Guides: Power Systems Research Guide: Research Resources

Research Resources

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from the Compendex database, which includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.
Coverage: 1884-
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. It contains the.full text of all IEEE and IEE journal articles, conference papers, and standards. Tutorials are available at: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplorehelp/ieee-xplore-training/video-tutorials
Coverage: 1888-
Full Text: Yes
ASTM Compass | ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (EN ISO and EN IEC standards) This link opens in a new window
****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.
ASTM Compass is a vast collection of industry-leading standards from ASTM. It covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including more than 13,000 active ASTM technical Standards, plus historical versions dating back ~23 years, plus red-lined version comparisons between any 2 versions.
WPI has entered a UNE-EN Pilot Program (from 1-1-2025 until 7-1-2026) for the UNE-EN collection - which contains 94,000 standards: ENs, and EU (really European Commission) adopted ISOs and EU adopted IECs. Once the adoption takes place the ISO is now an EN ISO, and the IEC is an EN IEC. The EN ISO document is identical in every way to an ISO, and the EN IEC document is identical in every way to an IEC. The only difference is the EN ISO and EN IEC have the addition of a National foreword/endorsement/cover page.
[NOTE: Once the Pilot Program ends, WPI may no longer have access to the UNE-EN standards.]

****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Collection of critical science and engineering handbooks.(Subscription includes: Biochemistry Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response; General Engineering & Project Administration; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering ; ASM International Materials Collection Online).
Coverage: Current
Full Text: Yes
Titles Included
Individual chapters are available to download as PDFs. However, Knovel recommends limiting downloads to 10% or 25 pages of content per title.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.
Coverage: Varies
Full Text: Yes
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Search journals published by Wiley-Blackwell. WPI subscribes to many titles in various topic areas such as chemistry, medical & life sciences, materials science and engineering.
Coverage: 1996-
Full Text: Yes

Check out BrowZine via the Gordon Library to browse accessible and relevant journals. The library recommends keyword searching Power Systems for the best results.

The following selections of highly ranked journals supported by the Gordon Library will introduce students to research related to Power Systems.

