Databases by Subject: Civil & Environmental Engineering

Indexes all American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) publications.. WPI has full text access to the ASCE journals only (not conference proceedings).

Electronic version of Engineering Index, covering literature in various engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.

Abstracts from the Compendex database, which includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.

Search abstracts of 100+ journals from American Institute of Physics (AIP), American Physical Society (APS), American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE), and science and engineering societies. WPI subscribes to 70+ titles.

The Technology Collection includes the Advanced Technology & Aerospace and Materials Science & Engineering Databases. It combines broad indexing coverage of the scholarly literature in advanced technology, computer science, engineering, materials science and related areas with full-text titles full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Coverage: 1962 - current

Indexes all American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) publications.. WPI has full text access to the ASCE journals only (not conference proceedings).

****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.

ASTM Compass is a vast collection of industry-leading standards from ASTM. It covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including more than 13,000 active ASTM technical Standards, plus historical versions dating back ~23 years, plus red-lined version comparisons between any 2 versions.  

WPI has entered a UNE-EN Pilot Program (from 1-1-2025 until 7-1-2026) for the UNE-EN collection  - which contains 94,000 standards: ENs, and EU (really European Commission) adopted ISOs and EU adopted IECs.  Once the adoption takes place the ISO is now an EN ISO, and the IEC is an EN IEC. The EN ISO document is identical in every way to an ISO, and the EN IEC document is identical in every way to an IEC. The only difference is the EN ISO and EN IEC have the addition of a National foreword/endorsement/cover page. 

[NOTE: Once the Pilot Program ends, WPI may no longer have access to the UNE-EN standards.]
 

****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.

Abstracts from the Compendex database, which includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.

Database of publications held in the former Fire Research Information Service at NIST's Building & Fire Research Laboratory (BFRL).

Information on all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

ICC's Digital Codes Library is the largest provider of model codes and standards used worldwide to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. Free access to 800+ ICC resources and the largest collection of code titles.

Electronic version of the National Fire Code from the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA). No Username or Password required. Access is determined by your WPI IP Address.

Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.

Search abstracts of 100+ journals from American Institute of Physics (AIP), American Physical Society (APS), American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE), and science and engineering societies. WPI subscribes to 70+ titles.

The SciTech Premium Collection provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Subject areas include: • Advanced technologies • Aerospace • Agricultural science • Aquatic science • Atmospheric science • Biological science • Computer science • Earth science • Environmental science • Engineering • Materials science • Polymer science. See https://proquest.libguides.com/scitechpremium/about for more information and searching guidance.

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.

From the Transportation Research Board at the National Academy of Sciences, indexes transportation literature and links to some full text.