EndNote: EndNote Overview

EndNote 2025: building ideas, one at a time

A reference manager to help you better discover, organize, manage, cite, write, and share. EndNote 2025 streamlines your entire research and writing process with new AI features updated tools to expedite your research discovery process, keep your work reliable and accurate, and to help you find the best-fit journals for your work.

Key Features:

• AI-Powered Research Summaries: generate concise, structured summaries of academic papers to accelerate literature review
  • The AI tool works when you are logged into the desktop application
  • Open a PDF (make sure you have a PDF and not the citation information)
  • Click on PDF; you will see key takeaways
    • For more information: Key takeaways

• Find a Journal: get real-time journal recommendations based on your manuscript content—no extra tools required
• Smarter Collaboration: share your EndNote library with up to 1,000 collaborators and assign view or edit permissions
• Real-Time Sync and Status: sync your library across personal devices with improved transparency and error handling
• Redesigned Interface: the new Summary Panel offers at-a-glance access to citations, notes, files, and previews—all in one place

Go to EndNote for more information.

What's the Difference between EndNote Desktop, EndNote Online, and EndNote Web? How do they interact?

Comparison chart

EndNote Web

• Exclusive to EndNote 2025/EndNote 21 users. 

• Modern web design.
• Initial activation with Sync within EndNote 2025/21 desktop.
• Cite While You Write plug-in integration works with Microsoft Word, Google Docs, and Word Online
• 7,000+ predefined bibliographic citation styles
• Unlimited file attachment storage
• Up to 1 million reference storage

How to sync EndNote Desktop with EndNote Web:

To enable within EndNote, go to EndNote preferences, Sync. Click Enable Sync. Enter your EndNote Web username and your password for EndNote Web, which is probably different from your WPI password. [For new users, you can also set up your EN Online account by clicking on Enable Sync.]

Note: EndNote Online and EndNote Click are different services (however, they can work together if you have accounts for each).

 Windows/PC Users

1. In EndNote, click on EndNote 2025 in the top left hand corner
2. Go to settings>> Find Full Text in left hand menu bar.
3. Check the Open URL box if unchecked.
4. In the Open URL path enter: https://wpi.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=01WPI_INST&vid=01WPI_INST:Default&
5. In the Authenticate with URL box enter:   https://ezproxy.wpi.edu/login?url=
6. Click OK.

 Mac Users

1. Choose EndNote 2025 from the top left of the screen >> Click on settings.
2. Click on Find Full Text in left hand menu bar.
3. Check the Open URL box if unchecked.
4. In OpenURL path enter: https://wpi.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=01WPI_INST&vid=01WPI_INST:Default&
5. In Authenticate with URL enter: https://ezproxy.wpi.edu/login?url=

To check for full-text availability via the WPI subscriptions, select a reference (or multiple references) in your EndNote library. Click on References (on the menu bar), then "Find Full Text". EndNote should retrieve the full text if available. If not, you can try References, URL, Open URL to get to the FullText Finder window with retrieval options. For items we do not have access to, you may need to choose Request (ILLiad Interlibrary Loan).

EndNote Online can be used independently of the paid desktop version of EndNote.

What is EndNote Online?

EndNote Online (formerly Online Classic, formerly EndNote Basic) is an online EndNote program that helps you organize references and create properly formatted bibliographies.

• Collect references manually or import them from online sources
• Organize your references into groups
• Format your references using Word
• Cite While You Write allows you to insert citations into documents
• Synchronize your references between your desktop library and your web library

Set up a free account here: https://access.clarivate.com/register?app=endnote

EndNote Click is a free Google Chrome browser extension that helps you access and save PDFs of journal articles (only) from academic websites. You can use it to:

• Find PDFs: EndNote Click searches for full-text PDFs on thousands of academic websites including LISTA, PubMed, and Library of Congress.
• Save PDFs: EndNote automatically saves PDFs to your "My Locker" area. You can also export reference details to other reference managers like Zotero
• Organize: You can organize your articles with tags.
• Share: You can easily share articles with peers or colleagues.