Industrial Power Systems by Shoaib Khan; Sheeba Khan; Ghariani Ahmed
ISBN: 9781315221434
Publication Date: 2018-10-03
The modernization of industrial power systems has been stifled by industry's acceptance of extremely outdated practices. Industry is hesitant to depart from power system design practices influenced by the economic concerns and technology of the post World War II period. In order to break free of outdated techniques and ensure product quality and continuity of operations, engineers must apply novel techniques to plan, design, and implement electrical power systems. Based on the author's 40 years of experience in Industry, Industrial Power Systems illustrates the importance of reliable power systems and provides engineers the tools to plan, design, and implement one. Using materials from IEEE courses developed for practicing engineers, the book covers relevant engineering features and modern design procedures, including power system studies, grounding, instrument transformers, and medium-voltage motors. The author provides a number of practical tables, including IEEE and European standards, and design principles for industrial applications. Long overdue, Industrial Power Systems provides power engineers with a blueprint for designing electrical systems that will provide continuously available electric power at the quality and quantity needed to maintain operations and standards of production.
Semiconductor Power Devices by Josef Lutz; Heinrich Schlangenotto; Uwe Scheuermann; Rik De Donker
ISBN: 9783319709161
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
Halbleiter-Leistungsbauelemente sind das Kernstück der Leistungselektronik. Sie bestimmen die Leistungsfähigkeit und machen neuartige und verlustarme Schaltungen erst möglich. In dem Band wird neben den Halbleiter-Leistungsbauelementen selbst auch die Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik behandelt: von den physikalischen Grundlagen und der Herstellungstechnologie über einzelne Bauelemente bis zu thermomechanischen Problemen, Zerstörungsmechanismen und Störungseffekten. Die 2., überarbeitete Auflage berücksichtigt technische Neuerungen und Entwicklungen.
Introduction to Power Electronics by Issa Batarseh; Ahmad M. Harb
ISBN: 3319683659
Publication Date: 2018-01-23
This fully updated textbook provides complete coverage of electrical circuits and introduces students to the field of energy conversion technologies, analysis and design. Chapters are designed to equip students with necessary background material in such topics as devices, switching circuit analysis techniques, converter types, and methods of conversion. The book contains a large number of examples, exercises, and problems to help enforce the material presented in each chapter. A detailed discussion of resonant and softswitching dc-to-dc converters is included along with the addition of new chapters covering digital control, non-linear control, and micro-inverters for power electronics applications. Designed for senior undergraduate and graduate electrical engineering students, this book provides students with the ability to analyze and design power electronic circuits used in various industrial applications.
Electrical Energy Conversion and Transport by George G. Karady; Keith E. Holbert
ISBN: 9781118498057
Publication Date: 2013-07-03
Designed to support interactive teaching and computer assisted self-learning, this second edition of Electrical Energy Conversion and Transport is thoroughly updated to address the recent environmental effects of electric power generation and transmission, which have become more important together with the deregulation of the industry. New content explores different power generation methods, including renewable energy generation (solar, wind, fuel cell) and includes new sections that discuss the upcoming Smart Grid and the distributed power generation using renewable energy generation, making the text essential reading material for students and practicing engineers.
Integration of Distributed Energy Resources in Power Systems by Toshihisa Funabashi (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128032121
Publication Date: 2016-03-17
Integration of Distributed Energy Resources in Power Systems: Implementation, Operation and Control covers the operation of power transmission and distribution systems and their growing difficulty as the share of renewable energy sources in the world's energy mix grows and the proliferation trend of small scale power generation becomes a reality. The book gives students at the graduate level, as well as researchers and power engineering professionals, an understanding of the key issues necessary for the development of such strategies. It explores the most relevant topics, with a special focus on transmission and distribution areas. Subjects such as voltage control, AC and DC microgrids, and power electronics are explored in detail for all sources, while not neglecting the specific challenges posed by the most used variable renewable energy sources.
Power System Protective Relaying by J. C. Das
ISBN: 9781351228312
Publication Date: 2017-10-24
This book focuses on protective relaying, which is an indispensable part of electrical power systems. The recent advancements in protective relaying are being dictated by MMPRs (microprocessor-based multifunction relays). The text covers smart grids, integration of wind and solar generation, microgrids, and MMPRs as the driving aspects of innovations in protective relaying. Topics such as cybersecurity and instrument transformers are also explored. Many case studies and practical examples are included to emphasize real-world applications.
The Electric Power Engineering Handbook - Five Volume Set by Leonard L. Grigsby (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315222363
Publication Date: 2018-12-14
The Electric Power Engineering Handbook, Third Edition updates coverage of recent developments and rapid technological growth in crucial aspects of power systems, including protection, dynamics and stability, operation, and control. With contributions from worldwide field leaders--edited by L.L. Grigsby, one of the world's most respected, accomplished authorities in power engineering--this reference includes chapters on: Nonconventional Power Generation Conventional Power Generation Transmission Systems Distribution Systems Electric Power Utilization Power Quality Power System Analysis and Simulation Power System Transients Power System Planning (Reliability) Power Electronics Power System Protection Power System Dynamics and Stability Power System Operation and Control Content includes a simplified overview of advances in international standards, practices, and technologies, such as small-signal stability and power system oscillations, power system stability controls, and dynamic modeling of power systems. Each book in this popular series supplies a high level of detail and, more importantly, a tutorial style of writing and use of photographs and graphics to help the reader understand the material. This resource will help readers achieve safe, economical, high-quality power delivery in a dynamic and demanding environment. Volumes in the set: K12642 Electric Power Generation, Transmission, and Distribution, Third Edition (ISBN: 9781439856284) K12648 Power Systems, Third Edition (ISBN: 9781439856338) K13917 Power System Stability and Control, Third Edition (9781439883204) K12650 Electric Power Substations Engineering, Third Edition (9781439856383) K12643 Electric Power Transformer Engineering, Third Edition (9781439856291)
Aging Power Delivery Infrastructures by H. Lee Willis; Randall R. Schrieber
ISBN: 9781315216652
Publication Date: 2017-12-19
Good aging infrastructure management consists of optimizing the choice of equipment and its refurbishment while also making compatible changes in all those operating and ownership policies, the whole combination aimed at optimizing the business results the power system owner desires. Both a reference and tutorial guide, this second edition of Aging Power Delivery Infrastructures provides updated coverage of aging power delivery systems, the problems they cause, and the technical and managerial approaches that power systems owners can take to manage them. See What's New in the Second Edition: All chapters have been updated or are completely new Comprehensive discussions of all issues related to equipment aging Business impact analysis and models and engineering business studies of actual utility cases Strategy and policy issues and how to frame and customize them for specific situations This book looks at the basics of equipment aging and its system and business impacts on utilities. It covers various maintenance, service and retrofit methods available to mitigate age-related deterioration of equipment. It also presents numerous configuration and automation upgrades at the system level that can deal with higher portions of aging equipment in the system and still provide good service at a reasonable cost.
Efficiency and Power in Energy Conversion and Storage by Thomas Christen
ISBN: 9780429454288
Publication Date: 2018-10-10
This book provides fundamental theoretical concepts for the understanding, the modelling, and the optimisation of energy conversion and storage devices. The discussion is based on the general footing of efficiency-power relations and energy-power relations (Ragone plots). Efficiency and Power in Energy Conversion and Storage: Basic Physical Concepts, is written for engineers and scientists with a bachelor-degree level of knowledge in physics. It contains: An introductory motivation of the topic A review on equilibrium thermodynamics A primer to linear non-equilibrium thermodynamics and irreversible processes An introduction to endo-reversible thermodynamics The basics on the theory of Ragone plots Derivations of efficiency-power relations or Ragone plots for illustrative examples like heat engines, batteries, capacitors, kinetic energy storage devices, solar power, photodiodes, electro-motors, transformers, and flow turbines An excursion to impedance matching and the optimization of technical devices with respect to economic and related objectives

IEEE Power and Energy Society
The Power & Energy Society (PES) is a forum for sharing the latest in technological developments in the electric power industry, for developing standards that guide the development and construction of equipment and systems, and for educating members of the industry and the general public.

Power Systems Research Guide: Research Resources

Research Resources

Electric Power Systems Research

IEEE Transactions on Power Systems

International Journal of Gas Turbine Propulsion and Power Systems

Journal of Modern Power Systems and Clean Energy

CSEE Journal of Power and Energy Systems