Databases by Subject: Geology & Earth Science

From Stanford University, includes online versions of 920+ journals in biological, physical, medical, and social sciences.  Many are freely accessible to all.

Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.

The Natural Science Collection includes the Agri & Env, Bio Science, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aqua Databases and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. Includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Coverage: 1946 - current

Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.

****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.

ASTM Compass is a vast collection of industry-leading standards from ASTM. It covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including more than 13,000 active ASTM technical Standards, plus historical versions dating back ~23 years, plus red-lined version comparisons between any 2 versions.  

WPI has entered a UNE-EN Pilot Program (from 1-1-2025 until 7-1-2026) for the UNE-EN collection  - which contains 94,000 standards: ENs, and EU (really European Commission) adopted ISOs and EU adopted IECs.  Once the adoption takes place the ISO is now an EN ISO, and the IEC is an EN IEC. The EN ISO document is identical in every way to an ISO, and the EN IEC document is identical in every way to an IEC. The only difference is the EN ISO and EN IEC have the addition of a National foreword/endorsement/cover page. 

[NOTE: Once the Pilot Program ends, WPI may no longer have access to the UNE-EN standards.]
 

****If you are off campus and having problems connecting, try using the VPN.

From Stanford University, includes online versions of 920+ journals in biological, physical, medical, and social sciences.  Many are freely accessible to all.

Online archive of eBooks and complete backruns of scholarly journals in a variety of academic fields.

Search 500+ titles covering a variety of topic areas. Full text access to subscribed and open access titles only.

Full text access to more than 2000 Elsevier science, social science, engineering and management scholarly journals.

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, Scopus helps ensure that crucial research from around the world is not missed.

Access to thousands of scholarly science journals and eBooks published by Springer.  ***Full text is available ONLY for WPI subscribed e-books and e-journals, not the full collection.

Search journals published by Wiley-Blackwell. WPI subscribes to many titles in various topic areas such as chemistry, medical & life sciences, materials science and engineering.