Sustainability: Find Books

The integration of sustainability in engineering education is a relatively new phenomenon, and presenting information about engineering education for sustainability is of great interest to improve communication between professors, researchers and students at universities, institutes and research laboratories.

This text explores how organizations encounter uncertainties for transforming their current practices and the steps they take to attain the desired goals of environmental stewardship.

This text focuses on research drawn from work grounded in "Sustainability." Scholars known in this discipline evaluate the theory of sustainability, including cross-discipline research, empirical explorations, cross-cultural studies, literature critiques, and meta-analysis projects.

This book presents the current state of sustainability and intends to provide the reader with a critical perspective of how the 21st century societies must change their development model facing the new challenges (internet of things, industry 4.0, smart cities, circular economy, sustainable agriculture, etc.), in order to achieve a more livable world.

Adaptive social protection (ASP) helps build the resilience of poor and vulnerable households by supporting their capacity to prepare for, cope with, and adapt to large covariate shocks. This book outlines a framework to help guide the design and implementation of ASP.

This book provides insights on innovative strategies to build resilient food systems in the wake of challenges posed by climate change.

Fifty years have passed since the first Earth Day, on 22 April 1970. This accessible, incisive, and timely collection of essays brings together a diverse set of expert voices to examine how the Earth's environment has changed over this past half century, and what lies in store for our planet over the coming fifty years.

The book reviews the field of climate change education and identifies some of the areas in which past efforts have fallen short in supporting effective pedagogical change at scale.

The book provides the basic natural sciences that underpin the understanding, development and application of environment technologies that support a clean inhabitable world that includes environmental technologies and sustainable, renewable energy systems.

Save Earth! If that sounds daunting, look no further. There are things we can all do each day to aid the environmental movement. This comprehensive guide for future environmentalists is an engaging exploration of the race to save habitats, animals, and resources that are currently in peril.

Rapid economic development has been a boon to human well‑being, but comes at a significant cost to the fertile soils, forests, coastal marshes, and farmland that support all life on earth. If ecosystems collapse, so eventually will human civilization. One solution is inclusive green growth--the efficient use of natural resources. Its genius lies in working with nature rather than against it.   Green Growth That Works is the first practical guide to bring together pragmatic finance and policy tools that can make investment in natural capital both attractive and commonplace. Pioneered by leading scholars from the Natural Capital Project, this valuable compendium of proven techniques can guide agencies and organizations eager to make green growth work anywhere in the world.

This book provides an introduction into the diversity of the environmental movement through great characters in the green sector.

This book highlights the risk of inaction for businesses when it comes to climate change, but also contains best practices to allow them to capitalize on the numerous business opportunities that climate change presents, including increased profitability, enhanced brand value, and improved shareholder relations.  The first section contains practical actions and real-world case studies of companies, such as Yakima, Sun Microsystems, and Lockheed Martin, that have successfully improved their climate performances, enhanced brand value, and increased profitability at the same time.  The second and third sections of this book focus on the various risks that companies face from potential carbon regulation and the market factors forcing businesses to take action, whether they want to or not. This book provides the steps and strategies necessary to take leadership actions to help business "future-proof" society.

This book discusses how the involvement of citizens into scientific endeavors is expected to contribute to solve the big challenges of our time, such as climate change and the loss of biodiversity, growing inequalities within and between societies, and the sustainability turn.

The book integrates social, economic and environmental objectives, taking into account of their implications for different socioeconomic groups and for future generations.

Sustainable Frontiers throws down the gauntlet to business to step up and be the catalyst for a sustainable future. It presents eight keys to unlocking transformational change - through leadership, enterprise, innovation, transparency, engagement, responsibility, integration and future-fitness. Far from being another tame review of corporate social responsibility and sustainable business initiatives, the book dispels the myths of sustainability and challenges us to let go of old systems that are failing to deliver economic, social and environmental transformation. Sustainable Frontiers gets to the heart of why the sustainability and CSR movements have failed in the past and offers a new view of how sustainable business practices can shape-shift to make a genuine difference inside and outside organisations. The book gathers together experiences from across the globe and shows to the reader what can be achieved with the right vision and leadership. Expect to be challenged, engaged and inspired to join the revolution on the sustainable frontier.Making a successful transition to a more sustainable future depends on letting go. Sustainable Frontiers shows how we must find ways to let go of an industrial system that has served us well, but is no longer fit for purpose. How we will need to let go of old styles of leadership and out-dated models of business, high-impact lifestyles and selfish values. How we must learn to let go of cherished ideologies that are causing destruction and beliefs about ways to tackle problems that are failing to resolve crises.If we are to reach sustainable frontiers, it must begin with changing our collective minds - and only then will we change our collective behaviour. How we accomplish such a global mind-shift is the subject of Sustainable Frontiers. And it starts by admitting that those of us at the vanguard of the sustainability revolution also have to change. We will also have to let go of cherished beliefs and strategies that are not working - starting with the way we communicate our vital, life-saving mission.

This book aims to provide a comprehensive and integrated analytical framework that promotes the understanding of transformation towards sustainability.

Addressing the widespread desire to better understand how climate change issues are addressed in the United States, this book provides an unparalleled analysis of features of the US economic and political system that are essential to understanding its responses to climate change. The introductory chapter presents a firm historical context, with the remainder of the book offering balanced and factual discussions of government, business and public responses to issues of energy policies, congressional activity on climate change, and US government involvement in international conferences. Abundant statistical evidence illustrates key concepts and supports analytic themes such as market failures, free riders, and the benefits and costs of alternative courses of action among industry sectors and geographic areas within the US. Written for audiences both outside and within the US, this accessible book is essential reading for anyone interested in climate change, energy, sustainable development or related issues around the world.