional perspective and then presents step-by-step procedures to establish a connection between the IoT device and platform. It practically shows how to connect a cellular IoT module to the Microsoft Azure IoT Hub using the LTE-M technology.
Open Data Structures--In Java
There are plenty of books that teach introductory data structures. Some of them are very good. Most of them cost money, and the vast majority of computer science undergraduate students will shell out at least some cash on a data structures book.
Introduction to Web Accessibility
With raised awareness and accessibility laws emerging around the world, understanding what inclusive access to the Web means is becoming necessary knowledge for anyone who produces digital content. Much of the current information on Web accessibility requires some technical understanding, and may be difficult to consume for the average person. This book will “interpret” the W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.1), to make it easier to understand for a general audience. You will have an opportunity to experience barriers firsthand, then experience that content with the barriers removed, developing a practical understanding of web accessibility.
Database Design
Database Design - 2nd Edition covers database systems and database design concepts. New to this edition are SQL info, additional examples, key terms, and review exercises at the end of each chapter.
Big Data Analytics for Cultural Heritage
In this edition, we focused on big data analytics methods and tools that have been specifically developed for the domain of cultural heritage, as well as on experiences from the adaptation and/or application of general-purpose solutions in the domain of cultural heritage. The aim was to gather solutions, but also to summarise the lessons learnt, methodologies, and good practices that researchers and practitioners can use as a basis for their own work in the domain.