Guides: Rehabilitation Engineering Research Guide: Research Resources

Research Resources

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from the Compendex database, which includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
Coverage: 1884-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Use to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
LexisNexis Academic -- Now called Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text news, legal, business, and biographical information.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Coverage: 1966-
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips | Tutorial
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search the Gale databases provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, including: Gale Academic OneFile,Gale Academic OneFile Select, and more. This resource is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) in partnership with the Massachusetts Library System (MLS). The purchase is supported by funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Databases:
* Gale Academic OneFile
* Gale Academic OneFile Select
* Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
* Gale eBooks
* Gale General OneFile
* Gale Health and Wellness
* Gale in Context: Biography
* Gale in Context: Global Issues
* Gale in Context: Middle School
* Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
* Gale in Context: Science
* Gale in Context: U.S. History
* Gale in Context: World History
* Gale Literature Resource Center
* Gale OneFile: Agriculture
* Gale OneFile: Business
* Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media
* Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
* Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts
* Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
* Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
* Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
* Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
* Gale OneFile: Fine Arts
* Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture
* Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
* Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
* Gale OneFile: High School Edition
* Gale OneFile: Home Improvement
* Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism
* Gale OneFile: Information Science
* Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability
* Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management
* Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
* Gale OneFile: News
* Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
* Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
* Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies
* Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines
* Gale OneFile: Psychology
* Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy
* Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers
* Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
* Gale Presents: Peterson's Career Prep
* New York Times (1985 to present)

Coverage: 1980-
Full Text: Yes
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.

Check out BrowZine via the Gordon Library to browse accessible and relevant journals. The library recommends keyword searching Rehabilitation Engineering.

The following selections of highly ranked journals supported by the Gordon Library will introduce students to research related to rehabilitation engineering.

