Guides: BUS 517: Graduate Qualifying Project: Product Research

Market Share, Size or Trends

Often web & database searches will lead you to specific product information such as market share or size. Try searches such as:

("market share" OR "market size" OR sales OR "units sold") AND (iPhone OR droid OR android)

TIP: Follow up on market research firms mentioned to find additional information or press releases which may have more detail.

LexisNexis Academic -- Now called Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text news, legal, business, and biographical information.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text searchable database of Wall Street Journal Eastern edition, offering coverage of global business, financial, and industry news and politics. Coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - present
Coverage: 1984-
Full Text: Yes.

Dig deeper to find product specific information:

10-K reports: check Management Discussion & Analysis section, search through entire 10-K for product to try to find sales figures and trends in product adoption
Corporate websites: Investors Relations section, look for annual report to shareholders
News & transcripts: find name of marketing executives within LexisNexis Academic & other news & web sources and potential impact of marketing initiatives
Product evaluation sources: Consumersearch, Consumer Reports, and other similar product comparison sites

Web Searching: Use synonyms

(distribution OR alliances OR partnerships OR vendors OR "marketing channels") AND (iphone OR smartphone)

Try also specific partners:

AT&T iPhone distribution