Skip to Main Content

EndNote: EndNote Overview

Download EndNote (Desktop version)

WPI students, faculty and staff can download the EndNote 20 on desktop client to their personal laptops and/or their WPI-issued computers. (EndNote 21 was launched in 2023 and is available for individual purchase.)

Details and instructions on how to download EndNote 20 are available on the HUB   --  click on the relevant EndNote Install Guide.   Both Windows and macOS versions are available.  

Compatibility & systems requirements

Note: For EndNote desktop to sync with EndNote Online (Basic) you must have version X7.1 or higher. To check for updates open EndNote desktop  choose the Help menu and choose Check for Updates

For installation assistance, please contact the WPI Service Desk.

How to Connect with EndNote Online

What's the Difference between EndNote & EndNote Online (aka EndNote Web)? How do they interact?

EndNote Online (Basic) is a web-based citation management tool with fewer features. 



To enable within EndNote, go to EndNote preferences, Sync. Click Enable Sync. Enter your EndNote Online username and your password for EndNote Web, which is probably different from your WPI password. [For new users, you can also set up your EN Online account by clicking on Enable Sync.]

 

EndNote Sync

 

Note: EndNote Online and EndNote Click are different services (however, they can work together if you have accounts for each).

 

EndNote Online is a cloud-based service that allows you to:

  • Collect, organize, and edit references.
  • Create bibliographies using the Cite While You Write add-on or plug-in in a word processing software (like Microsoft Word or GoogleDocs).
  • Collaborate with other EndNote Online users.

 

EndNote Click is a free browser extension that helps you access and save PDFs of journal articles (only) from academic websites. You can use it to:

  • Find PDFs: EndNote Click searches for full-text PDFs on thousands of academic websites including LISTA, PubMed, and Library of Congress.
  • Save PDFs: EndNote automatically saves PDFs to your "My Locker" area. You can also export reference details to other reference managers like Zotero
  • Organize: You can organize your articles with tags.
  • Share: You can easily share articles with peers or colleagues.

 

EndNote Installation Instructions

EndNote Install Guide For Windows

How to install EndNote 20 from WPI network to a Windows 10 personal device

Requirements

  • Active WPI username and password
  • VPN Connection

Instructions

  1. Open \\storage.wpi.edu\software\EndNote\v20\Windows\
  2. Right click on the EN20Inst.msi executable and click to run as an administrator.
  3. Enter the following Product Key: K5ANL-F5JSV-N566W-DKPNU-46QUG
  4. Read and accept the Software License Agreement.
  5. Select the installation type you prefer and select Next.
  6. When the installation has completed, select Finish.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EndNote Install Guide For MacOS

How to install EndNote 20 from WPI network to a OSX personal device

Requirements

  • Active WPI Account
  • Access to the WPI network or use of the VPN if off campus
  • Microsoft Word must be closed during the installation

Instructions

  1. Open smb://storage.wpi.edu/software/EndNote/v20/OSX
  2. Double-click on the EndNote installer and begin the installation
  3. Click Next through the Welcome screen
  4. Enter the following Product Key: K5ANL-F5JSV-N566W-DKPNU-46QUG
  5. Enter your: 
    • Your Name: Who are you?! 
    • Your Organization: WPI
  6. Click Next
  7. Read and Accept the License Agreement
  8. Click Next
  9. Click Done when complete

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EndNote X9 Install Guide

EndNote X9 Installation

 

Requirements

  • Active WPI username and password
  • VPN Connection

Instructions

  1. Open \\storage.wpi.edu\software\EndNote\v20\Windows\
  2. Right click on the EN20Inst.msi executable and click to run as an administrator.
  3. Enter the following Product Key: K5ANL-F5JSV-N566W-DKPNU-46QUG
  4. Read and accept the Software License Agreement.
  5. Select the installation type you prefer and select Next.
  6. When the installation has completed, select Finish.

About EndNote Desktop

EndNote 20

EndNote 20, the world’s essential reference management tool, helps you save time, stay organized, collaborate with colleagues, and ultimately, get published. So, you can focus on what matters most: your ideas.  Access your research anytime, anywhere from the cloud. Move seamlessly between online and the desktop and iPad applications.

  • Search hundreds of online resources for references and PDFs.
  • Access full text research articles with one click.
  • Easily read, review, annotate and search PDFs in your library.
  • Create rules to automatically organize references as you.
  • Keep your data accurate with automatic reference and link updating.
  • Quickly deduplicate the content in your library by searching on unique identifiers.
  • Insert in-text citations from your library with the Cite While You Write feature in Microsoft® Word.
  • Automatically build your bibliography using the library of 7,000+ reference types or your own customized style.
  • Ensure your bibliography is accurate with refreshed journal and referencing styles.
  • Share some or all of your library with collaborators worldwide.
  • Provide write or read-only access to your library.
  • Use the new Tabs feature for easier multitasking.
  • Track your teammates’ changes and view their activity in your shared library.
  • Match your paper with relevant, reputable journals using Manuscript Matcher.
  • Conduct large-scale literature reviews with ease and speed using the powerful analysis tools.
 

 

Visit EndNote.com for more information!

Adding Full-Text (PDFs_ from WPIs Online Library Resources to your EndNote Library References

 Windows/PC Users

  1. In EndNote, go to Edit >> Preferences 
  2. Click on Find Full Text in left hand menu bar.
  3. Check the Open URL box if unchecked.
  4. In the Open URL path enter: https://wpi.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=01WPI_INST&vid=01WPI_INST:Default&
  5. In the Authenticate with URL box enter:   https://ezproxy.wpi.edu/login?url=
  6. Click OK.

 Mac Users

  1. Choose EndNote  >> Preferences from the toolbar.
  2. Click on Find Full Text in left hand menu bar.
  3. Check the Open URL box if unchecked.
  4. In OpenURL path enter: https://wpi.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=01WPI_INST&vid=01WPI_INST:Default&
  5. In Authenticate with URL enter: https://ezproxy.wpi.edu/login?url=


To check for full-text availability via the WPI subscriptions, select a reference (or multiple references) in your EndNote library. Click on References (on the menu bar), then "Find Full Text". EndNote should retrieve the full text if available. If not, you can try References, URL, Open URL to get to the FullText Finder window with retrieval options. For items we do not have access to, you may need to choose Request (ILLiad Interlibrary Loan).