Intelligent Systems for Rehabilitation Engineering by Roshani Raut (Editor); Pranav Pathak (Editor); Sandeep Kautish (Editor); Pradeep N. (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119785668
Publication Date: 2022-03-02
INTELLIGENT SYSTEMS FOR REHABILITATION ENGINEERING Encapsulates different case studies where technology can be used as assistive technology for the physically challenged, visually and hearing impaired. Rehabilitation engineering includes the development of technological solutions and devices to assist individuals with disabilities, while also supporting the recovery of the disabled who have lost their physical and cognitive functions. These systems can be designed and built to meet a wide range of needs that can help individuals with mobility, communication, vision, hearing, and cognition. The growing technological developments in machine learning, deep learning, robotics, virtual intelligence, etc., play an important role in rehabilitation engineering. Intelligent Systems for Rehabilitation Engineering focuses on trending research of intelligent systems in rehabilitation engineering which involves the design and development of innovative technologies and techniques including rehabilitation robotics, visual rehabilitation, physical prosthetics, brain computer interfaces, sensory rehabilitation, motion rehabilitation, etc. This groundbreaking book Provides a comprehensive reference covering different computer assistive techniques for the physically disabled, visually and hearing impaired. Focuses on trending research of intelligent systems in rehabilitation engineering which involves the design and development of innovative technologies and techniques. Provides insights into the role of intelligent systems in rehabilitation engineering. Audience Engineers and device manufacturers working in rehabilitation engineering as well as researchers in computer science, artificial intelligence, electronic engineering, who are working on intelligent systems.
Innovations and Developments of Technologies in Medicine, Biology and Healthcare by Natalia Piaseczna (Editor); Magdalena Gorczowska (Editor); Agnieszka Łach (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030889753
Publication Date: 2021-10-28
This book constitutes the proceeding from IEEE EMBS International Student Conference (ISC) held online in Zabrze, 11-12th December, 2020. The conference was organized in cooperation between Students from Silesian University of Technology (Gliwice, Poland) and AGH University of Science and Technology (Kraków, Poland). The book consists of twenty full papers. Each submission included in this proceeding was subjected to a review process and accepted by the Conference Program Committee. IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBS) is the world's largest international society of biomedical engineers. The organization's 12,000 members reside in some 97 countries around the world. EMBS provides its members with access to the people, practices, information, ideas, and opinions that are shaping one of the fastest-growing fields in science. The International Student Conference is a special event organized by students for students. It creates an open environment for students, researchers, and scientists for presenting results of their recent work and learning about new trends in biomedical engineering. The conference is an opportunity to inspire students towards an academic career and encourage them to share their research experience.
Converging Clinical and Engineering Research on Neurorehabilitation IV by Diego Torricelli (Editor); Metin Akay (Editor); José L. Pons (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030703158
Publication Date: 2021-10-02
The book reports on advanced topics in the areas of neurorehabilitation research and practice. It focuses on new methods for interfacing the human nervous system with electronic and mechatronic systems to restore or compensate impaired neural functions. Importantly, the book merges different perspectives, such as the clinical, neurophysiological, and bioengineering ones, to promote, feed and encourage collaborations between clinicians, neuroscientists and engineers. Based on the 2020 International Conference on Neurorehabilitation (ICNR 2020) held online on October 13-16, 2020, this book covers various aspects of neurorehabilitation research and practice, including new insights into biomechanics, brain physiology, neuroplasticity, and brain damages and diseases, as well as innovative methods and technologies for studying and/or recovering brain function, from data mining to interface technologies and neuroprosthetics. In this way, it offers a concise, yet comprehensive reference guide to neurosurgeons, rehabilitation physicians, neurologists, and bioengineers. Moreover, by highlighting current challenges in understanding brain diseases as well as in the available technologies and their implementation, the book is also expected to foster new collaborations between the different groups, thus stimulating new ideas and research directions.
Biotechnological Innovations for Environmental Bioremediation
ISBN: 9789811690013
This edited book focuses on the application and implementation of bioremediation and other strategies to create a sustainable and healthy environment. It provides a collection of approaches to environmental biotechnology for wastewater treatment, removal of soil heavy metals, degradation of pesticides, removal of dyes, waste management, and microbial conversion of environmental pollutants. This book brings to the fore contributions of certain globally important environmental biotechnologist. Bioremediation is a popular branch of biotechnology that involves the use of living organisms such as microorganisms (microbial remediation), bacteria, fungus (mycoremediation), and plants (phytoremediation) to bind, extract, and clean up contaminants, pollutants, and toxins from soil, groundwater, and other environments. This book is of interest to researchers, scientists, and academic faculty in environmental sciences. Also, it serves as additional reading and reference material for undergraduate and graduate students as well as postdocs in environmental, agriculture, ecology, and soil sciences. National and International policy makers will also find valuable information from this book.
Orthopaedic Biomechanics in Sports Medicine
ISBN: 9783030815493
This book presents a fundamental basic overview of orthopedic biomechanics in sports medicine, with a special focus on the current methodologies used in modeling human joints, ligaments, and muscle forces.
The first part discusses the principles and materials, including the use of finite element analysis (FEA) to analyze the stress-strain response in the implant-bone interface and design. The second part focuses on joint-specific biomechanics, highlighting the biomechanics of the knee and shoulder joints, their modeling, surgical techniques, and the clinical assessment of joint performance under various kinematic conditions resulting from different repair techniques.

Written by international experts working at the cutting edge of their fields, this book is an easy-to-read guide to the fundamentals of biomechanics. It also offers a source of reference for readers wanting to explore new research topics, and is a valuable tool for orthopedic surgeons, residents, and medical students with an interest in orthopedic biomechanics.
Design and Simulation in Biomedical Mechanics by Juan Alfonso Beltran-Fernandez (Editor); Andreas Öchsner (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030659851
Publication Date: 2022-03-03
This book integrates bioengineering for solving health issues. It shows how the use of applied mechanics and strength of materials using 3D printing models, digital correlation techniques and computed tomography images, provides solutions to biology, medicine and mechanical engineering. The book provides clear processes and illustrations, several worked examples, and many projects. It helps scientists to analyze different modes of applying mechanical and biomedical concepts, physical principles to develop devices, sensors, prosthesis, orthotic systems, new materials and techniques that may improve the health system. It can be used in courses such as biomechanics and orthopedics, rehabilitation and mechanical engineering, also in rehabilitation or sports medicine.