Guides: BUS 517: Graduate Qualifying Project: Getting Started

Find Company Information

Try the following databases to learn more about companies and their products and how they market products or services.

ABI/INFORM Collection
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Coverage: 1971-
Full text: Yes
Business Source Elite
Provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.

Coverage: 1922-
Full Text: Yes
Journals and Other Sources Included
Hoover's Academic (Mergent)
Hoover’s™ Academic solution is a premier source of business information. Providing comprehensive up-to-date information through a global database of over 85 million companies, and 1,000 industries. Hoover's Academic solution provides unique insight to the core database of over 40,000 company profiles.This powerful research tool brings together company histories, news stories, financials, federal filings, executive biographies and more.

Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
LexisNexis Academic -- Now called Nexis Uni
Full text news, legal, business, and biographical information.

Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included | Search Tips

Theory: Find Journal Articles

WPI has access to 1000s of online journals and publications. Use the WPI Journals Search to search by title.

Practice: Business & Regional News

Sometimes regional newspapers will have detailed information on sales of product, company initiatives and so on.

Boston Globe
Boston Globe web site also has some free news, the above link goes to the archive with access to news back to 1997.

Coverage: 1980-
Full Text: Yes
The Gordon Library also has print copies of the current 4 weeks of issues, located on the 2nd floor.
Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition (ProQuest)
Full text searchable database of Wall Street Journal Eastern edition, offering coverage of global business, financial, and industry news and politics. Coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - present

Coverage: 1984-
Full Text: Yes.
The Gordon Library also has print copies of the current 4 weeks of issues, located on the 2nd floor.

Practice: Trade Magazines

Trade magazines in the realm of marketing and advertising may offer analysis or critiques of specific marketing strategies.

By Appointment

WPI Librarians can meet with you or a team to explore the best search strategies.

Research Consultation Request

Only Finding a Citation? Get the Full Text

Within most databases, click on the FullTextFinder link to get options for obtaining the full text of the article.

Is the journal online or here in the library? Search our J ournals.
Request delivery from another library: ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.
Visit another library: Search WorldCat to find one.

BUS 517: Graduate Qualifying Project

Need Help? Ask Us!