The following websites provide comprehensive information about specific careers from the skills and training required, to the work environments, projected openings, and details such as salary ranges.
Use these tools to explore various careers as well as college majors.
Where a college major may lead you to for a career
Match your interests, learn about careers, and search for information about careers.
Eleven different tools to learn details about different careers, and what's ahead for your career. This includes green careers, fastest growing careers and a tool to compare careers.
The O*NET Program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Valid data are essential to understanding the rapidly changing nature of work and how it impacts the workforce and U.S. economy. From this information, applications are developed to facilitate the development and maintenance of a skilled workforce. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors on almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated from input by a broad range of workers in each occupation. O*NET information is used by millions of individuals every year, including those taking advantage of O*NET Online, My Next Move, and other publicly and privately developed applications. The data have proven vital in helping people find the training and jobs they need, and employers the skilled workers necessary to be competitive in the marketplace.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 324 occupational profiles, covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy. The OOH is broken up into clusters of similar occupations. In order to find an occupation, browse the occupation groups of interest on the left-hand side of the homepage, or use the A–Z Index if you know the specific occupation. You may search for occupations by using the selector drop-down menus on the OOH homepage. Select by pay range, entry-level education, on-the-job training, projected number of new jobs, or projected growth rate. If you know the specific occupation you are interested in, you may enter a job title into the “Search Handbook” box on the top right-hand side of the homepage. In addition, you may browse by clicking any of the three links titled “highest paying,” “fastest growing (projected),” and “most new jobs (projected).” Although hundreds of occupations are covered in detail in the OOH, BLS publishes information on additional occupations for which the required education, training, median wages, and employment projections are prepared but detailed occupational information is not developed.
Search full text of The Boston Globe. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, with access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Coverage: 1980 - current. This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Nexis Uni provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexis Uni includes: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources (primarily newspapers, magazines and journals) in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data - including company financial information, and SEC filings and reports - on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, federal and state agency regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Wall Street Journal
Current WPI students, faculty, and staff can access The Wall Street Journal online through Gordon Library's subscription service. To activate your account go to https://partner.wsj.com/partner/WorcesterPolytechnicInstitute. You'll be prompted to log in with your WPI username and password. Then, you'll create your WSJ account with a new password, using your WPI email address.
For students, when you register for your WSJ account, you will need to indicate your date of graduation, and your account will stay active until that date. Faculty and staff will need to renew their accounts annually. If you see a "Membership Inactive" message when trying to log in to the Wall Street Journal, use the activation link above to reactivate your account.
Once you have activated your account you can log in no matter where you are at https://www.wsj.com/
________________________________
Database Access:
Full text searchable database of Wall Street Journal Eastern edition, offering coverage of global business, financial, and industry news and politics. Coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - present
New York Times
The Gordon Library provides free access for CURRENT students, faculty, and staff with a WPI email address to NYTimes.com. This service will provide you with an e-subscription to The New York Times to stay connected with the events of the day. In addition, you will have access to the extensive NYT database dating back to 1851 – a tremendous research tool.
To set up your account, go to:
http://www.accessnyt.com/ (If on campus or otherwise within the WPI IP range or on VPN)
http://ezproxy.wpi.edu/login?url=http://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir (If off campus and outside the WPI IP range)
Once you have activated your account you can log in no matter where you are at https://www.nytimes.com/
**WPI NYT faculty & staff subscribers need to renew your "academic pass" once every 4 years, on or before your registration anniversary date. (Students will have access until their graduation date.)
To do this, follow these steps:
1. Navigate to accessnyt.com (from campus or using the VPN)
2. Search for/select Worcester Polytechnic Institute. Then follow the directions to activate the Academic Pass.
Once completed, your digital access will be active and you can navigate directly to nytimes.com from any web-enabled device.
Tips and Troubleshooting
________________________
Database Access:
Search full text of the New York Times.
Borrow this book from Gordon Library using your WPI ID Card.
This book offers a broad range of information about industries and careers and the options out there after graduation.
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more. A subset of Business Market Research Collection.
IBISWorld provides industry research that covers more than 700 industries as well as specialized industry reports on emerging industries. Reports include the industry at a glance, performance, outlook, life cycle, competitive landscape and more.
Nexis Uni provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexis Uni includes: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources (primarily newspapers, magazines and journals) in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data - including company financial information, and SEC filings and reports - on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, federal and state agency regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
The O’Reilly digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online, saving time and quickly finding the information they need.
See https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly for further information.
***To view and download O'Reilly eBooks, WPI community members must create a personal account with their @wpi.edu email account.
Access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
