Guides: Case Studies: Home

Resources for Research

Case Study Research and Applications by Robert K. Yin
Call Number: H62 .Y56 2018

ISBN: 9781506336169

Publication Date: 2017-11-03

Winner of the 2019 McGuffey Longevity Award from the Textbook & Academic Authors Association (TAA) Recognized as one of the most cited methodology books in the social sciences, the Sixth Edition of Robert K. Yin′s bestselling text provides a complete portal to the world of case study research. With the integration of 11 applications in this edition, the book gives readers access to exemplary case studies drawn from a wide variety of academic and applied fields. Ultimately, Case Study Research and Applications will guide students in the successful use and application of the case study research method.
The Oxford handbook of qualitative research by Leavy, Patricia, 1975- editor.
ISBN: 9780199389629

Publication Date: 2014

This book presents a comprehensive and student-friendly overview of the field of qualitative research and is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. It provides strong focus on methods instruction with coverage of theoretical approaches, analysis, writing, evaluation, and the politics of research.
The Politics and Ethics of Representation in Qualitative Research by The Critical The Critical Methodologies Collective (Editor)
ISBN: 0429299672

Publication Date: 2021-07-22

This book offers insights on politics and ethics of representation that are relevant to researchers concerned with struggles for justice. It takes moments of discomfort in the qualitative research process as important sites of knowledge for exploring representational practices in critical research. The Politics and Ethics of Representation in Qualitative Research draws on experiences from research processes in nine PhD projects. In some chapters, ethical and political dilemmas related to representational practices are analyzed as experienced in fieldwork. In others, the focus is on the production of representation at the stage of writing. The book deals with questions such as: What does it mean to write about the lives of others? How are ethics and politics of representation intertwined, and how are they distinct? How are politics of representation linked to a practice of solidarity in research? What are the im/possibilities of hope and care in research? Drawing on grounded empirical research, the book offers input to students, PhDs, researchers, practitioners, activists and others dealing with methodological dilemmas from a critical perspective. Instead of ignoring discomforts, or describing them as solved, we stay with them, showing how such a reflective process provides new, ongoing insights. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/e/9780429299674, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
Qualitative Research by Ayton, Darshini; Tsindos, Tess; Berkovic, Danielle
ISBN: 0645755400

Publication Date: 2024

This guide is designed to support health and social care researchers and practitioners to integrate qualitative research into the evidence base of health and social care research. Qualitative research designs are diverse and each design has a different focus that will inform the approach undertaken and the results that are generated. The aim is to move beyond the “what” of qualitative research to the “how”, by (1) outlining key qualitative research designs for health and social care research – descriptive, phenomenology, action research, case study, ethnography, and grounded theory; (2) a decision tool of how to select the appropriate design based on a guiding prompting question, the research question and available resources, time and expertise; (3) an overview of mixed methods research and qualitative research in evaluation studies; (4) a practical guide to data collection and analysis; (5) providing examples of qualitative research to illustrate the scope and opportunities; and (6) tips on communicating qualitative research.
Qualitative research methods for the social sciences by Bruce L. Berg and Howard Lune
Call Number: Reserve Shelf H61 B4715 2017

ISBN: 9780134202136

Publication Date: 2017
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by Lisa M. Given (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412941631

Publication Date: 2008-08-21

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more-all without overwhelming the informed reader. Key Features Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research Offers many entries that point to substantive debates among qualitative researchers regarding how concepts are labeled and the implications of such labels for how qualitative research is valued.

ABI/INFORM Collection (now part of the ProQuest One Business Collection)

Coverage: 1971-
Full text: Yes
Computer Science Database

This collection provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text. Subject coverage: Computer Science; Information Systems; Computer Security; Database Design; Software Development; Web Commerce; LANs; WANs; Intranets; Internet.
Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies Collection

Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies (EEMCS) is an online collection of peer-reviewed case studies focusing on business decision making and management development throughout key global emerging markets. Cases are written by case writers working in or closely with developing economies, offering local perspectives with global appeal. ABSTRACTS only- WPI does not have full text access.
Historical Statistics of the United States

Data, charts, and statistics on topics such as population, work and welfare, economy, governance and international relations.

Coverage: 1600-
Full Text: Yes
OECD Data Explorer

OECD Data Explorer offers access to OECD's core data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
ProQuest One Business

An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Applied & Life Sciences Database (ProQuest)

ProQuest Applied & Life Sciences Database - Explore this multi-format collection of applied and life sciences research with a particular focus on engineering, computer science, biology, energy technology, and materials science. Content is sourced from world-leading publishers and includes peer-reviewed journals, dissertations, trade publications, reports, conference papers, and more. Coverage: 1946 - current
SciTech Premium Collection (now called ProQuest One Applied & Life Sciences)

Explore this multi-format collection of applied and life sciences research with a particular focus on engineering, computer science, biology, energy technology, and materials science. Content is sourced from world-leading publishers and includes peer-reviewed journals, dissertations, trade publications, reports, conference papers, and more. Coverage: 1946 - current
statista

Access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword. statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statistical Abstract of the United States National Data Book

Statistical tables on social and economic conditions in the United States. Some international data also.

Coverage: 1878-2012
Full Text: No
Science & Technology Collection

The Science & Technology Collection includes 15 science and technology focused databases. It combines broad indexing coverage of the scholarly literature in advanced technology, computer science, engineering, materials science and related areas with full-text titles full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.

An Integrated Approach towards Legitimization of Single Case Design-working Paper
Single case study design has contributed very much to the theory development in like social science disciplines and their use has been declined drastically over the last few decades with the recent advances in quantitative sciences, and the focus of research community has almost entire shifted to quantitative aspects of the studies. However in recent past the single design case studies started gaining attention of scholars. Our study helps in setting up criteria for validating the single case study design.
Inter-Rater Reliability Methods in Qualitative Case Study Research
The use of inter-rater reliability (IRR) methods may provide an opportunity to improve the transparency and consistency of qualitative case study data analysis in terms of the rigor of how codes and constructs have been developed from the raw data. Few articles on qualitative research methods in the literature conduct IRR assessments or neglect to report them, despite some disclosure of multiple researcher teams and coding reconciliation in the work. The article argues that the in-depth discussion and reconciliation initiated by IRR may enhance the findings and theory that emerges from qualitative case study data analysis, where the main data source is often interview transcripts or field notes. To achieve this, the article provides a missing link in the literature between data gathering and analysis by expanding an existing process model from five to six stages. The article also identifies seven factors that researchers can consider to determine the suitability of IRR to their work and it offers an IRR checklist, thereby providing a contribution to the broader literature on qualitative research methods.
Short and sweet: multiple mini case studies as a form of rigorous case study research
Case study research is one of the most widely used research methods in Information Systems (IS). In recent years, an increasing number of publications have used case studies with few sources of evidence, such as single interviews per case. While there is much methodological guidance on rigorously conducting multiple case studies, it remains unclear how researchers can achieve an acceptable level of rigour for this emerging type of multiple case study with few sources of evidence, i.e., multiple mini case studies. In this context, we synthesise methodological guidance for multiple case study research from a cross-disciplinary perspective to develop an analytical framework. Furthermore, we calibrate this analytical framework to multiple mini case studies by reviewing previous IS publications that use multiple mini case studies to provide guidelines to conduct multiple mini case studies rigorously. We also offer a conceptual definition of multiple mini case studies, distinguish them from other research approaches, and position multiple mini case studies as a pragmatic and rigorous approach to research emerging and innovative phenomena in IS.

Critical Appraisal Skills Programme
Critical Appraisal skills enable you to systematically assess the trustworthiness, relevance and results of published papers. The Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) has over 28 years of significant and unrivalled expertise in the delivery of training to healthcare professionals.
IMPSCI (Implementation Science Tutorials
From UNC-Chapel Hill: The following tutorials are narrated PowerPoint presentations by UNC faculty, research staff, and other colleagues. They provide brief overviews of selected topics in Implementation Science, particularly focusing on research methods applied in dissemination & implementation research.
JAMAevidence
From the Journal of the American Medical Association, these educational slide sets are aimed at instruction of evidence-based medicine (EBM) concepts related to specific topics. EBM integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
Why Mixed Methods: Johns Hopkins
From the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health Mixed Methods Research Training Program for the Health Sciences.
Measuring, Learning, and Evaluation Project for the Urban Reproductive Health Initiative
The Measurement, Learning & Evaluation (MLE) Project was the evaluation component of the Urban Reproductive Health Initiative (URHI), a multi-country program in India, Kenya, Nigeria and Senegal that aimed to improve the health of the urban poor between 2010 and 2015. The goal of the MLE project was to promote evidence-based decision-making in the design of integrated family planning and reproductive health interventions for the URHI. Many relevant resources and tools are still available.
NIH Office of Behavioral & Social Sciences Research (OBSSR) Best Practices for Mixed Methods Research in Health Sciences
The OBSSR commissioned a team in 2010 to develop a resource that would provide guidance to NIH investigators on how to rigorously develop and evaluate mixed methods research applications.

Case Studies: Home

Welcome

Resources for Research